We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I remembered.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flying Saddle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We had stayed in this hotel twice in the past and would have given it 5 stars on those trips. On this trip it was disappointing. The room smelled like cigarettes and the shower was pitiful; no water pressure made it like showering with a water pic toothbrush. They had added a beautiful pool which the kids loved and the showers there were good so I showered there rather than the room. The staff was wonderful and the setting is fantastic. Jackson Hole is way too crowded and overpriced so Alpine is a great oasis in that respect. The kids wanted to swim so we skipped the restaurant and bought fried chicken at the local market instead.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pharmerbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the FSR the second week of June. It was great value and not a long drive from Jackson (36 miles south, all on a nice highway running parallel to the Snake River). I was often the only guest around! A room on the second floor overlooked the Snake River (more narrow than I thought as it gets ready to enter Idaho), just past the parking lot. Mountains were just beyond that. I sat on the balcony and watched deer and elk on the sides of the river, and at night watched a fantastic storm with lightening!

Marina (dining room), Kim (reception), Nicole (front desk), Sessily (shop and "drive-thru" liquor store) and Eric all were super helpful. The summer staff of European students was all very friendly too! I arrived at nearly 11 PM and, although the lobby was closed, there were clear instructions and my key waiting for me in a secure location. The room was large and very clean. Parking very close to my room (straight down from my balcony).

The breakfast buffet was a little limited, but I likely arrived after the busload had eaten. Coffee was complimentary, which is what I really needed. Good French toast, etc. Dinner menu featured a good selection. If the dining room was busy, eating in the bar was an option too.

Grounds were spread out and nicely landscaped; tennis courts and pool were centrally located. Lots of flowers and birds. The only time it got noisy was when a busload of guests pulled in about 11PM and there was lots of loud chatter as they all made their way to their rooms. It quieted down quickly, and I never heard them leave in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor on the river side are nice. Cabins looked cute and would be super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holeymolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our rooms overlooked the river and the mountains. Great food in the resturant. Staff very nice and accomodating. The hotel is beautifuly decorated. Great value and the grounds are nicely kept. A young summer worker helped us with our luggage to a great second floor room.

Room Tip: No elevators so ask for lower floors if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda-Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at this resort. Not among other places but was great. Beautiful setting on the Snake river with lounge chairs out back to enjoy the scenery. Pleasant front desk and very helpful. Great hot tub and other facilities, basketball, tennis, pool. The restaurant and lounge was very nice with great food and drinks. Restaurant only open on Sat. and Sun. Lounge open every day and still serves the same menu. Great price. We saw moose ---- right in front of the resort playing in the sprinklers. It was great. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of the office are by themselves and is where the moose came to feed. What an expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sealou711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed in a cabin at this resort and were so pleased we stayed a second night. Our cabin was very charming and we loved having a patio outside all to ourselves with pretty flowers to gaze at. Having the river close was awesome, though wish we could have fished from the bank...but it is too high. The resort has a grocery, liquor store, and items you might need right there for purchase. We ate at the restaurant for three meals -- all of which were very good. It might be a bit pricey, but my husband and I were on 11-day trip and this is the only place we stayed more than one night. Very comfortable and Alpine is a wonderful, beautiful little town. we did end up fishing in the Greys river! :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sherri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my wife and we enjoyed our stay. The room was exceptionally large, but sparsely furnished. We would have liked a couch or a couple of easy chairs. The employees were great, especially Kelly Stimson. Kelly really made our trip memorable by pointing out the local scenic places to drive to and see wildlife. Kelly works at the check-in desk and although she has only been there a short time she has made it her business to know the area. It's a short drive up to Jackson hole which makes the resort a good place to operate from. Thanks again to Kelly!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 118, but I think all the rooms are pretty good. Never heard anyone complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank irshmgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Perfect setting for a hotel. We didn't want to stay in Jackson, and this resort good value and quiet. Lobby area so western. Felt like a park setting with the river right out the door. Highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Request room top floor to face the river. Our room faced buildings and wished we would have known th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpine
17.9 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
131 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#13 of 40 in Jackson
621 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Snow King Resort
Snow King Resort
#20 of 40 in Jackson
1,203 reviews
24.2 mi away
Cowboy Village Resort
Cowboy Village Resort
#5 of 40 in Jackson
1,108 reviews
23.1 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#38 of 40 in Jackson
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Saddle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Saddle Resort

Address: 118878 Us-89, Alpine, WY 83128
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alpine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alpine
Price Range: £69 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying Saddle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Alpine, Wyoming resort offers spectacular mountain views, a steakhouse serving Steak, Seafood and American food fare. During the summer months we have our famous all-you-can-eat salad bar. Our relaxing and peaceful setting and convenient access to a wide variety of outdoor activities makes us the perfect choice for your next memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flying Saddle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Saddle Hotel Alpine
Flying Saddle Alpine
Flying Saddle Resort Alpine, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing