We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We absolutely loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #1 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Morganville, New Jersey
1 review
“We absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Unique, cozy, romantic---felt right at home. Sergio, the manager, was so incredibly helpful. Room 7 with a private terrace is the best in the house. Downtown Rio and many key attractions are a reasonably priced cab ride away. It's so nice to be away from the craziness of the tourists and come home daily to this peaceful enclave. Do not miss Bar Gomez at the corner for a nightcap--after your second trip in you will feel like a regular! Directly across the street is Nega Teresa--our favorite lunch spot with ciabatta grilled cheese sandwiches and ICY cold beer. We loved the entire experience!!

Room Tip: Room 7 with its own terrace was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
439
66
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for two nights at the end of February. We really enjoyed our stay and were made to feel most welcome. The staff were fantastic and as mentioned in other reviews, they went out of their way to help organise our plans for the day. The room was gorgeous and we loved the artwork and cozy feel to the whole place. I preferred this area to the more tourisy beach areas. I would definitely recommend Casa Cool Beans and it really was' cool'. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixtravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was absolutely great. Good, peaceful location. Excellent rooms and wonderful breakfasts. The owner and manager were particularly helpful and informative. Would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had the room with the balcony which was lovely to sit on overlooking Santa Theresa of an evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We had an absolutely charming stay at casa cool beans. As a first time in Rio, the owners and staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable! Very helpful for exploring the city for the first time! Santa Teresa is the perfect place to discover Rio because you're secluded yet so close to everything! We would absolutely recommend this place!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aventuroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights while in Rio in mid-February this year. Lance, Sergio and David were all very welcoming, friendly and helpful. We arrived late into Rio and were picked up from the airport. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast has a great choice of fresh fruit and very tasty omelettes!

The manager and owners make a conscious effort to talk with guests during breakfast and help you plan your day. With very good local knowledge, they offer practical advice and will help you get to know the city and local area. Great recommendations for restaurants, bars and places to go and listen to live music in Lapa (Carioca de Gema on a Monday night).

On our last morning we rushed up to Cristo Redendor before catching a bus to Paraty (which we ended up missing due to traffic). Sergio gave us a couple of recommendations of things to do in Paraty and went out of his way to call the bus company on our behalf when we were stuck in traffic to try and re-arrange our bus tickets.

We only had a whistle-stop tour of Rio, but would definitely come again and recommend Casa Cool Beans as a fantastic place to stay!

Soozii and Colin x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLCG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is probably one of my favourite places I have stayed in a very long time. The location is beautiful and peaceful - a complete contrast to the beaches of Ipanema and Copacobana. The staff are so friendly and really help you get the most out of your stay. Rooms are spacious, breakfast was divine and it was lovely having a pool. All I can say is do yourself a favour - if you are going to Rio, stay at Casa Cool Beans - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauai_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Apart from the excellent location to visit basically all places in Rio de Janeiro, Casa Cool Beans is a beautiful property with excellent rooms (the best in Brazil during our 3 week trip - 8 B&B's). The breakfast is extremely relaxing and Lance & Sergio are the most perfect host. Every morning they will help you to plan your day, which is most welcome in a city that you only know from the guide... Locals do know more. We might just travel through Rio to another South American country, just to meet Lance and Sergio again and stay at this excellent property!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
271 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#9 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
288 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,244 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,639 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#69 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing