We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hostel in Floripa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Floripa Surf Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in a private room and it was absolutely amazing. Our room was like a studio apartment complete with a fully equipped kitchenette. It was clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. The hostel itself has a great homely, chilled out vibe. It has lots of hammocks, a nice tv/common room, fast wifi and a big, clean, fully equipped kitchen. It's located literally 100m from the beautiful Campeche beach. The hostel owner Juan is the most genuine, friendly person. He instantly made us feel welcome and gave us maps and told us plenty of things to do around the island. He took us on a tour around the South part of the island, took my boyfriend surfing and invited us to a local football game with him and his friends. His wife is also very friendly and they have a cute dog. The kindness and generosity from Juan and the great location and homely feel of the hostel make this the perfect place to spend your time in Floripa. Look no further!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Floripa Surf Hostel has the best location in the whole iseland if you fancy surfing and a great easygoing atmosphere. Juan and his family run the hostel with it's own personal character and carisma. Beautiful hostel with all the facilities necessarys(Tv,pool table,bikes..) and a huge garden to read,wax your boards and enjoy of a family barbecue in the evenings.

Juan the owner and manager will always greet you with a homemade caipirinha(the secret fresh lime and love!!!) after sunset and time to exchange stories with other travellers.is not a noise crazy party place at all,as people like waking up early to catch the best waves in the morning!1

very strongly recommended if you looking for calmness,surf and a beatiful beach,wich faces the paradisiac illa de campeche a 2 km distance tiny tropical island.

Blue skies

Nitos watson

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nitos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I arrived there with the plan to stay 4-5 nights but it turned out into 2,5 months because of the super friendly, helpful hostel staff, the relaxed atmosphere in the hostel and you just have to get over a tiny sand dune to reach the amazing Beach where you can surf. You can rent surfboards and equipment at the hostel to affordable prices. They also offer daily tours/surftrips (main season) to get around the island. Even after 2 and a half months it was hard to leave this great place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank philippgoeppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 weeks in the dorm rooms. The hostel is literally right at the beach which is perfect if you want to surf. The hostel has a great atmosphere and lots of people stay longer than intended! Juan, the owner, is a top bloke, and knows everything there is to know about the island & surfing! He does regular trips to different places on the island, and he took us to a local football game. You can rent surfboards and organise lessons from the hostel. Great place, highly recommended & thanks Juan for a top stay :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willers80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here for 10 days in Nov 2012 and it was great. Juan, the owner, is extremely friendly and helpful, has great surfboards for rent and keeps the place really clean. Our double room had a small kitchen which was great for cooking and en suite bathroom. There was a great surf break 1 minutes walk over a sand dune and as the place was small a really nice atmosphere between all the guests. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moni_foto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Good value for your money. We had private room. It was clean, big and nice. Hostel has nice and relaxed athmosphere. Beach is right there, just a short walk. And its a nice beach too! We had many trips to other beaches too directly from hostel, easy and cheap. People are nice and help you with things. Definately would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadiOShrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I booked our one week stay with Floripa Surf Hostel after confirming that the hostel was pet-friendly, as we're traveling through South America with our dog. Numerous booking websites indicated that it was indeed pet-friendly, but we also sent the owner a message directly to confirm that we had a dog and it would be okay before booking. Yet when we arrived, they acted appalled that we had the audacity to show up with not just any dog, but "a boxer!" as they kept exclaiming. Yes, she is a boxer who is smaller (20kg) and more well-behaved than the Labrador they have on the property...and the two dogs got along great, by the way. But they refused to honor the reservation, told us that we should have specifically told them that the dog was a boxer and it would have been a different story if it were a smaller dog or a cat.

If they have a size/breed policy at this hostel, I can totally understand and respect that, but they should either post that policy somewhere or ask about the breed when a guest indicates they're bringing a dog. They also could have handled the issue much more calmly and politely. Instead, they were extremely rude, and wouldn't even allow us to use the property's WiFi connection to look for another place. They also wanted to charge us for at least one night, on top of keeping the non-refundable deposit we'd made.

Not the good vibes one would expect from a surf hostel in Brazil. A little common courtesy and respect would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
12  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FloripaSurfHostel, Owner at Floripa Surf Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Katrina, you didnt even stayed on the hostel, you two were very rude as well and you left the hostel without pay. Now I see that was better that you didnt stay, we can identify good and bad people and you are one of the worst people that ever camed to the hostel. You think you are superior to the others and you are not.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
1.2 mi away
Sagui Hostel
Sagui Hostel
#1 of 11 in Campeche
68 reviews
6 mi away
Hostel Da Terra
Hostel Da Terra
#9 of 608 in Florianopolis
133 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sunset Backpackers
Sunset Backpackers
#20 of 608 in Florianopolis
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Geckos Hostel
Geckos Hostel
#4 of 608 in Florianopolis
149 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pinguins Hostel
Pinguins Hostel
#25 of 608 in Florianopolis
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
On The Road Hostel
On The Road Hostel
#197 of 608 in Florianopolis
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floripa Surf Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floripa Surf Hostel

Address: Servidao Ieda Maria Luz da Costa 190 | Campeche Beach, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88063-182, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 608 Speciality Lodging in Florianopolis
Price Range: £9 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Floripa Surf Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floripa Surf is a warm and friendly hostel that welcomes travelers from all over the world. Guests can relax in our common area, play pool, watch tv or a dvd, make a brazilian barbecue or even catch up with friends and family over the internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Floripa Surf Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floripa Surf Hostel Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing