We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rustic lodge”

Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is an excellent choice if you wish to visit an area to ski or hike, and want a clean, quiet, place to sleep. Friendly, 24 hour, front desk service and comfortable beds are important to me and I experienced both here. I appreciated the instant flow of hot water from the shower instead of having to wait for the pipes to get warm. Large screen, cable TV enables in room entertainment for inclement weather. They no longer have in-room fireplaces, but the lobby has a nice gas fireplace and the nearby check-in building has free PC access to print out your airline tickets, along with free coffee anytime. Be aware that there is only one road to the lodge and the ski area is at the end of the road. The only night life is The Trap Bar and Grill and the closest town is Driggs, about 13 miles away, so if you are a party person, you will need a car. The scenery is wonderful and the area is famous for its light fluffy and deep powder snow. With 2000 feet of vertical, the area has about half that of Jackson, but there is plenty of skiing here for beginning kids, intermediates and experts. I've visited here for a day in the winter, while on week long trips to Jackson , and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We recently spent 7 nights in this hotel and booked a great deal through the Grand Targhee resort that included lift tickets and cat skiing.

First the good:

Front desk open 24 hours and staffed with friendly, knowledgable people. Easy check in process. Clean room, comfortable beds. Nice towels and linens with daily maid service. Hotel is ski in-ski out and definately convenient. In room ski storage and boot warmer. Two restaurants for evening meals, decent menus and prices. There is a small grocery store and nice sports shop on site. Pool and hot tub for guests, workout room small but adequate. All the resort staff we met were friendly and helpful.

Needs improvement:

The lobby for the Teewinot Lodge is used by day skiers as a meeting place and general hang out. Forget reading a book by the fire in the lobby if you have non-skiers with you looking for a break from the room. On Saturday, there were approximately 40 people including small children running up and down the hallways and stairs, in the lobby. Nursing mothers, crying babies, families eating and surfing the free internet the resort offers. Sunday saw more folks picnicing with crock pots, not kidding, and several people sprawled out over the couches sleeping. A small boy in pajamas was running around like a nut case in circles. I asked a maintenance person why the lobby was not secured and accessible by key card only and he shrugged and said that's just the way it is. When I tried to fill up my ice bucket, a day skier was in the process of emptying the ice machine in to his cooler. Truly, this is a deal breaker for me to return here. I paid roughly $125 per night to stay here, and was irritated this behavior is tolerated. The resort needs to build a day lodge for day skiers and let their overnight guests enjoy the few amenities there are here. We live in a ski resort community and are very familiar with how hotels keep day skiers in confined areas. It would not be difficult to change the culture and install a card reader at the front door for access, most hotels have these security measures in place.

No refrigerator or microwave in the room. We met an older couple who has been coming here for years who bring a hot plate and cooler to supplement meals. There is plenty of space for both these items in the cutout by the boot warmer, most low end hotels now offer at least these items, and it seems logical for a quick breakfast or heating up soup for lunch. The rental agreement states no cooking in rooms, but almost everyone we met staying there had a way to heat up food and a cooler. Make it easier for people and families to stay and provide basic food prep appliances.

Be aware:

Driggs, Idaho is about twenty minutes from the resort. Nice restaurants in town, try Tony's, and a very nice supermarket, but no shopping is open on Sundays, save Family Dollar. There is a convenient shuttle service that runs to town every hour or so, full of skiers on the weekends, but available throughout the week with minimum hassle. Take a day to go over the hill to Jackson Hole and explore the Grand Teton/Yellowstone area. This truly is a beautiful part of the country, and very hospitable people here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Divecozumel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My wife and I were traveling through Wyoming after visiting Yellowstone Park and were looking for a room in Jackson (Hole) Wyoming and looked on Hotels.com and found "Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee" with an Alta Wyoming address. Since I have encountered smaller "burb" swallowed up by another town or city, I wrongly "ASSUMED" that was the case with Alta. That assumption cost us 80+ miles and 3 hours (round trip) of driving from Jackson to Alta thru the Teton mountains and over a pass to get to our hotel room, because there is only one way to get there. Additonally, there is almost no signage and the addriess will cause your GPS to go out of it's gord.

Lesson Learned - Don't rely on Hotels.com to find a room when you are tired.

On a more positive note, the property is Very nice as well as quiet and serene at the time we were there. The staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities so nice we wished we had more time to stay and enjoy them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Teewinot Lodge for two nights in February 2012.

The lodge is at the base of Grand Targhee Ski Area at the very end of Ski Hill Road (do not believe the location map in tripadvisor). You can ski in to the front door of the Lodge and it is about 100yds to the bottom of the Dreamcatcher lift.

The room was basic, with a very small bathroom, however was very clean and had very comfortable beds. Service was great - we had a problem with the bedside lights which was fixed within about ten minutes.

This is not a hotel, and has the feeling of a past era, however nothing wrong with that.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

although this place advertises they are 15 miles from Jackson, in reality they are about 60 mountain driving miles away. That means about 90 minutes to 2 hours to arrive there when you're probably expecting it to be a 20 to 30 minute drive.

Since it is in the middle of nowhere, there is little to do there (unless if you are going there during skiing season).

When I called to make reservations there, I told them I needed to be at the airport by 5 in the morning, and they assured me it was only 17 miles away. When I discovered how far it actually was, I requested to cancel my reservations so I could stay somewhere closer to Jackson. The manager would not allow me to cancel for the refund, so I spent a lot of unanticipated on the road.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MNDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed two nights at Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort, WY.. Enjoyed the mountains tremendously. However, the service was unusual: is it this hotel's policy, not to enter the room to make beds, empty trash, or pick up used towels - we are not asking for new towels, just pick up the ones that had been used-?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1kearsarge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
18
Reviewed 15 February 2005

Teewinot, located in the small resort of Grand Targhee is a nice little hotel. Older, but clean and quite functional.

This is a skier's paradise as the entire village is apparently owned/operated by the same company. Once you check in, you don't need your wallet for anything. Charge dinner, ski rentals, lunch, sundries, etc to your room.

The hotel lobby at the Teewinot is very cozy with a huge fireplace and couches/tables for relaxing or gaming.

It is not glamourous by any stretch of the imagination, but you're there to ski, right? So convenient, you can ski right to the door, lean your skis up outside and go to your room for lunch or breaks during the day. Once you park your car, you won't need it again until you leave.

Staff is very polite and helpful. I hear they're going to be building 800+ more rooms in this area, so this peaceful area is going to change soon.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
4.5 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
716 reviews
8.6 mi away
Best Western Teton West
15.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort

Address: 3300 E Skihill Rd, Alta, WY 83414-4570
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: £142 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teewinot Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort Wyoming/Alta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing