We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALMOST PERFECT!”
Review of Pousada Penareia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada Penareia
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I spent with 2 friends of mine some days here in January 2012. Sorry for delay but I really want tripadvisor readers to know about this amazing pousada.
Clean, good breakfast, 2 steps from the Armacao Beach (very calm, if you want movida go to Lagoa or Ingleses for example). We paid for a three bed just in front to the beach and we had a little garden with a table and chair and hammock to chill outside. Also a barbecue was provided.
The owner, Klaus, is extremely kind and full of good advices for every kind of needs.
Pls remind that you are in the "not so funny area" so if you want something more exciting in terms of pubs, discos, bars and so on this is not your place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moniain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I were looking for a quiet spot for the weekend and this place was perfect. The owner, Klaus, speaks English which was very helpful and can be hard to come by in Florianopolis. Klaus and his workers were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The rooms are decent sized with a fridge, safe, good shower pressure, etc. The location is right on the beach, and one of the more beautiful, quiet beaches at that. You are also close to Lagoinha de Leste and Campeche Island, 2 of the most beautiful spots in Florianopolis. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Backing right onto Armacao Beach, this pousada was a pleasant surprise. The owner Klaus makes you feel welcome like you're staying in his house (which I guess you are ;-). The rooms are clean and functional, definitely worth paying the extra 20 realos for an upstairs room with aircon. There was a great lounge area too, our only gripe was being pestered by mosquitos. Good complimentary breakfast, bikes and surfboards free to rent. Don't miss going to Nutri Lanches a couple of hundred meters North on the main road for their great value, healthy lunch buffet (12-3pm).

Room Tip: Go for an aircon room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The pousada was really perfect. Quiet, clean, friendly staff, great location. There is a hammock on the balcony/patio in each room, great complimentary breakfast with fresh fruits and homemade breads/cakes. The beach is right out of the back gate - really gorgeous, natural beach!

Really, my only complaint was the lack of air conditioning, which of course I expected. It was just so humid, which kept my wet clothes from drying, even with the ceiling fan on.

Anyway, highly recommended!! I would certainly return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great location, a simple and peaceful place were all we wanted come thru...
The beach is great and relax oposite from the confusion on the north and you can get some good surfing.....
Do not miss Matadeiro beach next door and the wonderfull walking around the mountains with the green and the blue sea side by side.
The owner Klaus makes the diference with his local tips. Dont be afraid to ask he awalys manage to went beyond our expectations.
The last but the best the morning breakfast with fantastic bread, fresh fruits and home made cake and juice, etc...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Great location on a quite undeveloped beach with nearby fishing village. Rooms clean and basic (we stayed in the basic one). I liked the finishing touches - a sun umbrella, folding chairs, and a paddle ball set - perfect for the beach. Owner was great. Stay here.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 100-Countries-To-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stumbled upon Pousada Penareia entirely by accident and it was one of the best accidents of our entire trip. As two backpackers having rolled into Florianopolis after the chaos of Carnival in Rio, we were searching for a getaway, and avoided at all costs the touristy hotels for Floripa being flogged to us before we had barely set foot off the bus. Having the small sea-side town of Amacao in mind and guide book in hand, we navigated the local buses - a surprisingly short and convenient bus ride out of Floripa for such a rural small-town feel about the place. We wandered up and down the streets and saw Penareia's sign - once we taken in it was love at first sight. While normally out of price range on a budget back-packing trip, we decided to splash out for some solitude and quality. Markus was incredibly friendly and helpful, and speaks perfect English, and everything about this place was superb; I've never felt more at home and so regretful to leave a place in my life. Rooms are spacious and clean, and come with hammocks and sports equipment to use on the beach. The Pousada has a loft with a big flat screen TV with cable, pool table, games and books. Almost right on the beach, you can leave your room and be on the sand in about 10 seconds. The beach is beautiful and we had it largely to ourselves, but if you want more liveliness the next beach over has huts selling drinks and a few more people around. The most gorgeous views surround the Pousada and we borrowed some bikes for the day and rode to nearby fishing villages and to the lagoon. The people we encountered were friendly despite our lack of Portuguese.

The only room for improvement would perhaps be cooking facilities - as we had no transport we had to walk out to find dinner every night, which is a bit of a problem when it's monsooning! There was a power failure and the electric front gates would not open for us when we returned, so we had to find another way in from the beach, which wasn't great when it was pitch black and slamming it down. However, the weather is not the fault of Pousada Penareia and the storm had passed by morning. The breakfasts were excellent with all sorts of fruits and meats and cheeses and freshly cooked waffles. Far away from the tourist crowds, everything about this place was beautiful - it soothes the soul.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KsquaredK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
Morro Das Pedras Praia Hotel
#46 of 97 in Florianopolis
196 reviews
Hotel Boutique Quinta das Videir...
#1 of 3 in Lagoa da Conceicao
227 reviews
Sao Sebastiao da Praia Hotel
#41 of 97 in Florianopolis
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Germain
#3 of 3 in Lagoa da Conceicao
183 reviews
Pousada Oceanomare
#40 of 97 in Florianopolis
343 reviews
Lagoa da Conceicao
Joaquina Beach Hotel
Joaquina Beach Hotel
#79 of 97 in Florianopolis
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Penareia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Penareia

Address: Rua Hermes Guedes da Fonseca 207 | Praia da Armação, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88066-300, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florianopolis
#3 Best Value Hotel in Florianopolis
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range: £51 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream turn into reality, the Pénareia Lodge represents the passion of a surfer and architect, for the natural beauties found on the south side of Florianópolis Island. Built in a quiet, secluded oceanfront stretch of Armação Beach (Praia da Armação), our Lodge is the ideal location for those who wish to enjoy the peaceful, tranquil, nearly untouched surrounding nature, or for anyone who wishes to experience adventure sports in one of the most idyllic places of Florianópolis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Penareia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Penareia Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing