We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Saddle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my wife and we enjoyed our stay. The room was exceptionally large, but sparsely furnished. We would have liked a couch or a couple of easy chairs. The employees were great, especially Kelly Stimson. Kelly really made our trip memorable by pointing out the local scenic places to drive to and see wildlife. Kelly works at the check-in desk and although she has only been there a short time she has made it her business to know the area. It's a short drive up to Jackson hole which makes the resort a good place to operate from. Thanks again to Kelly!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 118, but I think all the rooms are pretty good. Never heard anyone complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank irshmgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Perfect setting for a hotel. We didn't want to stay in Jackson, and this resort good value and quiet. Lobby area so western. Felt like a park setting with the river right out the door. Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Request room top floor to face the river. Our room faced buildings and wished we would have known th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I chose this "resort" as a place to stay overnight on my way from Yellowstone to Salt Lake City. The cost of the room was over $200 which I thought was steep for a run of the mill slightly above average room with a king bed. Now as mentioned, I didn't take advantage of the tennis court/ basketball court or go fishing out back. It borders the Snake River. The view of the river was ok and there was a small balcony with a slider to sit out there. Breakfast was not included and I would think for a hotel of that price for what you were getting it should be.
The staff that we encountered was polite and accommodating. I will give them good grades for that. Granted Jackson WY has many above average hotels which charge a handsome price for their rooms so that is probably what drives the price up for this place since it is the nicest place about one hour south of Jackson.
I would also suggest they carry more food items in the gift shop. The drive in liquor store really didn't come in handy for us.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Everything I read makes this place sound like it's the greatest place. Not so. It's ok. The best part is the Snake River runs right in back. Unless you have a room on the upper story you can't see it unless you walk out to it. That's ok. The rooms were ho-hum. Our toliet was pretty dirty inside. Looked like it needed a good cleaning but the seat and rim looked ok. Beds were not real comfortable and room was dated. I'm not sure we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sc1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The "pet" friendly rooms are off to the side of the whole complex and a small area behind the row of rooms provided for pets. All of the areas with water features and outside chairs, tables, gardens, etc., are signed off limits. Can't leave pets unattended in rooms, so the term "pet" friendly is debatable. At our family reunion of over 40 people, pet owners unable to join group. Beds are old & uncomfortable, jetted baths don't work...pet friendly rooms dated. On the "up" side. Beautiful location on the Snake river, lots of gardens, and breakfast buffet "to go" was pretty good. Had dinner via room service. Steak raw and cold..salad wilted. Not worth the expensive price tag.

Room Tip: Leave your furry friend home if you choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We weren't expecting to stay here on our trip to Yellowstone, but a delayed flight meant we needed a place to stay that evening. But I'm glad we did! The surroundings are beautiful, the rooms large, comfortable and quiet. The staff were warm and welcoming. Even with jet lag I had a great night's sleep here.

I can't comment on the features of the resort, but as a place to stay a night this is a great place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus_uk2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The "resort" is beautiful. The grounds are full of flowers & water features. It is an older motel, but that means larger rooms!! The restaurant was wonderful. The food was great & Curtis, our waiter, made us feel very welcome. It was nice not to have to load up the vehicle & go in search of a meal. The front desk was very helpful & quick to get us checked in & out. The only bummer, the cell service is sketchy at best. Otherwise, it was great & we will be back!!

Room Tip: Try to get around the main water feature -- it sounds so nice to fall asleep to running water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
17.9 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
131 reviews
23.6 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
24.5 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
24.3 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#21 of 40 in Jackson
1,202 reviews
17.5 mi away
Swiss Mountain Motel
Swiss Mountain Motel
#3 of 3 in Thayne
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Saddle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Saddle Resort

Address: 118878 Us-89, Alpine, WY 83128
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying Saddle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Alpine, Wyoming resort offers spectacular mountain views, a steakhouse serving Steak, Seafood and American food fare. During the summer months we have our famous all-you-can-eat salad bar. Our relaxing and peaceful setting and convenient access to a wide variety of outdoor activities makes us the perfect choice for your next memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Flying Saddle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Saddle Hotel Alpine
Flying Saddle Alpine
Flying Saddle Resort Alpine, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing