We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad the snow was great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Glad the snow was great”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a loft Studio at Sioux Lodge. I had expected something a little more comfortable and probably better appointed. For example there is a microwave and small fridge, but no crockery or cutlery whatsoever. We ended up buying a few things in Driggs so that we could eat our breakfast cereal, have cup of tea etc. We did notice that some of the guests seemed to have brought their entire kitchens with them on trailers - obviously that message hadn't got through to us! I didn't get one comfortable night's sleep whilst we were there - a combination of the bed and noise from outside. Definitely a place to focus on the snow and be prepared to bring your own kitchen.

Room Tip: Check out what's available in your room - there may not be as much as you think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you like the hustle and bustle of a ski town with lots of nightlife, dancing, drinking, restaurants and such, then Move Along, there is nothing for you here!

If however, you are here to Ski Powder, then my friend, you have come to the right place.
Grand Targhee Ski Resort is the quiet little secret on the other side of the hill from Jackson Hole that has been wowing people for years.

The lift served resort is not as challenging as, say Jackson Hole, or Big Sky, but makes up for it by consistently delivering powder ski days most of the season (this year may be the exception)

We having been frequenting this resort for the past 7 years and consider it our favorite place to ski powder.

The resort consists of 3 areas for lodging (Teewinot, Grand Targhee, and Sioux Lodges), a main building, the Steak House, Trapper Bar, a breakfast place, a few stores and that is it.

The Sioux Lodge has slope side accommodations that are very adequate for the skiing vacation. The Studio that we normally reserve has a king-sized bed along with a set of bunk beds just off the entry way. They also have larger accommodations for the larger families.

Very nice location with a lift right down a small hill, and very good rooms, although there is No Cooking in the rooms and no fireplaces. When we first came they had a fireplace, cooking area and sink; these have been taken out because of the difficulty in getting the fireplaces started (kind of an rounded Adobe affair) and the issues with plumbing problems.

To summarize, the Sioux Lodge is excellent for you stay at the resort. The only downside is that you are a captive of the food offerings at the resort, the Branding Iron Steak House features very good food albeit a little pricey, the Trap Bar which has burgers and typical bar food, Snorkels which is a place to go for breakfast and lunch and the cafeteria during the days. I see from the website that they have added Happy Hunting Ground to add some variety to the mix.

Overall a wonderful experience for the kids as well as adults since you can come into your condominium during the day to warm up little hands and feet or take a nap during the day.

We have spoken to so many people that started coming here when they were children it has become a family tradition for many families.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor is the best for a great view of the national forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Printbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

I loved the Sioux Lodge Suites at The Grand Targhee Resort. We were right across the parking lot from the slopes and restaurants. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a nice setup. There was a mini fridge and microwave in the room. If you had kids, there was a set of bunkbeds in the space just inside the door. There was little to no noise from the surrounding rooms. There was a loud group cheering on The Olympics one level down but we didn't hear one peep in our room. The only small complaint was that it took forever to heat the room. Kristina at check-in was very friendly and knowledgeable. The spa was very resonable in price. Tasha gave a great pedicure. I was also thinking that it would be a beautiful place in the summer. There are several trails surrounding the resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dknighto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Rooms have obviously a great location, you can directly ski home. However, rooms are bit worn and a bit blunt.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farfaraway99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Sioux Lodge for 3 days. The Lodge is like a condo, we were on the second floor (no elevators so lugging up baggage and skis was not a picnic )However, the room was large , and clean (if somewhat challenged in Interior design) The "kitchenette" had a microwave, small fridge and coffee maker but no utensils or dishes. No problem, we ate at the restaurant or cafe. both of wich were fine and priced reasonably. and well-staffed. Now, the great part..it snowed every day, the weather wasn't too cold, lifts are excellent and no lift-lines whatsoever. Finally had a chance to ski in real powder so I took a lesson with Melissa and it was fantastic. Loved the place and would go back.
At Grand Targhee, you stay at the resort or you can stay down mountain a short drive in tiny Alta. At the bottom of the mountain is the fair-sized town of Driggs

  • Liked — large and convenient
  • Disliked — rather unattrative, no elevator
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailandnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
4.5 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
70 reviews
20.0 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort
15.4 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort

Property: Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort
Address: 3300 E Skihill Rd, Alta, WY 83414-4570 (Formerly Sioux Lodge Condominiums)
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sioux Lodge SuitesThis All-Suite hotel offers a variety of larger room types tastefully decorated in contemporary western design. With a little more room to stretch out and relax, the Studio, Loft, and 2 bedroom suites each feature a full bath with tub, private balcony, flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave oven, coffee maker, and complimentary wireless internet access.StudioStudio suites feature casual, contemporary western furnishings and sleep up to four with a queen bed, bunk bed in alcove and full bath with tub. The suites have a living area with chair & ottoman, table and chairs, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, flat screen television, telephone, and complimentary wireless internet. Studio suites measure 400 sq. ft.LoftThe Loft suites feature casual, contemporary western furnishings and sleep four with a double bed in an open loft area, bunk bed in alcove and full bath with tub on the main floor. The suites have a living area with sofa, coffee table, table and chairs, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, flat screen television, telephone, and complimentary wireless internet. Loft suites measure 500 sq. ft.2 Bedroom SuitesThese bi-level suites feature casual, contemporary western furnishings and sleep up to eight people. The living area, ½ bath, and pull down queen Murphy bed are located on the main level with 2 rooms and full bath on lower level. One bedroom has a queen bed and the other bedroom sleeps four with 2 bunk beds. The suites have a living area with love seat, coffee table, table and chairs, mini-refrigerator, flat screen television, coffee maker, telephone, and complimentary wireless internet. 2 Bedroom suites measure 800 sq. ft. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort Wyoming/Alta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing