We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to a charming small hotel”
Review of The Nordic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nordic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Alpine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Nordic Inn in tiny Alpine, WY. The rooms are very clean. They are a bit spartan but have all necessary items one would expect in a hotel room and bathroom, including WiFI. The grounds are lovely: beautiful flowers, a charming and comfortable gazebo. Their restaurant is excellent; we ate dinner and breakfast right there and enjoyed everything. The wine list is small but quite a decent selection. It is very quiet, but the restaurant fills up fast. Definitely make dinner reservations ahead!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P-sqTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 4 nights in this very nice little hotel 40 minutes away from the very busy Jackson. The hotel room room we had was very nice although it was not very big, but that didn't matter to us. It is very quiet over there and the co-located restaurant is absolutely great. You can sit outside and enjoy a good breakfeast or a wonderful dinner. So if you're out for somethhing special, seeking something relaxing and are not afraid of a one hour drive to Grand Teton then this hotel is a great choice I can only recommend. The owner and the people there are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there. Would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Retep_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We were referred here for lunch by some locals, and was it ever worth it! Firstly, the location is picturesque. Lovely landscaping, beautiful gazebo ... feels like you stepped into an old world fairy tale. The service is exceptional. The staff is friendly and attentive and we saw the owners taking time to sit at the tables with some of the locals and chat with them about their families. It gives you the feeling like you are hanging out at your grandparents house with all your favorite family members close by.

And the food is outstanding. We were staying in Teton Village all week and sampled different restaurants in Jackson and throughout the parks, and this was by far the best meal we had all week. Everything is fantastic: fresh and delicious. Unlike other places throughout Teton and Yellowstone, it is not a place that is pretentious, or trying to be fancier than it really is. It is cozy, home cooked style food and worth every penny. Get the soup!!! We will definitely be back to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank bananabaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a hidden gem at the confluences of three western rivers; Snake, Grey's and Salt - near the town of Alpine.
Reservations are must. The restaurant is only open between June and September and the food is well worth the visit. Seating both inside a small dinning room and bar, or on the patio under umbrellas.
This season features a pasta dish which replaced the risotto that dominated the home-made speciality last year.
Whether you sample the beef, lamb or chicken, or prefer salads or fish, all meals are well prepared, and served with pride and professional courtesy. The portions are more than adequate and should satisfy even the heartier of eaters.
Two 'glitches' have been noted. First, one of the main dishes were not adequately warm; and second, the door between the main dinning room and the kitchen is constantly opened and closed due to traffic which produced an intolerable loud sound.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank SEAN11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Very nice location, excellent food and service. The facility is very clean and all units appeared well maintained. Kitchen and restaurant are clean with a friendly staff and great service.

The chef puts on a great breakfast. Lots of Piano jazz and concert hall music to choose from.

This establishment is extremely Motorcycle Friendly!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bbally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

These owners know how to make your stay welcome and comfortable...I loved our room, great bed! But, the most wonderful thing about this property is that it has a very wonderful, high end restaurant..It was crowed, with the locals..They know where to find a great place to meet and dine..They are only open 4 months a year, then their off to New Zealand the rest of the time...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The history of the family who owns the Nordic Inn is amazing.

Michael will keep you entertained for hours with stories about his life, his war hero father and his extended family.

It's a quaint little place with only 9 rooms, but it has limited amenities in the small rooms. There are no ironing boards, hair dryers or guest laundry. There is no fitness room, but you can hike nearby trails, which is very enjoyable. It's only open from Memorial Day (weather permitting) through October 15.

The rooms are spotlessly clean and nicely decorated in a rustic style .You feel like you are staying in someone's simple, but comfortable home. The beds are somewhat firm and seem like they are ready for replacement.

The landscaping and abundant flowers throughout the grounds are gorgeous and impressive. The gazebo on the expansive lawn is a great spot to enjoy a glass of wine and conversation with friends and family.

Breakfast at the Brenthoven Restaurant is wonderful. Dinner was also delightful. Chef Brent goes out of his way to prepare unique meals that are made with love.

Guest are definitely treated like family by the folks at The Nordic Inn, and we enjoyed our stay very much, although I'd likely stay at the Flying Saddle Resort next time which is located across the highway if I was bringing others along, since it has a pool and hot tub, larger rooms with more amenities, a fitness center, a horseshoe pit, guest laundry, a view of the Snake River, a restaurant with a more varied menu, and can be booked for a lower price.

But, in most cases, we prefer to patronize family-run establishments where it makes sense.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Blooeyz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
18.0 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
131 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
577 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flying Saddle Resort
Flying Saddle Resort
#1 of 3 in Alpine
264 reviews
12.3 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
17.6 mi away
Swiss Mountain Motel
Swiss Mountain Motel
#3 of 3 in Thayne
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nordic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Inn

Address: 1 Mile E of Hwy 89 & 26 Junction, Alpine, WY 83128
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alpine
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Nordic Inn Alpine, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing