We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in Santa Teresa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #2 of 327 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem in Santa Teresa”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Set in charming Santa Teresa, Casa Cool Beans is a very rare place. Co-owner Lance is the consummate concierge, he made us feel as though we were his special guests, without being obtrusive, with thoughtful touches like a bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge to take to the beach for NYE and pre-booked metro tickets to get down there. He and manager Sergio think two steps ahead for you about things you didn't even know you had to think of, to cut down on hassles and time-wasting. The spotless rooms are simple but refined, with quality Brazillian-made soap, shampoo and conditioner and local artwork. No TVs. Wi-Fi is reliable and fast everywhere except the rooms on the same floor as the reception, which are small and lack light. Breakfast includes a selection of fresh fruits and Lance's excellent omelettes and sometimes fluffy waffles. You can sit and engage with other guests at the communal table over breakfast or happily choose not to. The pool is the perfect respite on a hot Rio afternoon after a morning of sightseeing, before heading out at night. It's a lovely walk from Casa Cool Beans down to Lapa, and to the Gloria metro station, and some of Rio's best eating experiences are to be found just a couple of streets away - we liked Espirito Santa, Sobrenatural for seafood, Bar do Gomez for local characters, chopp and croquettes. We heard about taxis being reluctant to come up the cobblestoned hill to Santa but never had any problems, and we also always felt safe. We're destined to rave about this place to anyone coming to Rio who wants a personalised experience. Lance and his partner David's affection for Brazil, and commitment to top quality, unpretentious hospitality absolutely shines through.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
438
63
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Cool Beans as part of our 30th wedding anniversary celebration before we left on a cruise for Chile. We were here for eight days and it was superb. Lance, our host could not have been more giving. He helped us plan our days and nights when needed and was always so full of energy and positivity. The staff was so kind and helpful. Everything was clean and the air conditioning was very welcome.
All the reviews we read on tripadvisor were true and expectations were more than met.
We loved Santa Teresa and felt like locals. It has been a most fabulous time and we thank you, Lance and your wonderful staff for making our time so special!

Room Tip: We loved room three. It looked out over a beautiful Mango tree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Jol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at Cool Beans over the New Year break and I can honestly say that it completely surpassed our really high expectations given its status as top B&B spot in Rio. We were warmly greeted by Lance and David - a special touch, and the extras just kept coming and coming. We were so warmly looked after before and during our visit at this lovely B&B - it's cool, calm and collected - and Lance's immense help getting us to Copacabana beach on New Year's Eve (from securing vital metro cards that sell out in August, to a complementary bottle of fizz in our fridge and plastic glasses for us to pop on the shore) was beyond expectation and so generously given. Santa Teresa is a lovely location to stay in in Rio and Lance made sure to advise on and help with any and all ideas on how to enjoy our time. Breakfast was delicious - fresh omlettes so tasty and the best coffee, plenty of fab fruit and breads, cakes too. I could wax lyrical about this spot but the fact that this would be THE first place I'd advise family, friends and anyone I know to book for Rio accommodation says it all, I think. I advise booking early as this is really clearly a very special and fabulous place to stay. Thanks to Lance, David and Sergio from Ying and Yang ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We had spent only 2.5 days in Rio before heading to São Paulo for a wedding in August. But during these two days we were able to see much of Rio thanks to Lance expert advice and our tour guide, Francoise. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. We stayed in room 7 which had a spectacular view of Santa Teresa. It was a little chilly at night but that was expected for winter in Brazil. Lance arranged everything including our arrival and departure taxis so we never felt rushed during our short stay in Rio. He was an amazing host and we will stay at any place associated with his name.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Reading reviews of hotels in Rio can be bewildering and ultimately not terribly helpful. Finding somewhere clean, well-maintained, friendly, and in a safe neighbourhood seems impossible. Then you come across a place like this.

We spent four days at Casa Cool Beans, after four days at the wonderful Tariri Lodge in the Amazon. Right from the start the staff (mostly Sergio) were warm, welcoming, and helpful. The room was huge and quiet, the breakfast was delicious, and the small pool was the perfect tonic to a day spent stomping around the streets in the heat.

Staying in Santa Teresa was obviously the right place for us - a professional couple entering middle age who aren't afraid of an uphill walk or a back street, but also likely to go for a high quality meal from time to time. Stories of dodgy areas in Rio are rife, but we never felt unsafe around Santa Teresa.

Be aware that taxi drivers will some times tell you that they don't go to Santa Teresa, even though they're not allowed to. We never had to try more than two taxis to find one that would take us. It's also a good idea of have the place marked on a map - many of them tried to drop us off on the main street in St Teresa because they didn't know how to find the street that Casa Cool Beans is on. Small details that didn't affect our enjoyment of the place.

Oh, and take the walk from Casa Cool Beans to Parque Das Ruinas for the best free view of the city you will find.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL
Level Contributor
213 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It is difficult to add to the previous glowing reviews. We really appreciated the input of Lance, Sergio and the team in making us welcome and providing invaluable information and practical help, nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Casa Cool Beans is an excellent place to stay in Santa Teresa; the property is located on a quiet street, but close to bars and restaurant: bar Gomes being at the bottom of the street. The area felt safe and we were happy to walk about in the evenings. The property had a delightful pool and terrace with sun beds and seating. Excellent breakfast served adjacent to the pool area. Rooms were tastefully decorated with contemporary art. We really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 7 is spacious with a nice terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Casa Cool Beans, and loved every minute. We had one of the smaller rooms looking out on a courtyard garden with its own resident humming bird. Fabulous. Sergio and Lance, and all the others at the Casa, are helpful, friendly and go out of their way to make sure your stay in Rio and Santa Teresa is a great one.

The B&B is well sited with easy access to the rest of Rio. Every day starts in the best possible way with the really exceptionally good Cool Beans breakfast.

Santa Teresa is itself a good place to explore, especially in the evenings, when its bars and restaurants are really buzzing. The nearest restaurant to us was one of Rio’s best – the Tereze. The historic ‘bonde’ tram was unfortunately being upgraded when we were there, so this mode of transport wasn’t available to get into the city. Alternatives are plentiful buses, the metro (a 25 minute walk away) and the remarkably cheap taxis.

We’d go back for sure.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Martin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing