We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Pousada”
Review of Pousada Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Italia
Ranked #25 of 123 Natal B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Simple Pousada”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This place can be somewhat frustrating after seeing the photos. The area is enclosed by high walls, since security is a big concern in the area. In fact, the streets around are not really safe, particularly after dark. The area inside is a bit cramped. The parking area is small, but I managed to park inside, The attendant keeps all the car keys and moves them around as needed. The room was very small, with a minimal space around the bed (see photos). It was barely enough for one person. Same thing with the bathroom, too small. The only opening of the room is a glass French door/window, so you can't have daylight and privacy at the same time. There is a small swimming pool, and an area for breakfast, which was OK, nothing special. Everything was very clean. There is free Wi-Fi, but the reception in my room was iffy, so I had to stay in the common areas to get a good signal. The beach is quite a walk away, on poorly maintained streets with lots of trash around. I found that appalling, since this is the area with the largest concentration of hotels, and tourist trade in general, in the city. There are some restaurants within walking distance, and none of them are remarkable. In short, the pousada is not that great, kind of simple and cramped, and the location is not that great either. On the other hand, the owners were very friendly and helpful, constantly asking what I needed. When I asked for a rental car, they had one delivered to me in 15 minutes flat. And I drove happily all around the beautiful coastline of the state :) So the people made the difference. Otherwise, I would have found the entire stay somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    61
    22
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
61
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I stayed two nights here, there are positive and negative aspects.
Positive:really cheap and close to beaches (about 10 minutes walk)and ponta negra area,the pousada is little and quite area,rooms are clean.
Negative: the area is little bit isolated,pousata the outside of the camera has, it seems like a closed barracks,you can understand that precautions is because is little bit dangerous area and come back to walk into the night from ponta negra is not very good.
Many places(disco,bars) nearby are full of garotas and " customers" ...
For the rest I was fine, i don't like Natal but the pousada Italia's experience was good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nassau2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This pousada is lovely.

It's small so it's not crowded, with nice common areas and comfortable rooms (very clean and with air conditioning). And a pool!!

The breakfast is really good. They have fruit, scrambled eggs and pastries. You can request extras from the kitchen, like sweet or salty creppes (though you have to ask since they are not served). Maybe they could add some cereal, but everything they had was enough for me!!

The only reason I don't reate this place as "Excellent" is the location. For those who have a car it's probably easier to get around. It's not a nice place to walk around at night, and it's not even pretty looking by day. Maybe for young people with no car it would be best to go somewhere else! It's not very far from the beach (2 or 3 blocks maybe) so I guess that makes the location a little better.

Still, I would recommend this place since it's not expensive and the staff is also very nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSS_BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Very clean, all equipment functioning correctly, nice breakfast and attentive management.

Best of all, great WiFi... and a short walk from the beach!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlotortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascavel, PR
Level Contributor
358 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

cons- breakfast is a bit poor and disorganised
towels were not changed every day
it is located up hill so it is a bit of a struggle to walk from the beach there
pros- friendly and clean
very helpful staff
overall, it is a great place to stay and the price is quite reasonable. I recommend it in spite of the little flaws.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaisFelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natal hotels
Pousada Coco Verde
#12 of 123 in Natal
102 reviews
Pousada Mar e Brisa
#13 of 123 in Natal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Marambaia Apart Hotel
Marambaia Apart Hotel
#5 of 123 in Natal
199 reviews
Recanto Sul Flat
#35 of 123 in Natal
37 reviews
Pousada Vale do Sul
#14 of 123 in Natal
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Italia

Property: Pousada Italia
Address: Rua das Conchas 2210 | Pounta Negra, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-420, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
holiday dream in Brasile. A Natal in Ponta Negra, near the sea, there is a marvellous place colled "Pousada Italia" like a little kind of paradise with all typeof confort: air conditioned, swimmingpool, internet point , suites with jacuzi and a large kitcken all accesoriates. We have also a large out door area where we will be served the breakfast. We hope to see you in Pousada Italia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Italia Natal, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing