We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort in an amazing location - perfect (but pricey)!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SERHS Natal Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Natal
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very nice resort in an amazing location - perfect (but pricey)!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in a suite on the top (7th) floor. Room was amazing, with a large balcony and a jaccuzi on the deck. Service was very good and everybody was really helpful. Beds were perfect and comfortable, and the room was quiet despite the road traffic just outside the door.

Breakfast is top notch (try the custom cooked eggs.) The pool -- or should I say pools -- are really well thought-out with separate pools for the little ones. Lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas so finding shade or sun is no problem. The clientele is 'upscale' which keeps the riff-raff to a minimum.

Used the Kids Club and our 8-year old had a great time. They keep them reasonably engaged and have supervised trips to the beach and pool. There's even a toddler / baby pool for the really young ones.

Location is great, and also it's not too far from town. We walked it a couple of nights after eating too much -- maybe 2-3km (1.25 miles) from town. Lots of tours if that's your thing but we just hung out around the pool and it was great.

Upsides - Lots to do, sports bar, great pool and poolside bar.
Downside - expensive.

The rooms are priced high but not crazy high. Booking on a USA website got us a better price. BUT - everything else is insanely pricey. They even charge for WiFi (we complained and they removed the charge -- we're paying for a suite, for goodness sakes.)

The 'towel cards' are totally cheesy -- lose one and they charge R$ 50,00. Beers are R$ 6,60 after service costs and small waters are R$ 4,29. Kids lunch is R$ 39,00 - WTF?

Suggestion: Go to the Extra grocery store on your way in from the airport and buy water, beer and snacks. Saves you R$ 150,00 - R$ 200,00 a day in bogus overpriced food and drinks. Dinner at the ground floor buffett is good, but at R$ 50,00 person I'd rather go to Camaroes (there's two of them a long walk from the hotel, or R$14,00 cab ride.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyGuyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,836
    1,765
    442
    108
    72
See reviews for
2,692
1,978
118
560
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Rooms were confortable, great shower! Breakfast is great, lots of everything, almost brunch. Beautiful view of the ocean and the swimming pool is great! But for being number #1 in Natal the reception desk is a flaw! When checking in it takes almost 20 minutes to get to the front desk. Only two people attending and lots of guests waiting.... althugh I made reservations before, I had to answer all questions again, like address, etc, as if they didn't have that in their computer.... and I filled out a reservation form when I booked the hotel.... When checking out, just the same. It took forever to finish. I requested an invoice and this was just impossible....I'm still waiting....In the bar at the looby just the same: one person to attend everybody!!! Hey Serhs! to be number 1 you need more than a beautiful hotel! Speed up the reception deskand add more employees!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank going-around-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joao Pessoa, PB
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

As known as the best hotel in town, its a little bit disapointing.

The venue is truly impressive. All rooms (good size)with ocean view.

Pools, jacuzzis, delightfull. Nice entertaiment crew/center and spa.

Complementary breakfast is a highlight, always busy and noisy, with a large options of local and international food.

But, as a prime hotel, there are much to be done/fixed.

Rooms: ridiculous tv set. Ok, once in Natal, you woulnd stay for tv, but any hostel would do it better.

In the bathroom, problema with lights.

Mattres and linens are not what you expected when you pay the bill.

Overall, its the best lodging experience in town. But it feels like it could way better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
376 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel located in Natal, Via Costeira, was a pleasant stay for me and friends. You can do almost everything in their pool area and indoor pool with jacuzzi. There is service for small kids, massage in open area, spa, gym, and water activities during the morning. The staff was friendly and helpful, but quite non-personal that makes you feel in a strange huge city. The buffet and breakfast changes everyday, the service in the pool is kind. They charge for internet and all extra services. The room was fine and clean, but you hear the next room near you. I liked the hotel and could relax a while from the rush of urban areas. They booked a city tour and you can rent a car to drive yourself to some beach nearby. Quite close to the touristic Ponta Negra and good shrimp restaurants, but need a taxi to take you there. Maybe managing its hundreds rooms in a big size hotel have made some details to be unsatisfactory to demanding guests, but this is an overall good hotel. I would stay again in Sehr Grand Hotel in my next trip to Natal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_World63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I travelled to Natal on business at short notice and stayed for a few nights at the Grand. Grand it is in size but noting else. In our first room there was a sign advising always lock your patio doors, we couldn't. When we chased up the repair after waiting over an hour, the next thing we find is one of the doors completely removed. Not believing the estimate of a short time to repair, we were moved into another room, with two single beds. The mattress on one of them was completely worn out, bed cover stained and generally not pleasant. The next day, I paid for an upgrade to have a suite for the remainder of the stay, which was more how a room should be. Large room and comfortable bed, hence very good for sleep quality in this particular room.

The hotel was packed with Brazilian families on holiday, the dining room for breakfast was large, noisy and chaotic! There were some dining options in the evening but nothing worth staying there for. Unfortunately it was raining for most of the visit so ended up in the pasta/Italian type restaurant a couple of times. Again, very noisy and not very relaxing atmosphere.

The design of the hotel is also a bit strange, as a lot of the rooms pick up road noise due to the open plan style of the corridors.

Suggest avoid, unless you are a family with children to entertain and enjoy poor quality bedding!!

Room Tip: Pay for a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I simply can´t understand how this hotel is so highly rated on tripadvisor.
Just returned from a 2 night weekend in Natal and this is one of the worst hotels I have ever experienced.
Rooms remember a cheap motel.They smell bad. Beds are extremely unconfortable with cheap old matresses and deformed pillows. WIFI doesn´t work. TV is so small that is a joke. Breakfast is terrible, served in a room that looks like a cheap school cafeteria. Pool chairs need to be replaced and staff is slow (even for brazilian standards). All public areas are poorly maintained.
The only good thing is the beach in front - not crowded with a warm sea (although dangerous for swimming).
Hotels in Brazil are usually of poor standards but I would not even give a 3 star rating to this 5 star hotel.
I can only assume that good reviews are made from Brazilians who have never experienced a decent hotel abroad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PedroPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It's a good hotel, beautiful in a good location but charges everything. From internet to local calls.
Good hotel for kids but don't leave them in kid's club. They don't take care properly. My little boy burnt himself at the buffet and nothing was done. A shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lhsr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Natal hotels
Ponta Negra
Aquaria Natal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ponta Negra
Rifoles Praia Hotel & Resort
Ponta Negra
Esmeralda Praia Hotel
Ponta Negra
Holiday Inn Express Natal Ponta Negra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SERHS Natal Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SERHS Natal Grand Hotel

Property: SERHS Natal Grand Hotel
Address: Av. Senador Dinarte Medeiros Mariz, 6045 | Via Costeira, Natal, State of Rio Grande do Norte 59090-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Norte > Natal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Natal
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Natal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Natal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Natal
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Natal
#4 Business Hotel in Natal
#5 Family Hotel in Natal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SERHS Natal Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find out the Innovative concept in hospitality. It is located between Ponta Negra and Areia Preta, on Via Costeira in Natal, from 38 km from the Aluízio Alves International airport. It stands out for its elegant and modern construction and above all for the quality of its services and facilities. It is a 5 stars category Hotel Complex in European standard: exclusive environment and design, classy, comfortable, and detailed elegancy. Quality in favour to our guests in Natal, the sun city, known as the one which has the most pure air of the American continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SERHS Natal Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serhs Grand Natal
SERHS Natal Grand Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing