We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but not fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada dos Artistas
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice, but not fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Daniela is our favorite beach in Florianopolis. We had not heard of this place until we did some searching on TripAdvisor. Indeed, it is tucked into the far end of Daniela, and you would not just stumble onto it by accident.

Pros:
Location very handy to Daniela beach
Very quiet
Nice staff
Good breakfast, coordinated by the very charming Paula
Small but functional covered pool, good on rainy days
Family-friendly

Cons:
Rooms are spartan, and even the top-level panoramic rooms are a little cramped
Mild sewage smell after flushing toilet (went away by the end of the second day of our stay)
Not enough parking spaces for everyone if the hotel is full (although street parking is plentiful)

Prices are in line with services offered.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sipleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco1971, Proprietário at Pousada dos Artistas, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks a lot for your comments and compliments.

Our Panoramic apartments do offer 2 or 3 balconies with nice sea view, bedroom, separate living room and a toilet. The total area is approx. 39m2 which we reckon is big enough for a hotel accomodation.
Parking lot, which is right in front of our building, is not fenced, hence parking on the side of our
extremely quiet street hasn't really bothered any of our guests. Our district has wide avenues
and very little to no traffic at all.

Quite, peace, tranquillity and a family atmosphere are the main pillars in our Pousada.
Friendly and professional staff, home made breakfast with European influences, modern rooms with all comforts, a calm and lovely beach just a few meters away seal the package.

We do not have the ambition to be "fantastic" as reported in the main title, we just wish to offer an elegant, comfortable and pleasant stay to all our guests around the world.

We thanks you for your contribution,

Grazie e Arrivederci,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    72
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
182
68
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Very friendly people, wide and good breakfast, very clean room, all facilities included!
Its high quality follows more the European standards than Brazilian ones.. Another plus!
It's located in a residential area so bear in mind that you will have to take a taxi or rent a car for excursions, island visits etc..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GD2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Staff were very friendly and welcoming, and everything was spotlessly clean. The rooms have good facilities (small kitchen, full size fridge, good shower, balcony with a drying rack for wet beach clothes). Breakfast is adequate, but I have seen better in accommodations that charge less per night.
However, I found the scale of everything to be on the small side. The reception area is very small, there is not a lot of space in the rooms to move around, the beds are very narrow making it uncomfortable for two adults to sleep in, the swimming pool is tiny.
I can understand charging for Nespresso style coffee during the day, but during breakfast I think it should be included (I know through professional experience that a capsule costs less than R$2, it won't break the bank). While not expensive, the pousada is definitely not cheap either, so I wasn't expecting having to pay R$3 for proper coffee in the morning. Also, it would be nice to have decaf available.
The pousada is in a very quiet, residential area, two blocks from the beach. I liked it that way, but if you prefer bars and/or restaurants close by, it is better to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco1971, Proprietário at Pousada dos Artistas, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Mr.Franciscus,

We thank you for your review and for commenting on what you think should be improved. As a hotelier I recognize that there always is room for improvement and every comment is taken with due attention as to improve the experience of those who will stay in the future. Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness, tidiness and organization of our infrastructure.

Our beds are precisely of the standard CASAL (double) size used here in Brazil, it is certainly not a Queen nor a King size bed, and the Online Travel Agency through which you purchased your stay, clearly specified the bed size in full detail. The majority of our guests surpasses 1,65m in height and bed size has been no issue thus far, we see you title “not recommended for those taller than 1,65m” a bit off and not thouroughly fair. We remember you were definitely very tall and we are sorry if you were used to king size beds.

Our breakfast has been widely acclaimed as one of our strengths as it offers a variety of juices, fresh bread, home made cakes and jams, fresh fruit, cold meats, salame and 3 types of cheese and even warm pastry straight from the best French bakers in town. We know decaf coffee is quiet popular in Europe but here in Brazil it is rather uncommon as nobody really asks for it .
Our apartments actually measure from 28m2 up to 40m2. They all have bedroom, living room and bathroom and all have balcony. Our kitchenette offers all the necessary for preparing meals in total freedom. The apartments also have free 30MB wi-fi directlty in the apartment and cable TV with a wide range of international and free cinema channels. They were designed to provide full flexibility for families and all those who wish to prepare a meal without the classic limitations of a standard hotel room.

Our pool is actually solar/electrically heated and totally indoor, making it ideal for families with kids who can enjoy themselves even during rainy and colder days.

Best regards,
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in February, 2013. We had one of the sea view suits on the top floor. It was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a two and a half block walk to the beach. The kitchenette was well-equipped and the appliances were brand new. The wifi worked great; I think there were only two rooms per router, so the connection was pretty good for a small hotel. It was a very easy place to go with a small child. The breakfast was quite tasty and there were good choices of fresh fruit and pastries. The only thing I didn´t realize from the website was that the hotel does not have an elevator, so the best rooms require a walk up and down the stairs (a possible issue for small children or people like my husband, who had knee surgery weeks before our vacation). The owner is a very friendly many from Italy and was very helpful with suggestions. My only suggestion would be to provide guests with daily beach towels. For those who fly to Brazil, packing extra beach towels is a big burden on packing space and airline weight limitations (and because of the humidity, one needs at least a few towels per trip because the towels don´t dry quickly on the balconies). It is a great way to enjoy quiet and peaceful Daniela!

Room Tip: I would recommend the sea view suits as the have three balconies and the rooms are quiet and breezy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Incredibly hospitable staff; great breakfast; clean and cute accommodations (we had 3 balconies and comfortable room with full kitchen); during the low season, there was nothing really to do in Daniela; we had planned for that, though and drove all around the island hiking, going to beaches, eating, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belluno Apart Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cachoeira do Bom Jesus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Canasvieiras
Palace Praia Hotel
Palace Praia Hotel
#16 of 93 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada dos Artistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada dos Artistas

Property: Pousada dos Artistas
Address: Avenida das Pitangueiras 1216 | Praia da Daniela, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88053-050, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada dos Artistas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada dos Artistas Inn, located about 100 meters from the beach “Praia da Daniela”, is designed to provide warmth, tranquility good taste and style in touch with nature in one of the most beautiful and tranquil beaches of Florianópolis.All apartments are elegant and welcoming, the ideal place for people looking for quality and comfort in their leisure time with their families or even alone. Each apartment at Pousada dos Artistas was dedicated to a great painter, beautiful prints decorate the environments. The artists are: O’Keefe, Cezanne, Gauguin, Derain, Matisse, Gockel, Barker, Monet, Klee, Picasso, Van Gogh, Dufy, Renoir, Gaudin, Kandiski, Klimt.Marco, and the whole team will always be ready and available so that your stay with us will be as pleasant as possible. Praia da Daniela stands out for its privileged location, a charming place with warm waters, ideal for children and for those seeking real tranquility. Praia da Daniela undoubtedly is the best location in the north of Florianópolis for families and for all those people who want to stand clear of crowded beaches and noisy surroundings.The sea in Daniela’s Beach is excellent for those who wish to practice swimming, and the quality of its waters is confirmed year on year as Praia da Daniela wins quality seals for the purity of its watersClose to our Pousada you will find 2 mini markets and restaurants which offer nice regional food.The proximity to Jurerê International (only 3 km) enables all our guests to have access to a wide range of more sophisticated restaurants, bars and lounges spread across this luxurious district of Florianópolis.Services: Breakfast, Daily Maid service, Free Wi-Fi Internet Access, Parking lot with Video Surveillance 24 hrs, Heated Swimming Pool, Frigobar, beach chairs and sun umbrella also included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pousada dos Artistas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Dos Artistas Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing