We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergue da Costa Hostel
Ranked #10 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Natal
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I left my iphone at the hostel when I was there, and they went to a lot of trouble to make sure it got back to me in a different continent. I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank bjf2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Albergue da Costa Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

So, here's my perspective which differs slightly from the below: I have seldom stayed in a place where owners and staff have been so helpful and friendly as in the Albergue da Costa. Everybody took the time to explain to me how to get around in Natal, contacted the busstation to inform about bus times, help me find a good kite-surf instructor in a neighboring place (and made sure I'd be picked up at the busstop there), and just generally made sure I had all (the info) I needed. Coming back to the hostel after spending a short week somewhere else they welcomed me on a first name basis and let me hang around waiting for a flight which was at an absurd time (as many flights seem to be in Brazil..).
The Albergue itself is a great place to hang out with hammocks, free internet, good breakfast (included), tv-room with dvd's and a mini swimming pool. It is indeed not in the centre of Natal, but then I believe Ponta Negra is a lot better than the centre.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
Thank Daisy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Today I got an email from George explaining why they took almost 6 months to refund my deposit. According to him, he is the only person at the Albergue who has all the bank info and authorization to conduct bank transactions. Also, he said he was away on a couple of business trips, and that on the days he was in Natal he was so busy with surf and kayak lessons that he couldn't get to the bank to make the deposit.

He apologized profusely for the delay in refunding the deposit and asked me to change my review on Trip Advisor. I explained to him that once posted, reviews cannot be deleted or edited so here is my addition to my previous review.

Do I believe his explanation and does it matter to anyone reading this posting? Well, I chose to believe him as I'd rather believe that the famous Brazilian bureocracy added to possibly a lack of communication and organization at the Albergue conspired to create this situation. However, I also think that getting a letter from the Brazilian consumer protection agency, PROCON, may have contributed significantly to his decision to go to the bank immediately (rather than getting caught up in surf and kayak lessons again) and refund my deposit.

Given that another person posted a positive review here, I'm inclined to say that Albergue da Costa is a good place to stay in Natal and that George is a good guy that just got caught up in a crazy situation so give him a chance and you'll probably be happy you did.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu123Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This hostel is a long way from the centre of Natal but accessible by 66 bus ("meia e meia" in Portuguese!) from the bus station, and is conveniently near the beach at Ponta Negra. Cleanliness and comfort are reasonable. The service is sometimes slapdash but can also be helpful; Jorge solved a problem I was having with a hotel I was due to stay at after Natal. Most of the staff and their friends are pleasant and you can forget about computer games and take them on at chess.
As a city, Natal seemed totally forgettable. a concrete jungle of shopping malls and apartment blocks. However, behind the hostel is a market area on a human scale with some very reasonable open-air restaurants (try the Mineiro) and if you're around on a Saturday, there is live music ("forro" when I was there) and a dance floor if you're bold enough to try some steps!
I was sorry to read about the problems of Lulu123. Personally it worked out well for me but had I seen her review, I might have treated the hostel with a bit more caution.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamescollenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

In early May 2010, I booked 2 nights at the Albergue da Costa for January 2011 and was all set to travel when I found in late September 2010 that I had cancer and was not allowed to leave the country during treatment. I contacted the Albergue da Costa immediately and inqured about their cancellation policy. In order to secure the reservation I had already made a one night's deposit in their bank account and it had all been processed/cofirmed a month before.

They told me it wasn't a problem, that there would be no fee for cancelling and that they would just reverse the deposit. It's now mid December and everytime I call or email them I am promised that it's being done that afternoon or the following week.

There is no excuse for poor communication as I speak fluent Portuguese, the answer plain and simple is that they have not yet shown any intent to reimburse me for my deposit. I have now had to take legal action agains them, which in Brazil means months if not years of bureocracy and legal fees with no guarantee that they will ever pay me the deposit back. And all of this for a measely R$90 deposit.

If they had been honest about it and said they would't reimburse it I would have just let it go, what made me angry is all their promises to pay me back, all their well-wishes for my recovery from my battle with cancer all seem so fake now and I wonder if they ever intended to reimburse or just thought I was another sucker they could put off with endless emails and promises.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu123Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelerRec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Peça por quarto com ar-condicionado
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra
Get Up Hostel
#5 of 171 in Natal
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Republika Hostel
#12 of 171 in Natal
91 reviews
Ponta Negra
Hotel Ponta Negra
Hotel Ponta Negra
#43 of 93 in Natal
273 reviews
Ponta Negra
Pousada Porta Do Sol
Pousada Porta Do Sol
#39 of 171 in Natal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergue da Costa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue da Costa Hostel

Address: Avenida Praia de Ponta Negra 8932 | Ponta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59094-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal > Ponta Negra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 171 Speciality Lodging in Natal
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergue da Costa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Albergue da Costa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue Da Costa Hostel Natal, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing