We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive, comfortable and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive, comfortable and great service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We loved the atmosphere, the space and design of the room and the bathroom, the professional, warm and respectful attitude of the staff and for sure the fresh and delicious breakfast . We also liked the location of the hotel downtown very close to the public market.

Room Tip: Just enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100Samuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    108
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
16
12
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights during the recent World Cup. The reception staff were great with nearly all of them speaking very good English. Room was clean - we were on a higher floor (12th floor from memory) and we had a view over the city. Chocolates were left on our pillow each night - maid service & bell boys were excellent. Breakfast had a good selection - and wait staff there were very efficient. Wi fi signal I found was good only in the lobby (not in hotel room). Reception lent me an additional adaptor connection as the power points are recessed & my Australian adaptor plugs were not long enough - this was appreciated. Great little mezzanine level bar/restaurant just off the lobby which we ate at on 2 nights. Walking distance to shops/restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good size rooms, clean and tidy. The staff here were amazing, helpful, friendly and spoke good English. The wifi internet was good and reliable. The breakfast was fairly extensive and good for hotel standards. The hotel location is quite convenient and walking distance to almost everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

During the World Cup I stayed in nine hotels on tour and rate this one of the best. The Hotel Plaza Porto Alegre was a breath of fresh air after Cuiaba. I could not fault this hotel; the staff, restaurant, wifi, breakfast, shower and room were all first rate. The staff at reception and in the restaurant were fabulous, always willing to assist. There was also a constant security presence at the hotel entrance which was also appreciated. First rate guys.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A smallish hotel in downtown Porto Alegre where I stayed two nights. At arrival the service was effective and polite. The bellboy took my gear up to the room and showed how aircon was working. Heating was needed as the night temperature went down to 8C and the windows were single. The room was clean. I had a nice view over the bay. The internet was decent and free of charge. Minibar with a normal assortment. At late arrival I went to have dinner at the restaurant. The choices were rather limited and the food average. Wen breakfasting in this type of countries (warm!) I just eat mangoes, papayas etc. ad do not look that much to anything else. The fruit selection was wonderful.

The hotel is kind of modest and not for people who are after luxury, but good value for money.

Room Tip: ask for the bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kotikontu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Having never been to Brazil and staying there for an extended period for work, it was important for us to find a clean, secure and moderately priced place downtown. Not a small feat! This place nailed it, nonetheless.

The location is great. You're right in the heart of Porto Alegre-near the downtown, markets, main church, and a short ride to the airport and World Cup stadium. The hotel is incredibly clean (surprising for many hotels in SA), and the maids are more than accommodating to our needs despite the language barrier. The breakfast is incredible and the hotel restaurant is fairly priced and has great (and safe) options on the menu. The rooms are air conditioned well, the bed was comfortable and the view great. Our windows opened for fresh air which was wonderful, and there was also a stocked mini-bar in the room. The shower had good water pressure and the water was safe. Plenty of outlets and the power only cut once.

The internet was slow, but worked. The rooms did not have safes in them, so I suggest you bring your own little one and hide it in your coat pocket. The front desk staff has trouble with English so make sure you have a translator app or book on you (I suggest the google translate app because then they can speak in Portuguese into your phone and it will translate right away into English). There's no coin laundry and the gym/pool is in another building, but it's a trade off for a great, safe and clean hotel in SA.

Overall, I would highly suggest this place if you're headed to Porto Alegre.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LynnJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,726 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Located in the degraded center of Porto Alegre, this hotel as it is smaller, seemed a more intimate option than other bigger ones nearby, but, we did regret the choice. The stay was not good, mainly due to poor attendance (staff not polite) and lack of higiene of the room and other facilities (though our room seemed quite modern). Not a good value for money, because they don´t offer much in terms of services.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcelostein84, Public Relations Manager at Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
We hope to welcome you again to change your negative impression. We are continuously working to improve our infrastructure and to continue improving ourselves with a team absolutely committed to service excellence. The Historic Centre of Porto Alegre has been revitalized, with areas fully restored, with new and beautiful places to visit. Across the street Square Otavio Rocha will be delivered throughout the community restored and well lit, extremely pleasant place to be at. Sincerely, Cláudia Hörbe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
0.1 mi away
Plaza Sao Rafael Hotel
Plaza Sao Rafael Hotel
#11 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
#28 of 78 in Porto Alegre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental Business
Hotel Continental Business
#50 of 78 in Porto Alegre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Master Express Alberto Bins
Master Express Alberto Bins
#64 of 78 in Porto Alegre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
#31 of 78 in Porto Alegre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Deville Prime Porto Alegre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel

Property: Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel
Address: Rua Senhor dos Passos 154 | Centro, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90020-180, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Porto Alegre
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto Alegre
#16 Business Hotel in Porto Alegre
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Porto Alegre Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing