We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Horseback Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rockin' M Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alpine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockin' M Ranch
Etna, Wyoming
1 review
“Fantastic Horseback Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My family and I have enjoyed several horseback rides at the Rockin' M. The guides have always been knowledgable, courteous and well spoken. The stock is gentle and very well cared for. The property and surround forest is stunning with abundant wild flowers and wildlife, panoramic views and the scenic Salt River. Jamie has always been thoughtful and thorough while booking our rides. Our family loves this adventure!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I would definitely return for a longer stay at the Rockin M Ranch. The owners, Jaime and Rob, were fantastic, cabins were large and clean, and the horse rides into the mountains were beautiful. The cabins had a kitchen and a gas grill on the porch. There is a fire pit for all to use and star gaze. The green is great for frisbee!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I've spent lots of time in Star Valley and have taken a few guided fly fishing sessions on the Salt River with Rob in the past but this is the first time we have stayed at Rockin M. Rob and Jamie are the proprietors of this gem nestled hard up against the Salt River just south of Alpine Wyoming. We rented one of the couples cabins for 4 nights and had a hard timing packing up to leave on our last day. We were close enough to Jackson to make the easy 35 minute trip up the scenic Snake River Canyon to have lunch with friends and take a bike ride before returning for dinner. The cabins have full kitchens and a gas grill on the porch so it was easy to make a meal if we wanted to eat in. The nights get chilly but the gas fireplace was quick to warm the place when called into service. Sitting on the porch you could hear the sound of the river, interrupted occasionally by the cry of a hawk or the stirring of a nearby horse. At night the sky is like nothing I'd seen since growing up in a rural area. There's virtually no light pollution, giving the stars and Milky Way a chance to put on a dazzling show when the moon isn't stealing the stage.
We took a half day horseback trip to the top of an adjacent mountain and spotted sand hill cranes, a herd of elk and (almost) a moose. We'll take Rob's word for it since we missed it. The next day we took a guided half day fly fishing trip along the Salt -- also available through Rockin M. My wife kicked back in the stern of the drift boat while I flailed away in the bow. Thanks to some patient instruction, I managed to catch about 7 or 8 trout.

The cabins are spotless, attractive and easy to relax in. It's really a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsayspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

My annual family trip consisted this year of 9 people 7adults and 2kids. I chose these cabins based on tripadvisor reviews and availability and cost. They were fantastic everyone loved them and raved about how comfortable beautiful and cozy they were. We had a great time we fished, rode horses, grilled used the hottub and just hung around the porch making sure everyone knew we were the loud family and enjoyed visits from the owners sweet friendly dogs. We really loved our stay and wish it had been much longer 4nights is not nearly enough. I was so sad to leave. We were an hour away from the grand tetons and 2 hrs from Yellowstone it worked for us since I knew the distance and we all enjoyed the beautiful drive. I would say the only downside for some of our family members was the slow wifi. We were not there for technology so I didn't mind, they did have direct tv with premium channels so it was nice staying current on true blood. Over all this place is a must stay and we are talking about breaking our rule and repeating a destination it was so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moline, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Rockin M' is the place we stay at while in Alpine. We usually spend 3 days there and have never been disappointed. Love the spacious clean cabins with rustic feel and plenty of room. Fishing with Rob is always a must for us, my husband has been fly fishing with Rob for many years. We often also do the horseback ride, this time it was a 4-hour ride with lunch and we all loved every second of it. The location of Rockin M' is great - very scenic and calm, love the mountains in the background and a pretty creek running throught the property. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashkaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovell, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 35th anniversary this June. We planned to travel to the Grand Tetons but needed to stop as our flight took us to Salt Lake City. We drove 4.5 hrs to Alpine arriving at The Rockin M Ranch after midnight. Our cabin was waiting for us with a welcome sign out front. The fully supplied cabin was awesome. Very clean and welcoming. Rob and Jayme were great. Ty the "Wranger" took us on a wonderful horseback ride up in the mountains along the ranch. We will certainly recommend the ranch to anyone who travels to Wyoming. Although our accommodations in the Tetons were good we felt that we could of spent the whole time at the ranch. Thanks Rob and Jayme! Alan and Cyndi

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I hesitated to write this - as I really dont want it to get too crowded I cant come back. Went there with my 10 year old son. We had a great time - the area is not crowded - close to the launch sites for rafting trip. If you stay in Jackson you have to drive almost all the way here to launch and then back. The fed park is right here in town and you rent a 4 wheeler and up the mountain you go- no group trip- go anywhere you want all day. The river is right out back for fishing - the view of the mountains are right there. The cabins are seperated so its quiet- nice landscaping and a hot tub right out your door. The only time we went to "way over crowded" Jackson was going to airport and back and Tetons. This place is great and worth the money. I looked at the other cabins while here- dont go there- they are packed in the back of a hotel and are nothing to look at. Went on horseback ride- this isnt like the ones where you walk some short trial- up the mountians - just great. cant say enough good- and if I were reading this i might think the owner did it - but i live in Texas and travel ALLOT and WY is just beautiful

Room Tip: any is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 679markk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
13.2 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.1 mi away
Flying Saddle Resort
Flying Saddle Resort
#1 of 3 in Alpine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
8.3 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Snake River Park KOA and Cabin Village
Show Prices

Been to Rockin' M Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockin' M Ranch

Property: Rockin' M Ranch
Address: PO Box 3576, Alpine, WY 83128-0576
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Alpine
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockin' M is seven beautiful deluxe cabins located on the banks of the Salt River. We are located 4 miles south from Alpine, Wyoming and 39 miles South West from Jackson Hole Wyoming. All cabins have fully equipped kitchens, gas fireplaces, gas grill, covered front deck, flat sreen T.V.S with direct T.V. And wifi. There are two centrally located hot tubs and many outdoor activities available onsite including fly fishing, horseback rides, and float trips. Other amaenities are horseshoe pits and a fire pit. Rockin' M is not just a place to stay but a genuine western wyoming experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockin' M Ranch Alpine, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing