We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Castelmar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castelmar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Florianopolis
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The site of the hotel shows many nice photos of good accomodations and premises. However, when I got to the hotel, first of all, I received very bad treatment from the recepctionists, who were all rude and totally lost. The elevator is really old and kind of scary.
Still, my biggest disappointment was when I got to the bedroom. It lacked safety, it had very old furniture, it was not perfectly clean and not comfortable at all. The bathroom was filthy and there was a very old shower.
There were some stains on the bed blankets (don't know if it was blood or wine), the curtains were dirty and didn't open properly and I could not leave the hotel because I was afraid someone would break into the room as anyone could enter just by kicking the door. Fortunately I only stayed there for one night. I have taken many pictures to confirm what I am writing here. Please, don't stay at Castelmar in Florianópolis.

Room Tip: don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlineMehedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2011

I and a job mate stayed there during 3 nights. The room was old fashion and dark. The furniture old and the toilet didn´t present a very good appearance…the courtains could not be opened properly, 3 lamps were broken and the mini hygienic shower didn´t run. The key electric system was supposed to turn the devices off, but didn´t work as well.
The cable TV broke on the second night and I couldn´t access the Wi-Fi net, which we considered very complicated to understand. It had too many login pages and passwords to deal with. By the way, the TV was standard, not LCD, what was not a big issue.
The gym room was equipped with 3 treadmills and some weights. There were no equipments to work muscles.
We learned that this hotel had been originally a normal residential building and has been switched to a hotel afterwards. We also learned that Tower 1 (or A) was refurbished and looks nice, but Tower 2 (or B) is still looking like the 80´s (or 70´s…). Our room (515) was located in Tower 2.
There was a kind of living room with absolutely no utility at all.
By the way, 515 had 2 bedrooms and this huge (for Brazilian standards) living room. No decoration was a feature that really impressed us (not in a good way…).
The breakfast was reasonable, in the last day its air conditioner was not working properly. The staff was friendly. During the check out I reported these issues to the front desk and one lady simply give me a form to fill in…

Room Tip: Tower A is newer than Tower A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fredthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
João Francisco M, Gerente at Castelmar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Fred
We appreciate your feedback and we would like to clarify that our hotel has changed its management in early 2012 and has been through some refurbishing to better serve our guests. We would like to apologise and invite you for the next time in Florianopolis come to check out our changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Old and dirty hotel in a very nice city. Needs major restoration and upgrade.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I stayed at the Bristol Castelmar Hotel for 4 nights during a conference that was held at the same location.

Upon entering the hotel you are greeted with a large loby, with some interesting decoration and your typical cocktail bar. Checking in to the hotel was done with ease, no complaints there.

Opening up my hotel room door, I found a large "apartment" like room (because that's what it really was; an "apartment" hotel). A reasonably large living room, with a sofa, a table and some chairs. To one side of the living room was the bathroom, probably the worst part of the room. The bathroom was tight, and while not dirty, never seem to be very hygenic. Thankfully, clean towels were provided daily. The bedroom itself was also large and offered complete cable service. While the bed was nothing special, it was sufficiently comfortable for a good nigth's sleep.
The major fault of the room was the lack of drapes to stop neighbors from above to sneek a peak into the living room.

The morning breakfast was complete and offered a vast selection of breads, fruits and juices. Hot foods weren't vast but those that were offered were well prepared.

In terms of location, it isn't far from the local market (10-15min by foot) or the large shopping mal (20-25min).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I need to stay in this hotel, due to a meeting. All the others are sold out.
They gave the worst apartament they had: Apartment 104. It is on street level, so it was not possible to open the windows. The guy in the front desck said that they had problems with security in the past, so due to this they lock the windows.
When you look throguth the glass you just see the street and a office that is no more than 5 meters from the hotel.
The apartament has a lot of space, but everything is old. The staff is OK.
Florianopolis has a hundred of better hotels. Even if you need to stay in dwontown I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Daiana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank IsabellaB418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
Florianopolis Palace Hotel
#93 of 97 in Florianopolis
488 reviews
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 97 in Florianopolis
1,248 reviews
City Center
Cecomtur Hotel
Cecomtur Hotel
#94 of 97 in Florianopolis
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mercure Florianopolis Centro
Mercure Florianopolis Centro
#33 of 97 in Florianopolis
915 reviews
Mercure Florianopolis Convention
#16 of 97 in Florianopolis
1,215 reviews
Cambirela Hotel
#44 of 97 in Florianopolis
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelmar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelmar Hotel

Address: Rua Felipe Schmidt 1260, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88010-002, Brazil (Formerly Bristol Castelmar Hotel)
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range: £46 - £2,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelmar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castelmar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelmar Hotel Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing