We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Targhee Resort
Nearby Hotels
Teton Teepee Lodge(Alta)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Driggs(Driggs)(Great Value!)
US$133
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teton Springs Lodge and Spa(Victor)(Great Value!)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,117
FourSeasons.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhof Lodge(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snake River Lodge and Spa(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn at Jackson Hole(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort(Teton Village)(Great Value!)
US$470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Creek Ranch(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$417
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$402
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
77
52
34
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
52
34
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjackson holeski lifttrap barbranding ironchair liftteewinot lodgesioux lodgesnow conditionsamazing snowidaho fallsfresh powdergreat pool and hot tubmountain topviews are fantasticgeneral storelift ticketsski area
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I stayed at Targhee for about 5 days in September. Plenty of good hiking and other outdoorsy things to do (the views are a must-see!).

To others' comments, yes it is hard to get to, only ATT cell phones work, an there is little to no night life, but go into your experience at Targhee with the knowledge that this place is a hidden gem, not a tourist Mecca.

I found the food to be very satisfying, the staff polite and very helpful, and the ammenities like the heated saltwater pool and sauna were very nice.

All in all, I had a very pleasant experience. I'm makin it a point to come back to Targhee during ski season as I've heard great things about the powder there.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jforbes84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Mountain staff was very friendly and courteous, rooms we had was spaceous and clean.

Easy access to the lodges, shops and ski lift.

Absolutely awesome views from every where - and even saw a moose on the road!

Great golf courses in the valley and a brew pub nearby

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The view from the top of the mountain is beautiful. We attended a Naturalist talk. She told us about the geology and biology of the area. We stayed at the Teewinot Lodge at the foot of the mountain. Our room was clean and comfortable. The free WIFI worked great. The lodge is cozy with a very welcoming and comfortable common room at entry. We had great breakfasts at the Branding Iron Grill and enjoyed drinks and snacks at the Trap Bar and Grill. Everyone we met was friendly and accommodating. All in all, we had a very enjoyable long weekend getaway in September at Grand Targhee Resort. My only complaints were that there was not much night life so you have to make your own. Oh, and some people's cell phones didn't work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauragaleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had booked 5 days in the Lodge. Walking in to this "condo" was very depressing. Sparse furnishings and this was no condo. We were staying for 5 days and had planned on making a few meals. There was only a microwave and small fridge like you find in any hotel room. No sink. This unit is supposed to sleep 8 but the seating is just a love seat. There is a table with 4 chairs. Floor and furnishing is brown and worn and sainted. Lighting is only a few wall sconces. Down stairs is 2 cramped bedrooms. One with queen bed and small dresser and a rod to hang things on. The other bedroom had 2 bunk ends and nothing else. Very small bathroom with no room to put anything.

Aside from being cramped, old and depressing, it was dirty. Bathroom had hair on the floor and sink backsplash had toothpaste on it. It was never cleaned the whole time we were there. There was also the more serious issue of safety. Downstairs in this unit had a window in each bedroom that had been nailed shut so no where to escape if there was a fire. I'm also pretty sure that the smoke alarms were not working as no light showed on either one. One looked like it was the original.

The free breakfast was adequate. The staff was pleasant enough. We usually didn't get asked for a refill on the coffee. The most pleasant surprise we had was the dinner we had there on our last night. It was very good and service was excellent.

I'm sure if a group of people come to ski and they don't care about the room it would be a good thing. This place is in need of a serious update.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My husband and I spend a lot of time looking for a reasonably priced hotel to go to Yellowstone National Park. We found this was one of the better priced/available options.

GPS did on work on helping us find the resort. Google Maps directed us to the bottom of the mountain that the resort was at. And let me say RESORT is a bit on an exaggeration.

Here are the positives: great place to visit - good views, hiking trails, and dinner at the single restaurant on site was delicious. The staff was also for the most part generally positive. We found that the front desk people were positive and helpful. At the restaurant we were served by a young man on the first night who provided good recommendations on places to see. The young lady in the morning was also very cheerful and helpful - although she was working by herself. Beds were extremely comfortable to sleep on, everything was clean and the water pressure was good.

Now for the downsides:
There was one restaurant open; the bar and coffee shop on site were not open while we were there. I will say it is a Ski Resort but if it is going to be open in summer - it should be open fully. The breakfast that was included was good the first morning - everything looked fresh; but the second morning had me wondering if we were eating leftovers.

This resort appears to have no rooms with king beds. We asked to upgrade when we arrived to a room with a king bed and were told there were none but the queen we book. We were surprised about this for a few reasons: 1. There were very few vehicles in the lot and 2. There were 3 buildings on site with rooms and 3. Normally resorts don't mind doing upgrades if the customer is paying. We were put in a Targhee Lodge room above a family who had checked in before us. Upon arriving in our room, we discovered our "queen" beds were in fact doubles, and the room was so dated - we wondered about the beds and the cleanliness (all good though). The shower was so low that I couldn't stand under it at 5'5" so you can imagine how my 6'4" husband felt. The fake wood panels and old furniture gave it a rustic retro look. It likely has not been updated since 1969, and it desperately needs updating - especially sound proofing. We could hear the family below us and when a couple, who checked in late, was put beside us, we could hear their conversations clearly through the wall and door that adjoined the rooms.

Beware if you book this place during summer...and avoid booking or being put in a room in Targhee Lodge. I cannot speak to the other buildings on site.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDaisy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTargheeResort, Manager at Grand Targhee Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to Grand Targhee Resort and we truly value your feedback. During our last week of summer operations we do operate on a limited basis due to demand. We do make a point to get this information out as best we can via web site, phone message and through employees answering calls. We do have future plans for updates on our rooms and just this spring we replace all mattresses in the Targhee Lodge with new ones. We strive to make up for our rustic charm with guest service, clean rooms and a great experience. While we do not offer any king size beds at the resort and we guarantee that all mattresses in Targhee Lodge are queens. We are in the process of providing an easy way to upgrade guests who have purchased room through a booking engine other than ours. Thank you again for your feedback. Grand Targhee Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews