We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!!!!”
Review of Imira Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Imira Plaza Hotel
Ranked #50 of 92 Hotels in Natal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Day 1, the cold water went out. The shower was too hot to stand under. The sink only gave out hot water and the toilet wouldn't flush. Reception sent the maid to fix the problem. Day 2, the AC went out......and didn't work all night. It was 90 degrees. We opened the windows and the place filled with Mosquitos.

Overall the place is dirty, moldy and kinda gross. The dirt and grime would have been easy to overlook if the Ac, water, and staff worked properly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    316
    254
    109
    114
See reviews for
437
241
19
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am unsure why this hotel has 4 stars reviews. It's pretty old and run down. If you want comfort, go somewhere else. Our room was unsafe (back doors didn't lock), the next room that was offered had no internet. The table cloth in the dining areas were pretty dirty and the staff couldn't cope with the service. The location is great but most of the facilities at the hotel need to be updated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franziska2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Natal hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a total of 5 Nights for an international conference and to be honest, one of the worst hotel I ever stayed. The room condition was terrible, there were LOTS of ANTs and small insects walking around, Room was not clean, probably No maintenance was done since the hotel started it's business, door key doesn't works all the time, no one speaks English, restaurant menu options are horrible. Nothing in the washroom except a small cheap soap and tiny low quality shampoo.

Totally not worth the price I paid. $45 per night would be a reasonable price for this hotel. This is a 2 star rating hotel compared to the international standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer_CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Food
The menu was limited, cheese, chicken, ham or an alternative of the three. Every time we ordered anything on the menu, it never looked the same twice. We even ordered the same and it would look different. It would take ages to arrive, if you ordered two meals together you could guarantee one would arrive at least 30 minutes after the second. Our friend ate in the restaurant for lunch one day and was ill that night. They would also try and get you to sign twice for the same order. At the bar, you could wait ages to be served as no one was there, and then they would take forever to get your drinks. The bar also closed at 10:00pm.
Accommodation
The Patio doors in the bedrooms are rusted and you had to lift and slide to open, if you were lucky. Our door had a gap of an inch down the side so all the Mosquitos could get in. We did not have hot water for two days, they only fixed it when we were leaving. The sheets were grey, and our cover had a stain, which we were not sure what it was. The bed itself had seen better days. The towels were also a funny grey colour. The room was not cleaned on Sunday so we did not get any clean towels or sheets. If you want to use the safe you need to hire the lock from reception. We had heavy rain one night and the water was leaking through the roof and down the light fittings. I do not think the hotel has been maintained or decorated since the sixties. The chairs in the bar, for example had certainly not been cleaned for years, full of stains and very grubby.
Checking out
Make sure you check your bill! Friends staying with us had items added they had not had, they also tried to charge them over the agreed rate and for more time than they had been there for. This was not an error as two couples with us had similar problems. It took a long time to check out as they would check your mini bar and room while you wait.
Location
On the beach and this is great, a lovely quite beach, this is the only thing the hotel has going for it.
There is nothing else within walking distance of the hotel, so unless you use taxis to escape or are able to order pizza delivery in you are trapped.
We only stayed three nights and that was enough, our friends were going to stay on a few more days but decided to change hotels when we left. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, do not waste your money or valuable holiday time, you will regret it.


Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Rooms dirty, with a stench of mold, decadent, difficult access to the rooms, far away from any conveniences ( all must be done by taxi).

We got there with our 18 month twins and we were told that there were no available rooms, so we were sent to an even worse hotel to stay one night while they would find a solution.

Getting to the other hotel we immediately refused to stay and only after 3 hours waiting and with the threat to call the police we were given a crapy room.

Absolute lack of respect and consideration with a family with young children.

The prices are excessively high and the staff is treated badly and remunerated at the minimum which made us feel sad about the conditions that the staff had to work.

An unpleasant and tiresome experience that made us waist precious days of vacation and relax.

For your sake avoid even considering staying there.

Pictures show what words can't.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XandiGenebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

really great hotel, away from the razmataz of Natal and ponta negra with a beautiful beach.
Very clean, great staff always willing to please. beautiful surrandings with great swimming pools. Withing a nice stroll to the city

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo30uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Portugal, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I found the room at lower than expected level. the airconditioner was not working, in the morning there was very little water pressure to have a shower and the water was cold. along the day it became better. Breakfast and lunch were quite good and the staff was very kind.
In general it looked as if the hotel should have been renewed long ago, but it was reasonable anyway, and for the it was quite good, but not cheap at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Parque da Costeira
Parque da Costeira
#36 of 92 in Natal
1,845 reviews
eSuites Vila do Mar
#24 of 92 in Natal
2,088 reviews
Aram Natal Mar Hotel
#45 of 92 in Natal
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto do Mar
#77 of 92 in Natal
145 reviews
Ponta Negra
Rifoles Praia Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imira Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imira Plaza Hotel

Property: Imira Plaza Hotel
Address: Av. Senador Dinarte Medeiros Mariz, 4077 -Via Costeira | Via Costeira, 4077, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imira Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imira Plaza Hotel has a beautiful park by the sea to relax and enjoy moments of relaxation with family . Our unit has swimming pools for adults and children, playground , piano bar, convenience store and crafts and games room . In Imira Plaza Hotel you can enjoy the delights of regional and international cuisine at Restaurant Taiana , a cozy atmosphere with unique setting overlooking the sea. And still enjoy a cold beer , produced in our factory in Via Continental Brewery . All rooms offer excellent comfort and are equipped with air conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, hair dryer and voice mail in 6 languages ​​. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Imira Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imira Plaza Natal
Imira Plaza Hotel Natal, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing