We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Ranked #2 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Life”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Even though the owners _ Lance and David - had just taken over the place a few months before we landed there, the place was already impecable. The best stay in our trip to Brasil. But, undoubtetly, the hightlight was Mr Lance (and his dog Mousse)! If we would reside in Rio, we would visit him often as a new friend in our lifes. Sadly enough, we missed David, the third man.
Our suggestion: try to make it your place when you visit Rio.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEE50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    66
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
438
64
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

From the fresh fruit juice at breakfast to the wonderful hospitality of the host, Lance, we didn’t want to leave! It’s a hidden oasis in Santa Teresa that people would have to be crazy not to love. Easily the best place we stayed in all of South America!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We were so lucky to have found Casa Cool Beans for our honeymoon. Not only was our room immaculately clean and very comfortable but Lance was the most amazing host. From the moment we arrived he gave us such personalized attention, telling us the best events happening that night, how to get around the city and even giving us his cell number if we had any problems. When we mentioned a restaurant that we wanted to try, he called right away and made us a reservation. He made us feel so comfortable, helping us plan each day, introducing us to other guests and making sure we got the most out of trip. We've traveled extensively around the world and you won't find better service at five star hotels. Santa Teresa is also a hidden treasure , a perfect retreat from the chaos of the city with historic buildings, great little bars and restaurants. Plus, everything is a short Bonde (street car) ride away!
We can't say enough praise about Casa Cool Beans, it made for the most memorable honeymoon and an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank followthepawprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at Casa Cool Beans for only three days, but we loved every
minute! We had trouble with our Travel Agent, but thanks to Lance &
David we were able to arrange our trip to Buzios successfully. We left
EARLY in the morning to Buzios (5am), but breakfast and coffee was waiting
outside our room along with Mousse, Lance and smiles! We loved our
experience so much we wanted to return to Casa Cool Beans after Buzios, but our tour
operator would not allow the change. We will make sure to come back to
Rio and look forward to our stay with Lance, David & Mousse at Casa Cool
Beans!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My partner and I travelled 3 months in South America (brasil, Argenitna, Chile and Bolivia) from Oct 2010 to December 2010. We've stayed in terribled, quite ok, good and excellent pousadas, hotels, guest houses. But the best place with the best service was definitly Casa Cool Beans. We've stayed there 4 nights mid-december just after Lance and David had taken over this pousada from Lydie, who was our contact before for the reservation.
The pousada is very well situated in the quiet and cute Santa Teresa neighbourhoood. It felt good and like at home to go back there after a day walking around crazy Rio.
The rooms are big, clean and very cosy. The breakfast is excellent and feels you up for the whole day!
But most of all, what made us loved so much casa cool beans is the service provided. Lance is so nice and he made our stay very special. He gave us lots of good tips to enjoy the most of Rio, he booked us a day tour with a wonderful guide the pousada is working with, Junior, who has spend the day sharing with us his passion for his native city.
After Rio, we went to Paraty and Ilha Grande and we had to spend one last night in rio but hadn't booked any pousada. Lance didn't have a room for us in Casa Cool Beans but he spent a whole morning making phone calls to all the pousadas around Santa Teresa to find us something.
And while we were off to Paraty and Ilha grande, he nicely kept some of our luggages we did not want to travel with.
Eventually we spent our last night in Casa Cool Beans because Lance had a cancellation. It was the best way to finish our 3 months trip... For sure, we will go back to Rio and for sure, we will stay at Casa Cool Beans again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte18041979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Lance learned very fast how to make "Pão na chapa" (tosted bread with butter) better than many brazilians! The breakfast was excellent such as the room services everyday!
Santa Tereza is a great place to stay to walk around at night and get some souveniers. We wish that there was a lift straight to the beaches but it's easy to by tax or vans, and it gets even easier if you make some friends around the neightbouhood. THe pool has the perfect temperature and Mousse is the coolest dog ever!!! Thanks for eveything guys, we had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igor303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#8 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 328 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cool Beans B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cool Beans B&B

Property: Casa Cool Beans B&B
Address: Rua Laurinda Santos Lobo 136, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20240-270, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Cool Beans B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Cool Beans B&B-Santa Teresa! Beautiful B&B in the central district of artsy Santa Teresa. Each room with A/C, ceiling fans, free WiFi, frigobars and en-suite bathroom. Swimming pool with sun terrace. Just minutes to the Bonde, bars, restaurants & shops of hip Santa Teresa; metro and tourist attractions. Offering one of the best deals in Rio de Janeiro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Cool Beans B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cool Beans Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Casa Cool Beans B&B Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing