We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place to stop on the way to Yellowstone” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flying Saddle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flying Saddle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stop on the way to Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We weren't expecting to stay here on our trip to Yellowstone, but a delayed flight meant we needed a place to stay that evening. But I'm glad we did! The surroundings are beautiful, the rooms large, comfortable and quiet. The staff were warm and welcoming. Even with jet lag I had a great night's sleep here.

I can't comment on the features of the resort, but as a place to stay a night this is a great place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    88
    29
    8
    10
See reviews for
75
90
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The "resort" is beautiful. The grounds are full of flowers & water features. It is an older motel, but that means larger rooms!! The restaurant was wonderful. The food was great & Curtis, our waiter, made us feel very welcome. It was nice not to have to load up the vehicle & go in search of a meal. The front desk was very helpful & quick to get us checked in & out. The only bummer, the cell service is sketchy at best. Otherwise, it was great & we will be back!!

Room Tip: Try to get around the main water feature -- it sounds so nice to fall asleep to running water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We try to stay at this resort when we are in the area. The staff is very friendly, the rooms clean and pleasant. The restaurant is great. We were tired and came in early. They were able to find a room that was ready.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here twice - the place has everything you need for a night stay. clean rooms, restaurant, area to walk, pool and jacuzzi. Staff is friendly. check in/check out was fast. You can get a breakfast for additional fee. Much cheaper area than Jackson - for the additional hour or so drive it was worth!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmett, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an older hotel in Alpine, Wyoming which has been refurbished in the last few years. This is a pet friendly hotel and extremely clean. We had a very relaxing stay. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brokewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was on a very long drive home and needed a place that fit my budget. I did not plan things well and ended up that I would be in the Jacksonhole area (expensive) for the night. Yeah, not in my budget. I found this place on Priceline-it was $52 a night. I was not expecting much for that price but figured it was just for the night. Pulled up and was like "score!", the lodging is along a river with some very pretty views. Check in very easy and woman was friendly. Room was HUGH. I could have been practicing ballroom dancing in it. There is a double sink and the tub had jets-I did not get a chance to try the tub because the hot tub was amazing. The hot tub is inside (I wish it was outside but it's so nice I bet they would get people from town sneaking in), with lights making the water teal and so many powerful jets the tub was churning. The tiling was the cleanest I have see in a hot tub. They close it at 9 but at check in she said if someone is in they keep it open-I wandered over at 9:10, it was open, I left at 10:20 and on my own. They totally let me soak. You cannot access the back yard area from your room (I wish they had doors) but if you walk around to the back they have some chairs under trees to sit and enjoy the pelicans flying over the water etc. For the price this was an amazing deal. The restaurant needs better and local beer (local microbreweries abound in the area), but the service and food was excellent. It was prime rib night but I kept looking at the Mongolian beef special with house made kimchee. I asked and the girl said she had had at least one from each table order it and no complaints and she had eaten it the night before and it was good-so I got that. This was no psuedo-mongolian BBQ buffet style dish-the cook totally nailed it and I would love to try some of his other asian dishes. Warning-it was very hot-so I would not get this for kids. The hotel has a very extensive wine and beer shop and a cute gift shop full of crafts. There is a continental breakfast. It is basic-bagels, toast, cereal, yogurt (organic!), and fruit. It is a drive from Jackson which if that is what you are coming for it is a bit out of the way, but in driving through I would rather stay here than in Jackson and use the money I saved for something else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serval_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a deluxe King room in the newer "tower/deluxe" section of the lodge and were given a first floor room in the back with the Snake river running behind it. Lovely. Stayed here 2 years ago during the "tourist" season, but since this stay was during the "off" season, we had the tower section all to ourselves.

A breakfast buffet had been included with our stay 2 years prior, but with this stay, it was a "continental" breakfast served in the lodge's main dining area.

The lodge is in a gorgeous setting, the rooms in the "deluxe" section are on a par with top-notch motels in any large city and every staff member we encountered was so pleasant and helpful. There is also a small gift shop with a delightful selection of items to choose from.

Would definitely return for a stay here again & highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 77gingergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
23.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
17.1 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
24.2 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
24.5 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#16 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Saddle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Saddle Resort

Property: Flying Saddle Resort
Address: 118878 US-89, Alpine, WY 83128
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying Saddle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Alpine, Wyoming resort offers spectacular mountain views, a steakhouse serving hand cut Black Angus beef, our famous all-you-can-eat salad bar, or relax in our western bar complete with saddle bar stools. Our relaxing and peaceful setting and convenient access to a wide variety of outdoor activities makes us the perfect choice for your next memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Flying Saddle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Saddle Hotel Alpine
Flying Saddle Alpine
Flying Saddle Resort Alpine, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing