We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place!”
Review of Pousada da Vigia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada da Vigia
Ranked #56 of 253 Florianopolis B&B and Inns
Brasilia
1 review
“A perfect place!”
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We stayed 05 nights in this beautifull place, the breakfast was full of fruits and delicious things to eat, the service was very good with kind people ready to serve us.
The place is an old mansion, knowed as the governor house, with charming areas, nice rooms and an incredible view of the Lagoinha beach. We really enjoy it and everybody are expecting to return the next vacation time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
73
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We had a fantastic 4-night stay at the pousada, it's a very special place. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Our room was great (you get to pick your room when you book and we chose #5 and highly recommend it - quite possibly the most comfortable bed ever, and on the end of the building so it's private, with a gorgeous sea view), small but everything you needed with very nice linens. It was impossible not to relax at the pousada, with the beautiful views and sounds of the waves crashing. Drawbacks would be that it is a bit far from towns/amenities/the airport (about a R$100 cab ride from the airport). Frankly, if you are just looking to relax though, there is no reason to leave. The restaurant on site is quite good and VERY reasonable. Massages are available on-site and they even have a BBQ area in case you want to make dinner for yourself. The beach is just beautiful and the water is very calm and easy to swim in, great for families. Wireless internet throughout the property.

An interesting note - pretty much all of the staff speaks a bit of English (some are fluent) but they don't let on that they do, if you speak Portuguese with them.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2008

The pousada da vigia is located on the northern tip of the island of Florianopolis. It is the old house of a state governor. It has since been completely revamped for the hotel.

The settings is amongst in Floripa and the service is superb. My advice would be to try to stay in one of the "luxury suites" which are a step above in comfort for a reasonably higher price. Luxury suites have private roof top, sauna, tv room.

Overall its a great place for couples. Strongly recommended.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gregghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2008

It's a beautiful house, very nice common space, but the rooms are really bad.

My wife and I are seasoned travelers, we don't mind simple, as long as it is charming. We selected this hotel looking at its website. Very deceiving !! The common areas and the view are really nice, but the rooms look like they belong to a totally different hotel. Really simple, small, no place to put your luggage, noisy a/c, bad linen, bad bathroom. Overall pretty bad.

The location is very good if you want to hang out by the hotel and attend to the local beach. Which is nice, family oriented.

The beach is within very easy access from from the hotel.

The pool area of the hotel is small but charming. It overlooks the ocean.

Breakfast was good. Not great.

Service was good.

Overall we enjoyed our stay there, but expected much more from the "charming" pousada portrayed in their website and also due to belonging to the "Roteiro do Charme" a hotel family like that sells itself as "charming".

  • Liked — nice common areas
  • Disliked — bad, small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Eduardo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My husband and I spent two nights at the Pousada da Vigia during our trip to Florianopolis. The staff and service were superb. We stayed in room #8, a small but lovely room with a view of the beach. The room had a/c and a ceiling fan.
When we got settled into the room, to our delight, a complimentary bottle of champagne was delivered.
The pousada has a common area with large screen TV and lots of movies, a small pool, a sundeck with jacuzzi, and a wonderful staff. While we were sitting out on the deck, someone came by to ask if there was anything we wanted. We were brought juice and later, towels for our dip in the jacuzzi.
The beach itself (Lagoinha), accessible from the pousada, is a small, calm lagoon beach - great for children. There are a couple of restaurants right on the beach.
Breakfast (included) was very good. They offered cakes, breads, cereal, yogurt, juice, and delicious eggs, cooked to order. In the evening, the breakfast terrace is turned into a bistro, and dinner is served. We ate in one night and had a good meal. Again, service (Gilberto, our waiter) was fantastic .
When we were unable to extend our stay because they were fully booked, the staff (Ronaldo) helped us find a place by calling around to other pousadas on the island. He even called the rental car agency to extend our rental for us without a second thought.
I would wholeheartedly recommend the Pousada da Vigia, especially for the excellent service.

  • Liked — attentive service
  • Disliked — room was small
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
1.0 mi away
Costa Norte Ponta Das Canas Hotel Florianopolis
8.2 mi away
Pousada dos Artistas
Pousada dos Artistas
#3 of 95 in Florianopolis
320 reviews
3.1 mi away
Costa Norte Ingleses Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Geranius
Hotel Geranius
#44 of 95 in Florianopolis
340 reviews
14.0 mi away
Bistro e Guest House Isadora Duncan
Bistro e Guest House Isadora Dun...
#43 of 253 in Florianopolis
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada Encantos da Ilha
Pousada Encantos da Ilha
#73 of 253 in Florianopolis
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada da Vigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada da Vigia

Property: Pousada da Vigia
Address: Rua Conego Walmor Castro 291 | Lagoinha, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88056-770, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 253 B&Bs / Inns in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada da Vigia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada da Vigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Da Vigia Florianopolis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing