We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and facilities - A brilliant place to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The Costao do Santinho resort is huge but has every facility that you could ever need, including 4 pools, a spa and even a hairdressers!
The buffet lunch at the Grill is superb, the Italian buffet is excellent and also the restaurant in the hotel is of a very good standard and worth trying. We were on the all inclusive package and most things were included, including the majority of alcoholic drinks.
The accommodation we stayed in was more than adequate for two people, as it had 3 bedrooms, a lounge and 2 bathrooms, right next to the outdoor swimming pool and a 2 minute walk to the beach, which was nice and very quiet. The accommodation is slightly dated, but nevertheless the rooms are nice, large and clean.
We visited the resort in the off peak season and it was relatively quiet and good value for money. The only downside (or upside?) to the resort is that there is no free wifi in the rooms or by the pool, therefore you have to walk to the 'WiFi Hut' every time you need access.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to chill out, eat and drink well and spend the majority of your time in the resort. As you may expect, there's not much nightlife or activity around the surrounding area.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 3,893 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a World Cup tour.
Check in was horrendous - there was a few hundred of us - BUT, first of all we had to each fill in a registration form & then line up BY FIRST NAME - so myself & my husband were in 2 separate queues to get the keys for 1 ROOM. His queue moved faster so he got to the counter first - he had to come back to me to get the Credit Card for imprint - then he came back & gave that back to me & then he sat down & waited whilst I went through the same process - really it could have been so much more efficient.
The complimentary wifi only worked in common areas & WiFi spots (which were not clearly signposted) so I just went to the Lobby to use WiFi - a fair walk from our room.
The resort is in a great location facing a superb beach - great pool and many restaurants.
I felt the evening meal at USD35 pp for buffet and drinks was overpriced considering what was on offer.
We walked out of the resort & down to road to a little supermarket that sold drinks/breads etc so that was a good option for lunches rather than the lunches on offer at the resort.

The room was clean however was very outdated - down a steep set of stairs - only window was a high one in the bathroom and sliding door in the bedroom that opened to a tiny courtyard with ocean glimpses. I suspect there is a varied range of rooms/layouts in this resort & pot luck on what you get (especially for a group tour booking like ours).

Upon checkout found the hotel had already charged our CC for the room charges - a pity if you wanted to settle in cash (like some other passengers on our tour)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well located with its own beach on the doorstep and hiking tracks (with amazing views), the rooms and stairwells are starting to get a little dated but have lovely ocean views and comfortable size lounge area and kitchen. The resort as a whole is very well set up and maintained but felt a bit overpriced for meals, laundry and wifi internet which was pretty unreliable. The pool area is lovely and breakfast was quite extensive.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights as a part of a tour group.

The grounds were well maintained however were huge and a bit of a task to navigate.

The wifi was, to be quite frank, useless unless you were in the eating areas (which I should point out are far away from some of the rooms, ours included) and you had to pay to use it. Of course, you don't find out that you can't access the wifi UNTIL you pay and try to use it.

There is a lovely beach literally right at the back of the hotel however it was too cold for us to make use of it while we were there. There was a great little gym in there with plenty of equipment which was a nice surprise. There's also a map outlining several walking tracks (although some precarious and not in any way recommended for children or people with poor health/fitness levels) which was nice, although the tracks aren't really signed or clearly indicated FYI.

We didn't have interactions with too many staff members however I believe most understood very little english.

Not close to much - there was a little convenience store about 700m from the hotel which wasn't stocked too well, the hotel food was pretty pricey for what it was as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookeDillon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour so im unable to review the price as it was included in the tour. Firstly the wifi was very poor as you have to pay for it you would expect excellent coverage that couldnt be further form the truth our room was also very small the services that the hotel offer are good but when we tried to book a round of golf we were told we couldnt because we didnt have a handicap which was frustrating. I also got my clothes washed through the hotel which was a big mistake due to the language barrier my laundry bill was 295R( i got 100R refunded at check out). The resort is 6km to the nearest town which is like a 20R taxi, the beach at the resort is nice but as of the weather we didnt swim.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miksak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Take this review with a grain of salt. The resort claims to be best in Brazil, so will review it as such. May be a bit harsh, due to a few experiences...
The place is huge and beautiful, amazing setting on the beach, heaps of facilities and activities. Wish I could have stayed longer and made the most of it.
To cut to the chase about this visit though....
The place is fairly expensive and you'd think therefore an exclusive private resort would have free wifi. It doesn't. Not only did we have to pay, but the server didn't reach our room so had to hike to communal areas, where the server was often overloaded and still couldn't connect... Won't matter to people who are trying to get away for a while, but 1 month of travelling I was hoping to relax which for me means touch base with family and friends back home.
Dishwasher in room didn't work and almost flooded our top floor, also wouldn't recommend getting room service. Same food as snack bar, they stuffed our order both times and then overcharged us.
To wrap up, this was probably just an unlucky stay. The place is amazing, just wish I could have made more of it!

Room Tip: The villas are spread as the place is huge. Check out the hotel layout and pick a villa near what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granules2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I was at the Costao do Santinho Resort for five nights in April 2014 as part of a conference. The hotel is lovely and very well maintained. The beach is spectacular, and nearby hiking trails are well maintained and fun (probably too steep for some people, and slick if it rains much). Pools are also great, although it was a bit too cool for swimming. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Although music can get loud at the outdoor bars, the hotel was very good about cutting it off during the "quiet hours" (after 11 p.m.).

Drawbacks (at least for international travelers) are that very few staff speak English, which can cause some confusion. I wasn't particularly impressed by the food. It's fine for a day or two (the lots of excellent fresh fruit), but the buffets in the restaurant and meeting areas hardly changed, and there didn't seem to be as much variety as in other conference hotels I've stayed at in Brazil, especially for vegetarians/"pescatarians". Internet is spotty and you get kicked off the wi-fi frequently.

This property is about an hour's drive from the airport, and also a considerable distance from the "Centro".

Room Tip: My room was in the "international hotel" facing the ocean. Great view. I left the door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
Belluno Apart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cachoeira do Bom Jesus
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada dos Sonhos
#1 of 2 in Jurere
355 reviews
Sao Sebastiao da Praia Hotel
#39 of 97 in Florianopolis
328 reviews
City Center
Cecomtur Hotel
Cecomtur Hotel
#94 of 97 in Florianopolis
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa

Address: Estrada Vereador Onildo Lemos, 2505 | Santinho Beach, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88058-700, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Florianopolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Florianopolis
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Florianopolis
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range: £211 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 580
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the beautiful Santinho Beach, north of Florianópolis, Santa Catarina Island, and surrounded by dunes, cliffs, trails and archaeological sites, more than a resort, Costão is where the whole family can enjoy all they most wish. The options here are endless. While parents relax on the beach, pool, or even in the SPA, children can play for hours and spend their energy tended by monitors who entertain them with indoor, outdoor activities and in contact with nature. That's Costão! Here our guests find a complete structure, with a mouthwatering cuisine, ALL INCLUSIVE system, and an increasingly tuned team to provide moments of intense joy, tranquility and that special touch that only Costão is able to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Costao do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costao Do Santinho Hotel Florianopolis
Costao Do Santinho Resort And Spa
Costao Do Santinho Resort Golf & Spa Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing