We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service but with overpriced rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique
Ranked #6 of 253 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service but with overpriced rooms”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at the Pousada das Chas for New Years 2014. The staff at the hotel were overwhelmingly friendly, helpful, supportive, etc. In a country where people don't earn tips and service is sub par to the rest of the world, they really stand out.

The rooms, however I would give 2 stars. They are very clean yes, but they are extremely small and basic. We had a 3 person room and luckily the 3rd person cancelled because I have no idea in what planet you could fit a third person in the room, with an extra bed. The rooms are tiny and very basic. Yes they have a flat screen TV and fridge, but that is it. I felt like I was staying in a hostel. The website definitely looks nicer than the rooms actually are. The common areas are nice downstairs and outside, but if I paid $5000 BRL for 4 nights, I demand a higher quality of room. I don't care if it was high season, this place is WAY OVERPRICED.

Also the pool is in the middle of a parking lot....yes the place is closer to the beach and they provide free chairs and umbrellas but they could really do something to improve the pool, i mean maybe some plants around it? Also due to water shortages (yes, not their fault) the outdoor shower wasn't working during the day so we could not rinse our feet after the beach.

All in all, I was not impressed with the Pousada das Chas in terms of rooms and thus I will not be going back. The 3 stars given because their great service somewhat makes up for the basic and overpriced rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    56
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
91
130
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
188 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lot our stay at Pousada dos Chás. The staff is very friendly and always helpful. The room is bigger then a standard 3 stars hotel room and the bed is specialy confortable. There are good restaurants close to the hotel - I recomend Bar do Cris to have some beers and some finger food. Also, the place is very silent at night - a perfect place to rest.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stoll77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadadoschas, Guest Relations Manager at Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are very happy with your review because it reflects that we achieved our main goal: turn your stay into a pleasant wellness experience, unique moments and unforgettable sensations!!!

We hope that you come visit us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This small "pousada" is an excellent choice to stay in Jurere. Close to the beach, in a safe and calm section of the neighborhood, off the main street. Rooms are quite small, but all equipment works. Housekeeping is excellent - I have never stayed in such a spotless hotel. Service is personal without being intrusive. The swimming pool is small, located across the street, but I wouldn't spend much time there, being so close to one of the best beaches in the island. They offer a 5 o'clock tea service, with tasty treats. An open-air jacuzzi is available, as well as a barbecue area and massage beds. When I return to Florianopolis, I will certainly stay there. Be prepared to have your picture taken and uploaded to the internet when you check out, and for the opportunity to present your opinion to the owner in a guest book. The owner deserves compliments for the excellent work she has done in building and maintaining this inn. Wish there were more of these throughout Brazil.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away not facing the jacuzzi - ours was noisy sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boyosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadadoschas, Guest Relations Manager at Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are very happy with your review because it reflects that we achieved our main goal: turn your stay into a pleasant wellness experience, unique moments and unforgettable sensations!

We hope that you come visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed at this Pousada for 4 nights last November. You can’t compare this Pousada to a 5* hotel … but it does offer a 5* service. When we arrived, a guy immediately came out to help us with the luggage and took it straight to the room. The check-in was ok and it didn’t take long, the staff was very friendly.
That’s something we experienced during our entire stay: every single one of the staff is extremely friendly and welcoming. Not in a formal “they’re trained to be like that” way, but always very personal, which gives the pousada a nice laid-back feel.

The room: we stayed at the “erva da America” room. Nice touch upon arrival: you get a personalized chocolate with your name on it waiting on your pillow. The room isn’t the biggest and it looks very basic, but it offers everything you need. Good bed, good working air-conditioning, big fridge, good bathroom … The one thing I did miss were a couple more electrical sockets, other than that: no complaints about the room!

If it was just for the accommodation, this pousada would just be average. What makes this pousada so special is the service you get! You get free parking, free use of beach towels and beach chairs and their breakfast and their afternoon tea are very very good! If you stay in this hotel, be sure you try their afternoon tea.

It’s the service and the small touches that really makes this pousada a gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lotteloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolrcabral, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are very happy with your review because it reflects that we achieved our main goal: turn your stay into a pleasant wellness experience, unique moments and unforgettable sensations!!!

We hope that you come visit us again and give us the pleasure of your company at our delicious afternoon tea!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in Florianopolis. The service is great, employees are always very helpful, always trying to help you, giving good suggestions for sightseeing, restaurants, etc. The beautiful beach of Jurere is a very short walk away, and they lend you the beach equipment :-) In the afternoon after 4PM they have delicious cakes, pies, coffee, and tea, of course, from where their name comes from. They have an external hot tub which is great in the late afternoon / early evening when you are tired from beach. It is a must when you go to Florianopolis, this was our second time there and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexsandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadadoschas, Guest Relations Manager at Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are very happy with your review because it reflects that we achieved our main goal: turn your stay into a pleasant wellness experience, unique moments and unforgettable sensations!!!

We hope that you come visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I just love this place and I hardly know from where to begin. My boyfriend and myself went to floripa for the carnival, the pousada is located amazingly if ur in for all the big parties for the carnival. The service was outstanding!!!! The staff at work over there couldn't be more helpful and polite. The owner of the posada, an amazing lady who udefinately see the hard work she has put into making her place a unique and special experience for her guests.rooms are very clean and tidy and u have everything u need on there. Breakfast s delicious and don't even let me get started about theta time, everyday a variety f diffent cakes and teas ... Just yummy!!!! I recommend this place with all m heart , we would definitely go back !!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natasha1286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pousadadoschas, Guest Relations Manager at Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are very happy with your review because it reflects that we achieved our main goal: turn your stay into a pleasant wellness experience, unique moments and unforgettable sensations!!!

We hope that you come visit us soon to have a delicious tea!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very helpful staff....called around for us for a variety of activities and even let us cancel a prepaid night because of a work emergency. Good location close to the beach, but can be quiet in the offseason

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alphaphi90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolrcabral, Gerente de relações com clientes at Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are very happy with your review because it reflects that we achieved our main goal: turn your stay into a pleasant wellness experience, unique moments and unforgettable sensations!!!

We hope that you come visit us again and give us the pleasure of your company at our delicious afternoon tea!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
Pousada dos Artistas
#3 of 96 in Florianopolis
321 reviews
Pousada Oceanomare
#38 of 96 in Florianopolis
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canasvieiras
Palace Praia Hotel
Palace Praia Hotel
#15 of 96 in Florianopolis
442 reviews
Hotel Sete Ilhas
#1 of 3 in Jurere
195 reviews
Jurere Beach Village
#3 of 512 in Florianopolis
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique

Property: Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique
Address: Rua Francisco Gouveia 54 | Praia de Jurerê, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88053-645, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Chas Hotel Boutique Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing