We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but way out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Targhee Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alta
PA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice enough but way out of the way”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Listen to the other reviews that say that this hotel is way out of the way. We knew that going in but figured that there would be enough to do on our last day of vacation that we could stick around the resort and enjoy it and relax before going home. Unfortunately, they don't serve breakfast except for on Saturday and Sunday and there really isn't a lot to do in the summer. They do have horseback riding, hiking, and a ski lift, but with the exception of hiking everything costs extra. The pool is heated and very nice as is the very large hot tub. It looks like a nice place to ski during the winter, but for the summer seems to be kind of dead. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed at the Targhee Lodge and it included two Queen sized beds and a bathroom with a shower only.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writersblock42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    46
    29
    13
    7
See reviews for
63
52
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in March. Room was fine, plenty of room for storing all your gear and nice and quiet.

Only a couple of places to eat up at Targhee - either the main restaurant which is great but a bit pricey or the bar which is good and has a great selection of beers in.

Where this place comes into it's own is when it dumps as you are right there first in line without having to struggle up the access road.

Only downside was taking an hour to dig our car out after getting dumped on for 3 days!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IainMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Love the mountain and the amount of snow they get. Love the scenery. We did not stay at the resort (stayed off campus), so I cannot comment on the accommodations. The staff in the activity center were all friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Grand Targhee is definitely a sweet spot to ski. Great terrain and no lines. It is fair to say that Targhee Lodge is far from luxurious. It is literally a motel-style lodge at the base of the hill that was probably built 30 years and not much has changed since then. Having said that, we knew this was the situation in advance and had no issues with it. You are there to ski, not have a scandavian spa experience. The staff was very friendly and everything you need is a 2min walk.

Room Tip: Teewinot lodge is supposed to be renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sure_shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After hearing from friends what a great place to ski, we decided to visit and stay at the Grand Targhee Resort. Although the skiing was incredible: no lines at the lifts, deep powder, lots of area to ski, friendly staff, the accommodations leave a lot to be desired. Staying at the lodge is extremely loud and the Targhee Lodge itself is very old & in need of a lot of TLC. Also, the food options are extremely limited. With no fridge in the rooms, you are somewhat forced to eat out. And if you have children, there is only 1 restaurant for dinner that will allow people under 21 years old to enter. This combination makes for great skiing but very poor accommodations.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer lodge and avoid having your bedroom window face the parking lot area. Also bring a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I spent 6 full days on-site at Grand Targhee in early March, 2014. The weather and snow were great, the amenities very nice, clean and affordable, and the people were very friendly and accommodating. We plan on hopefully going back next winter!

Helpful?
Thank BE-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port orange
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at Grand Targhee on their 4 night ski & stay package in January 2014. We stayed in the the newer lodge, the Teewinot ($185 per night, $50 bucks more per day, but worth it), Rooms were up to date, clean and a decent size. No crowds, beginner hill is great for the kids, blues were true blues, and the Trap bar had good happy hour specials every night. Hope to get back there next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenkowntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
4.6 mi away
Teton Teepee Lodge
Teton Teepee Lodge
#1 of 4 in Alta
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Teewinot Lodge at Grand Targhee Resort
0.0 mi away
Sioux Lodge At Grand Targhee Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
23.5 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
15.4 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Targhee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Targhee Resort

Property: Grand Targhee Resort
Address: 3300 E Skihill Rd, Alta, WY 83414-4570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Targhee Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Targhee Resort is a year round mountain resort situated on the western slope of the Tetons in Alta, Wyoming, accessible only through Teton Valley, Idaho. Located in the Caribou-Targhee National Forest, the abundance of light powder snow (more than 500 inches annually) and lack of lift lines creates a great mountain experience with plenty of elbow room. The Resort is continually recognized for its great snow, genuine western hospitality, scenic beauty, excellent value and commitment to sustainability.During the winter, Grand Targhee is your Powder Paradise in the Heart of the Tetons averaging over 500 inches of champagne powder a year and the wide open slopes will provide endless opportunities for exploration! There are two mountains for you to explore with over 2,000 acres of lift served terrain, over 2,270 vertical feet, and an additional 600 acres of terrain reserved exclusively for Snowcat Adventures. Make sure to check out their other snow activities including dinner and a sleigh ride, 15K of Nordic skiing, fat “snow” bikes, daily snowshoe tours with the Resort Naturalist and a full line-up of après music at the Trap. The mountain is about an hour drive from Jackson Hole, WY, an hour and a half from Idaho Falls, ID, and only a short 5 hour drive from Salt Lake City, UT.During the summer you’ll find a wide variety of activities to keep the whole family content. From scenic chair rides, mountain bike trails, outdoor pool and hot tub to a rock climbing wall, horseback rides, fly fishing, dining, shopping and more, you’ll never find down time while at Grand Targhee Resort. Our mountainside accommodations offers quick access to biking and hiking trails and offer a central location for you to book any summer activity you can think of. Grand Targhee Resort is a magical setting for weddings and is ideal group gatherings and business conferences. With our breathtaking scenery, clean air and our secluded feel, you will be able to step away from the stresses of everyday life in our idyllic alpine setting. Four separate meeting rooms of varying capacity and our mountainside conference tent combines over 9000 sq. ft of conference space. Our full time concierge and conference planners can arrange everything from accommodations to meals, activities, meeting rooms, theme parties, off-site world renowned fly fishing excursions, golfing, and mountain bike guided tours. We have something for every outdoor enthusiast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Targhee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Targhee Hotel Alta
Grand Targhee Resort Wyoming/Alta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing