We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Submarino Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Submarino Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at the submarino in January. The place is located in the Lagoa. An amazing place to stay! beach in front of the hostel, party 5min walk away... Free Wifi available, Airconditioning in the rooms and great people! Def. would come back here. Everything was clean and the stuff was helpfull and nice! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anabel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This is the place to stay on the island of Santa Catarina. The staff are friendly and helpful, it is efficiently run, and kept really clean for the fact that everyone brings sand in with them from the beach! The staff do let you know if you're making a mess or doing something wrong, but that is part of how it stays so nice. The breakfast is brilliant (at least 6 types of fruit, cereal, cake, toasties, coffee,...) and there are some useful extras (free to borrow kayaks, bodyboards, cheap rental bikes, a BBQ area, hammocks,...), overall it made enjoying the island really easy. I'd recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. It has a great feel about it, fantastic staff/ owners, very clean, hot showers, good location, and excellent cooking facilities. I traveled around South and Central America and this was my favourite hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 47Toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had an amazing time at this hostel. we stayed for 10 days. the staff were so friendly and helpful. the rooms were great - comfy beds. It also had a homey feeling which we liked because we had been travelling for a long time. I need to come back! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We visited this hostel at the end of May and found it was brill. Traveling Brazil on a budget this hostal was perfect. You could rent bikes for 3 reals an hour which was nothing. The hostal was next to the lake so you could take out the kayaks they provided for free and spend the day just messing around. They even had surfboards to take out as well. The movie collection was really tasteful so it was wicked just to have a movie day in front of the big plasma and comfy chairs. The breakfast was just unbelievable! They had ham and cheese and a toasties machine, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, hot choco! The rooms where nice and clean and you could use the kitchen to make your own meals. We had a nice relaxing fun yet cheap time here. Def the hostal to stay in when in Floren!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PushingPesos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

An amazing place that has everything! The staff are fantastic and really happy to help in anything we needed! The breakfast was amazing! Rooms were spacious and clena. The faculties were brilliant we spent much time playing pool and table tennis. We were allowed to borrow the bikes to pop into time whenever as well as using their kayaks! It really felt comfortable and would have loved to have stayed their longer! Brilliant hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skipjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Submarino is a perfect little hostel. The staff are all fantastic, so friendly and eager to help. Its a little out of the town, but there have bikes available for free. Also provide kayaks and bodyboards and surf boards for free. Right next to a windsurf centre. Very comfortable beds, best nigt sleep of the trip. Lovely bathroom, good ondition very well looked after.fantastic atmosphere around the hostel, felt really at home and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamSluman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Quinta das Videiras
Hotel Boutique Quinta das Videir...
#1 of 3 in Lagoa da Conceicao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Geckos Hostel
Geckos Hostel
#7 of 486 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostel Da Terra
Hostel Da Terra
#6 of 486 in Florianopolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Flaneur
Le Flaneur
#15 of 486 in Florianopolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Bambu Floripa
Hostel Bambu Floripa
#14 of 486 in Florianopolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sunset Backpackers
Sunset Backpackers
#22 of 486 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Submarino Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Submarino Hostel

Property: Submarino Hostel
Address: Travessa Angela Chaves 121 | Lagoa de Conceicao, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88062-305, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 486 Speciality Lodging in Florianopolis
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Submarino Hostel is a special place located at the most famous neighborhood of the city, Lagoa da Conceição. A charming house right next to the lagoon, surround by nature and very close to the most beautiful beaches of Florianópolis. Here you can feel a home-style atmosphere. We are close to all services you need like coffee shops, restaurants, stores, banks, drugstore, supermarkets and a great nightlife ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Submarino Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Submarino Hostel Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing