We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but terrible services” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imira Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imira Plaza Hotel
Ranked #52 of 93 Hotels in Natal
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good location, but terrible services”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, with sprawling terraces overlooking the beach. There's a nice swimming pool, too, with comfortable deckchairs for sunbathing. This apart, it's one of the worst hotels I've been to in terms of value for money. After the first two days, the airconditioning stopped working in my room, to the point that it was actually cooler in the corridor outside. I saw a cockroach or two crawling across the floor, so am not sure the room was actually cleaned. Flies swarmed around us in the dining room, so we spent most of our time keeping them off the food that we weren't that keen on eating anyway...The wifi in the rooms was laughable -- around 7 every evening it just gave up, and was not to be had until late the next day -- we wondered why this was, was someone simply switching off one of the servers every day? The food was pretty poor too -- very average breakfasts full of cakes, but little in the way of savoury variety (you had to wait for twenty minutes or so to get an omelette!) on a daily basis. Lunches and dinners were equally boring -- lots of food but most of it not particularly interesting -- I had one of the worst moquecas ever one day at lunch, despite this being a speciality of Brazil. The staff were friendly enough but usually forgot about what you asked them to do, and on my last day I had a very tough time getting my laundry delivered (more than half a day late). There was a bar, though, with a reasonably efficient barman, which was a far better and cheaper deal than the actual dining room. The hotel boasts a spa, but whenever I went it was either peopled with bored looking staff or closed. The toiletries provided were very basic, and the hot water supply was pretty unreliable. Not a place I would ever choose to stay in again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    308
    243
    103
    99
See reviews for
406
231
19
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It looks rather old hotel with many rooms refurbished (for Worlds Cup), even so some things are not brand new. Despite that, all worked fine, food was good.

The best part of the hotel is the view and the beach.

Try to wake up early in the morning the walk in the sand.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view for the beach. I will see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is located between the Parque das Dunas and the beach in Natal. The location is terrific if you like the beach and the ocean. There did not appear to be any recreational facilities on the beach; no volley ball, surfing, wind or kite surfing - just beach.
The hotel itself is aging with evidence of water intrusion and mold throughout the hotel. However, the rooms were serviceable and without any maintenance issues.
The public areas were quite spacious and well populated - it was the World Cup and that's why we were there. Breakfast was included and was provisioned with a good selection of fruits and cerals, with breads and pastries of all varieties, plus a few hot dishes. Coffee, tea, hot milk, and various fruit juices we provided.
Outside there were some amenities including a clean swimming pool, fresh water showers, and immediate access to a nice clean.firm sand beach. A walk along the beach passed in front of another hotel and then further down the beach what appeared to be the shell of a former, now abandoned, sizable hotel.
The location of Hotel Imira is 'out of town'. You will need a car to access any shops, bars, or other amenities, or of course, take a taxi. As Hotel Imira is out of town you have no local choices for dining or having a drink without taking a drive. Going south you can head into town; we tried going to the north to head out toward the Ponte Newton Navarro, only to find the road totally impassable and no other choice but to turn around and head south. There was no warning of the road closure.
This hotel is definitely 'off the beaten track' but might be a good choice for a budget conscious family when the prices are not at World Cup levels.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is all ocean front rooms; the other side - which we had - was all parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Day 1, the cold water went out. The shower was too hot to stand under. The sink only gave out hot water and the toilet wouldn't flush. Reception sent the maid to fix the problem. Day 2, the AC went out......and didn't work all night. It was 90 degrees. We opened the windows and the place filled with Mosquitos.

Overall the place is dirty, moldy and kinda gross. The dirt and grime would have been easy to overlook if the Ac, water, and staff worked properly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Natal hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I am unsure why this hotel has 4 stars reviews. It's pretty old and run down. If you want comfort, go somewhere else. Our room was unsafe (back doors didn't lock), the next room that was offered had no internet. The table cloth in the dining areas were pretty dirty and the staff couldn't cope with the service. The location is great but most of the facilities at the hotel need to be updated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franziska2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a total of 5 Nights for an international conference and to be honest, one of the worst hotel I ever stayed. The room condition was terrible, there were LOTS of ANTs and small insects walking around, Room was not clean, probably No maintenance was done since the hotel started it's business, door key doesn't works all the time, no one speaks English, restaurant menu options are horrible. Nothing in the washroom except a small cheap soap and tiny low quality shampoo.

Totally not worth the price I paid. $45 per night would be a reasonable price for this hotel. This is a 2 star rating hotel compared to the international standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer_CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Food
The menu was limited, cheese, chicken, ham or an alternative of the three. Every time we ordered anything on the menu, it never looked the same twice. We even ordered the same and it would look different. It would take ages to arrive, if you ordered two meals together you could guarantee one would arrive at least 30 minutes after the second. Our friend ate in the restaurant for lunch one day and was ill that night. They would also try and get you to sign twice for the same order. At the bar, you could wait ages to be served as no one was there, and then they would take forever to get your drinks. The bar also closed at 10:00pm.
Accommodation
The Patio doors in the bedrooms are rusted and you had to lift and slide to open, if you were lucky. Our door had a gap of an inch down the side so all the Mosquitos could get in. We did not have hot water for two days, they only fixed it when we were leaving. The sheets were grey, and our cover had a stain, which we were not sure what it was. The bed itself had seen better days. The towels were also a funny grey colour. The room was not cleaned on Sunday so we did not get any clean towels or sheets. If you want to use the safe you need to hire the lock from reception. We had heavy rain one night and the water was leaking through the roof and down the light fittings. I do not think the hotel has been maintained or decorated since the sixties. The chairs in the bar, for example had certainly not been cleaned for years, full of stains and very grubby.
Checking out
Make sure you check your bill! Friends staying with us had items added they had not had, they also tried to charge them over the agreed rate and for more time than they had been there for. This was not an error as two couples with us had similar problems. It took a long time to check out as they would check your mini bar and room while you wait.
Location
On the beach and this is great, a lovely quite beach, this is the only thing the hotel has going for it.
There is nothing else within walking distance of the hotel, so unless you use taxis to escape or are able to order pizza delivery in you are trapped.
We only stayed three nights and that was enough, our friends were going to stay on a few more days but decided to change hotels when we left. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, do not waste your money or valuable holiday time, you will regret it.


Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Parque da Costeira
Parque da Costeira
#38 of 93 in Natal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
eSuites Vila do Mar
#26 of 93 in Natal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Porto do Mar
#80 of 93 in Natal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aram Natal Mar Hotel
#44 of 93 in Natal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Arituba Park Hotel
#59 of 93 in Natal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imira Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imira Plaza Hotel

Property: Imira Plaza Hotel
Address: Av. Senador Dinarte Medeiros Mariz, 4077 -Via Costeira | Via Costeira, 4077, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Imira Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imira Plaza Hotel has a beautiful park by the sea to relax and enjoy moments of relaxation with family . Our unit has swimming pools for adults and children, playground , piano bar, convenience store and crafts and games room . In Imira Plaza Hotel you can enjoy the delights of regional and international cuisine at Restaurant Taiana , a cozy atmosphere with unique setting overlooking the sea. And still enjoy a cold beer , produced in our factory in Via Continental Brewery . All rooms offer excellent comfort and are equipped with air conditioning, cable TV, refrigerator, hair dryer and voice mail in 6 languages ​​. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Imira Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imira Plaza Natal
Imira Plaza Hotel Natal, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing