We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine restaurant”

Orquestra de Panelas
Ranked #180 of 7,261 Restaurants in Porto Alegre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Moinhos de Vento
Description: The atmosphere is taken from a bistro. The 20's house, climatized, with large windows, authentic floor and adornment, fireplace and focalized lighting, has an appropriate ambiance for a romantic dinner. In it's contemporary menu, the highlights are fishes, steaks and lambs. It's an apreciate local for business lunch.
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine restaurant”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The food could be better. The location is good, decor hasn't change since the place opened several years ago. The menu seems to be the same, too. There are many good chefs in town nowadays, and surprises are welcome. Something has to improve. Food was fine, but there is no special reason to wish to come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GJobim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    51
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very simple, with great food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's kind of dificult to find, because it is a small door with stairs untill you reach the restaurant door, wich is always closed. So you have to ring the bell... After getting in you will find a nice place to have a relaxing and very good qualitu meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uruguaiana, RS
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Experiencia agradavel no M oinhos”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Really good place with nice atmosphere and
Good food. The duck was great today!
It is a cult place with relax !
The people are cool

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPadoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brasil
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A pleasant place”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great food, calm ambience. It's nice to be there. Maybe a little expensive.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sinfonia de prazer!”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Trip advisor scoes again! I was told be a friend to check out R. Pedro Chagas but didn't see anything exiting on first pass. But after checking here, this came up and the English review sounded great so I gave it a try. The owner and two waiters provided excellent service and recommendations. I had the Bacalhao na Chapa because I can't get cod done well at home and it was amazing. In case you do not speak Portuguese - the name of the restaurant is Orchestra of Pot & Pans and my title above is Sympony of Flavors which it was - pan fried with sautéed onions, peppers and olives....mmmm. There were many other tasty looking choices. A must for a visitor or a local in my book.

Myonly regret? I've been coming to Brazil for over 10 years and this is my first and possibly my only trip to Porto Alegre so I won't have a chance to go back. The staff seemed to know many of their customers well so obviously others do return frequently!

Note: I gave it a 5 on value. I ordered most pricy item on menu plus appetizer, beer, mineral water and desert. Total price with service was R$ 99. Some might call that pricy, I thought it was worth every centavo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AuxTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orquestra de Panelas also viewed

Porto Alegre, RS
 
Porto Alegre, RS
 

Been to Orquestra de Panelas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing