We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly cooked fish & shellfish”

Recanto dos Brunidores
Ranked #181 of 4,123 Restaurants in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$100
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, South American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The Corner of Burnishers and Beach Restaurant and Bar located on the right side of Ingleses Beach. The kitchen and commanded by "chef" Nivaldo Souza. Nivaldo that when not in the kitchen, supplies the house with fish, lobsters, grouper and other seafood caught using underwater fishing. The environment is very simple, with a fantastic view of that beach. The site is equipped with aquarium and nursery where are kept seafood alive until the time of preparation. It is worth checking! Remembering that until 20/11 work from Friday to Saturday for lunch, subject to the other days of the week and dinner. With new schedule from 20/11 where the house goes to work every day. Take your questions by phone.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked fish & shellfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here several times. .the food is excellent, simple. ..perect quality fish & shellfish, as the Chef/Owner fish's when possible...so the quality of the ingredients are always perfect..the Restaurant is situated in a little corner of a beautiful beach...amazing view. .great freindy service. .perfect for a Sunday lunch...couldn't ask for more..enjoy

Helpful?
Thank Dourade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    8
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood, charming place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I chose the menu confiance. The plates were delightedly prepared. The staff is kind and the walk to get there was fine. If I may add 2 suggestions they would be:
1. Do your own bread. The one served doesn't match the quality of the food. It's bad.
2. More options to drink. Some local beers would add a spark - eisenbahn, coruja, or any other than corn "beer" from Ambev. Also some local caipirinhas.
Despite it, the food, staff and place were great. 4 stars in a city that 3 is already an accomplishment.

Helpful?
Thank Barrosb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mmmmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived at this idyllic restaurant in the midst of a spectacular thunderstorm, having been transported over the sand-dunes by the sous chef in a four wheel drive jeep. As the lightning flashed dramatically, our friendly host mixed delicious caipirinhas made with lemons and two varieties of Brazilian lime. The food was superlative, by far the best of our many meals in Florianopolis. Stand-out dishes include a mousse of mullet carpaccio with strawberries, a sea urchin pâté and the freshest scallops imaginable. A crab dish served in a crab shell , 'hidden prawns' and their homemade hot sauce made for an utterly memorable meal as close to the sea as it is possible to get without getting your feet wet. The owner, chef and sous chef are wonderfully hospitable and responsive. Phone or email before you come and they'll be waiting to welcome you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exquisite Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We went here in the off season but so glad we did! The restaurant and in particular the Chef, Nivaldo was recommended to us by our hotel staff who had eaten there. We met the chef at the church in Ingleses and he drove us down ally ways and then 4wd a few km's on the beach to get to the restaurant located at the very end of the bay, it was a really windy night but my partner and I were the only two they were cooking for on this night and they had set our table up inside still overlooking the beach. it was such a personal experience and the food was simply amazing! Easily the best and freshest seafood i've ever had anywhere. The chef's partner Fabio was very attentive with our drinks and also bringing out some of the meals, he spoke English too which was a huge help for us as we spoke no Portuguese, having hi there just made the experience that little bit better too. Compliments to the Chef, 2 very satisfied customers!! :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kira T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Barraca de praia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This barraca de praia is genuinely a well hidden gem, even the locals shrugged their shoulders, find it via the dunes, or the beach.
The dunes were too much of an adventure without a 4x4…
It was off-season and lateish in the afternoon, we were lucky with a table being free.
Go with their tasting menu – a series of beautifully presented fresh seafood tapas sized dishes ending with a main course. They seem set up for this, judging from the reviews à la carte gets slow.
Easily the best food, wine, service, value in Floripa, albeit a bit of a novelty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Recanto dos Brunidores also viewed

 

Been to Recanto dos Brunidores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing