We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Excellent”
Review of The Nordic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Nordic Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Alpine B&B and Inns
Jackson Hole
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overall Excellent”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The good: Service, Food & Ambiance. Somehow partners Michael & Brent have put together a wonderful team of people. Our bartender was owner Michael, who is great at what he does! Our server for dinner was Ginger, and she was an absolute delight, even offering blankets after dinner as our patio seating was becoming chilly. She recognized our passionate love of their incredible pumpkin soup, perhaps catching on when we ordered large bowls as appetizers and as desert. Because we were celebrating our 10th anniversary, she surprised us with to-go cups of the soup. Awesome personal touch. We were in room #1 for the night, and it was clean.

The only down sides to this classy little small town gem is that the building is getting old and is located by a highway that hosts the passage of loud vehicles. The sagging tile in the shower had many years worth of something dark colored engrained, but I am certain it had been scrubbed well. If you like 4S/Aman perfection in facilities, this is not the place, but if you can "let your hair down" and "go with the flow" you will be impressed with the world class cuisine and service. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room#1 is closest to the restaurant & bar. The cottage (when available is the awesome & c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShootInJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent one night here on our way to a grand adventure. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. The motel is a picturesque little gem in a beautiful area of the state. Stay here one night, enjoy a great dinner and then go for a trail ride with Jackson Hole Outfitters the next day. Great fun!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I spent the night at The Nordic Inn last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed great hospitality from the friendly staff. The rooms, while tiny, are well appointed in a rustic, (dare I say "Nordic") fashion. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. The property is lovely and very quiet. I look forward to staying there the next time I visit family in Alpine.

Room Tip: Great place to stay in Alpine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxapahaw, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Nordic Inn in tiny Alpine, WY. The rooms are very clean. They are a bit spartan but have all necessary items one would expect in a hotel room and bathroom, including WiFI. The grounds are lovely: beautiful flowers, a charming and comfortable gazebo. Their restaurant is excellent; we ate dinner and breakfast right there and enjoyed everything. The wine list is small but quite a decent selection. It is very quiet, but the restaurant fills up fast. Definitely make dinner reservations ahead!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P-sqTarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We spent 4 nights in this very nice little hotel 40 minutes away from the very busy Jackson. The hotel room room we had was very nice although it was not very big, but that didn't matter to us. It is very quiet over there and the co-located restaurant is absolutely great. You can sit outside and enjoy a good breakfeast or a wonderful dinner. So if you're out for somethhing special, seeking something relaxing and are not afraid of a one hour drive to Grand Teton then this hotel is a great choice I can only recommend. The owner and the people there are very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay there. Would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retep_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We were referred here for lunch by some locals, and was it ever worth it! Firstly, the location is picturesque. Lovely landscaping, beautiful gazebo ... feels like you stepped into an old world fairy tale. The service is exceptional. The staff is friendly and attentive and we saw the owners taking time to sit at the tables with some of the locals and chat with them about their families. It gives you the feeling like you are hanging out at your grandparents house with all your favorite family members close by.

And the food is outstanding. We were staying in Teton Village all week and sampled different restaurants in Jackson and throughout the parks, and this was by far the best meal we had all week. Everything is fantastic: fresh and delicious. Unlike other places throughout Teton and Yellowstone, it is not a place that is pretentious, or trying to be fancier than it really is. It is cozy, home cooked style food and worth every penny. Get the soup!!! We will definitely be back to this hidden gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bananabaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a hidden gem at the confluences of three western rivers; Snake, Grey's and Salt - near the town of Alpine.
Reservations are must. The restaurant is only open between June and September and the food is well worth the visit. Seating both inside a small dinning room and bar, or on the patio under umbrellas.
This season features a pasta dish which replaced the risotto that dominated the home-made speciality last year.
Whether you sample the beef, lamb or chicken, or prefer salads or fish, all meals are well prepared, and served with pride and professional courtesy. The portions are more than adequate and should satisfy even the heartier of eaters.
Two 'glitches' have been noted. First, one of the main dishes were not adequately warm; and second, the door between the main dinning room and the kitchen is constantly opened and closed due to traffic which produced an intolerable loud sound.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEAN11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
18.0 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
120 reviews
23.5 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
24.4 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#14 of 40 in Jackson
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Inn
Golden Eagle Inn
#32 of 40 in Jackson
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flying Saddle Resort
Flying Saddle Resort
#1 of 3 in Alpine
254 reviews
12.3 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nordic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Inn

Property: The Nordic Inn
Address: 1 Mile E of Hwy 89 & 26 Junction, Alpine, WY 83128
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alpine
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Nordic Inn Alpine, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing