We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, IF...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
Ranked #32 of 78 Hotels in Porto Alegre
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good, IF...”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pros: good location, in downtown historic district. 5 mins from Cathedral, nice town squares, the old Sao Pedro theatre (which has an excellent, and popular, buffet lunch), not far from port (where you can take a pleasant trip on the scheduled catamaran service). Friendly staff. Fairly decent buffet breakfast (on 16th floor, with good views of the port.) Good value for money. (It was about half the price of the Sheraton. The Sheraton looks new and plush, and is in a trendy shopping and restaurant area, but I wanted to stay near the historic centre.)

Cons: the hotel has two parts, the old part and the new part. There is a huge difference between them. I booked an 'executive double' and, from the photos on the hotel website, it looked as if Id booked a new room. Not so. I was given a room in the old part. it was big, but old, cold, and noisy (the hotel is right next to a major and busy road.) I did ask if I could be moved, but the hotel was full. After a couple of nights they found me a room in the new part (at no extra charge: thank you, Bruno). The difference was night and day. The new rooms are just what youd find in somewhere like a Sheraton (though no iron or ironing board, I noticed).

So, a very good hotel IF you stay in one of the new rooms. I suspect you may have to select a 'luxury' room on the website. I wish I had done so originally (it wouldnt have cost much more than the simple 'executive double' I booked.)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VayaConDiosAmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    133
    82
    14
    5
See reviews for
37
40
22
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

yes, it is central but very noisy. when renovating they did not put in any sound proof windows. it really felt like sleeping in the middle of a highway.
they tried to accomodate me in another room but would not want to upgrade. breakfast ok, nothing special. slowest and most bureaucratic checkin ever. staff is trying to be helpful. wireless internet working ok. unlike elsewhere in Brazil no US electricity plugs in the room.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Palmengarten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osasco, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed there for three nights with my mother and aunt. The location is very good, near the main tourist attractions downtown. Staff was extremely helpful, Debora, the concierge gave us very good suggestions on what to do. The bedrooms were comfortable but mine was a little outdated, but my mother and aunt stayed in one of the renovated rooms. The showers were great. Breakfast was excellent but I wouldn´t recommend dinner there. Although the staff is so friendly, service was very slow and the food was just ok. There are good restaurants nearby, so you should try them.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Analu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, Mg
Level 6 Contributor
966 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed for three days in May 2012 and were pleased with renovated rooms and excellent bed, great showers and wifi free. The breakfast is included and it's delicious.The hotel is located in the city center a few steps of Catedral, Piratini Palace . The staff is pretty good. In fact,is a good place to stay and Restaurante Açores in 16th floor has a nice view of Guaiba Bay.I love it.

Room Tip: rooms in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiao478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here twice in March 2012 and were pleased with both rooms - one in the older but renovated part of the hotel and the other in the new wing. Both had comfortable beds, great showers, were spacious and clean. The newer room was much larger with an armchair and footrest, DVD player and large screen TV.
The views are better on the higher floors. Because of the newer type of blinds installed in the new wing, street noise was very well muffled.
Breakfast on the 16th floor was one of the best we had in our 2 1/2 months of travel in Brazil. Staff was helpful and pleasant.
Location was good for shopping, for visiting art galleries and museums and the Mercado Publico.
We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Altough the appearance of the building when arriving leaves you in doubt, once you get in the room the impression is other. They have been recently renovated and eveything you need is there. The hotel is well located , nearby city center. It is a pity the staff is not as well prepared , attention is sometimes slow. But overall a good place to stay

Room Tip: The wiew is nicer if you ask for a room located higher than the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

in the classic porto alegre downtown, the hotel is a building that is at least 70 years old. it has been renovated and is in good shape, but don't expect more than a clean, well located place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlent68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Alegre hotels
0.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
Tulip Inn Porto Alegre
#28 of 78 in Porto Alegre
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eko Residence Hotel
Eko Residence Hotel
#10 of 78 in Porto Alegre
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Master Premium Grande Hotel
Master Premium Grande Hotel
#43 of 78 in Porto Alegre
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Regent Suites
Harbor Hotel Regent Suites
#30 of 78 in Porto Alegre
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Porto Alegre
Comfort Porto Alegre
#16 of 78 in Porto Alegre
793 reviews
0.9 mi away
Garibaldi Business Hotel
Garibaldi Business Hotel
#22 of 78 in Porto Alegre
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everest Porto Alegre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everest Porto Alegre Hotel

Property: Everest Porto Alegre Hotel
Address: Rua Duque de Caxias 1357, Porto Alegre, State of Rio Grande do Sul 90010-283, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio Grande do Sul > Porto Alegre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Porto Alegre
#17 Business Hotel in Porto Alegre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Everest Porto Alegre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel has a privileged location, is located in the noble area in the Historic Center of the city. A block from the Metropolitan Cathedral, the Theatro São Pedro, Piratini Palace and the Legislative Assembly. Access to the Hotel's main points of arrival in the city is fast and easy. Is only 15 minutes far from Salgado Filho Airport and 10 minutes from the bus station. The apartments have air conditioning, king size bed, cable TV, minibar, digital telephone with voice mail, Internet wi-fi, safe box and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Everest Porto Alegre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everest Porto Alegre Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing