We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect small hotel at the beach”
Review of Pousada da Vigia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada da Vigia
Ranked #55 of 250 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quatro Barras, PR
Level Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Perfect small hotel at the beach”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Pousada da Vigia makes you feel home.
Small hotel, ran by two nice ladies, always available, was formerly state of Santa Catarina governor's summer house. So think about a classic big beach house, split into apartments to fit a hotel and you are at Vigia.
Start with the beach, a wonderful small family beach at north area of Florianopolis. Place the Pousada at it's corner, on top of the stones that forms the bay. That gives you a short and very easy access to the beach, ate the same time a very nic view of the ocean, as is located in a high spot.
The apartments: we were with the family, so decided to take one standard apartment and one of the 2 suites. Apartment, at main house, is small, but very well furnished. A huge bed and a nice veranda, where you can seat for hours. A (very) small bathroom, but enough for your needs.Very clean and clear. The suite is something else. Really big, separate from the main house, and built more recently, at it's bottom floor has the bedroom with a veranda, and living room with TV set and all amenities A spacious bathroom with shower and tube facing a huge window to the sea. At the upper floor is what counts: a small private sauna and a large deck, with a Jacuzzi open to a real nice view to the ocean. Completes the cozy atmosphere 2 chaise longue, a wooden table and chairs and even a barbecue place. The nicest spot you can spend full afternoons.
The common areas are small but comfortable, as your own living room. Breakfast (and lunch and dinner) is served on a big veranda, again facing the sea, where or 6 small tables are. Breakfast that is well served, with fruits, breads, fresh juices and home made marmalade.
If you decide to have dinner, you'll have a short but nice menu, is ok.
Staff is very nice, always there to help you. Really nice place to spend with the family or in a very romantic escape. I fully recommend.

Room Tip: Suites are wonderful. I stayed at apartment 5, at the corner with the nicest view, and with a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Pousada da Vigia was a great stay in Floripa. The pousada is very well located, in the north edge of the island, the room is nice, the balcony view to the Lagoinha beach is amazing.
The staff was amazing, always trying to make you comfortable and also giving local advices.
Lagoinha is a calm beach and not so crowded, with nice restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view to the Lagoinha beach are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlad-CWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

The Pousada da Vigia is a must to anyone traveling down to Floripa. What a place! Everything was perfect, to the last detail.
The staff really make you feel at home, the food is superb and you really get the best bang for your back. Need a car? Worry not, the manager (who is awesome btw) will talk straight with the rental guys and bring you one. Wanna do some sightseeing? They now the island front to back and have maps on hand. Whatever you want, this guys can provide, on the cheap.
The breakfast is really something; I've gone from Thailand to NY and never had one so good, partly because the food was awesome and instantly made to order, and also because the sights from the restaurant are simply out of this world.

Don't think twice, this is the place where you wanna stay. You'll be glad you trusted me!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galtrés
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed 05 nights in this beautifull place, the breakfast was full of fruits and delicious things to eat, the service was very good with kind people ready to serve us.
The place is an old mansion, knowed as the governor house, with charming areas, nice rooms and an incredible view of the Lagoinha beach. We really enjoy it and everybody are expecting to return the next vacation time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We had a fantastic 4-night stay at the pousada, it's a very special place. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Our room was great (you get to pick your room when you book and we chose #5 and highly recommend it - quite possibly the most comfortable bed ever, and on the end of the building so it's private, with a gorgeous sea view), small but everything you needed with very nice linens. It was impossible not to relax at the pousada, with the beautiful views and sounds of the waves crashing. Drawbacks would be that it is a bit far from towns/amenities/the airport (about a R$100 cab ride from the airport). Frankly, if you are just looking to relax though, there is no reason to leave. The restaurant on site is quite good and VERY reasonable. Massages are available on-site and they even have a BBQ area in case you want to make dinner for yourself. The beach is just beautiful and the water is very calm and easy to swim in, great for families. Wireless internet throughout the property.

An interesting note - pretty much all of the staff speaks a bit of English (some are fluent) but they don't let on that they do, if you speak Portuguese with them.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The pousada da vigia is located on the northern tip of the island of Florianopolis. It is the old house of a state governor. It has since been completely revamped for the hotel.

The settings is amongst in Floripa and the service is superb. My advice would be to try to stay in one of the "luxury suites" which are a step above in comfort for a reasonably higher price. Luxury suites have private roof top, sauna, tv room.

Overall its a great place for couples. Strongly recommended.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gregghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

It's a beautiful house, very nice common space, but the rooms are really bad.

My wife and I are seasoned travelers, we don't mind simple, as long as it is charming. We selected this hotel looking at its website. Very deceiving !! The common areas and the view are really nice, but the rooms look like they belong to a totally different hotel. Really simple, small, no place to put your luggage, noisy a/c, bad linen, bad bathroom. Overall pretty bad.

The location is very good if you want to hang out by the hotel and attend to the local beach. Which is nice, family oriented.

The beach is within very easy access from from the hotel.

The pool area of the hotel is small but charming. It overlooks the ocean.

Breakfast was good. Not great.

Service was good.

Overall we enjoyed our stay there, but expected much more from the "charming" pousada portrayed in their website and also due to belonging to the "Roteiro do Charme" a hotel family like that sells itself as "charming".

  • Liked — nice common areas
  • Disliked — bad, small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
1.0 mi away
Costa Norte Ponta Das Canas Hotel Florianopolis
14.0 mi away
Bistro e Guest House Isadora Duncan
Bistro e Guest House Isadora Dun...
#43 of 250 in Florianopolis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada Encantos da Ilha
Pousada Encantos da Ilha
#76 of 250 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique
Pousada dos Chas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 250 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Antares Club Hotel Lagoinha
Antares Club Hotel Lagoinha
#132 of 250 in Florianopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
20.0 mi away
Pousada Vila Tamarindo
Pousada Vila Tamarindo
#7 of 250 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada da Vigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Vigia

Property: Pousada da Vigia
Address: Rua Conego Walmor Castro 291 | Lagoinha, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88056-770, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada da Vigia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada da Vigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Vigia Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing