We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably expensive for soso hotel...avoid it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Florianopolis
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Florianopolis
Reviewed 27 November 2011

first of all...i must admit i neither like florianopolis nor the southern part of brazil too much,but this hotel is a rip off. a solid 3 star hotel okay.but disguised as 5 star luxury? good joke.typical unmotivated,listless staff. 300 us rooms (sam ehotel in miami is 50 nucks!) and 60 us breakfast extra? a steal though compared to their 45 us !!! right !!! 45 us caipirinhas. are they insane???
hotel itself is clean and orderly. prices are a rip off. food is average to bad. in front of a 7 lane highway. you cant even open the windows without being disturbed by the noise. the whole place should and can be avoided. idland,hotel,federal state.better go to sao paulo or uruguay.really.dont believe their lies about gorgeous island and all that bs. it rains all the time and people are extremely anti everybody. they dont even like people from sao paulo. okay.and we dont like them :) have fun in other parts of beautiful brazil instead !!!

Room Tip: get another hotel....just kidding:) high floor !!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are pleased to know your feedback over your experience. It based on your rewies that we work hard to reach the excelence in our services.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Florianopolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Having stayed at quite a few Sofitel properties around the world, I know what level of service to expect from a Sofitel property. The moment I arrived at Sofitel Florianopolis, I knew there was something not quite right. A very tight driveway and no one to greet me or help unload my luggage. The service at Reception was quite rude from the person checking me in when I pointed out that my booking confirmation stated that Wifi was included in the rate. It got worse when the Reservations Manager finally appeared after supposedly being not available! After way too much arguing, they eventually agreed to honour the booking. Rather ordinary Spa area and the breakfast was very basic for 5 start. The location was fantastic and the rooms well appointed, so not all bad!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are pleased to know your feedback over your experience. It based on your rewies that we work hard to reach the excelence in our services.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Sofitel Florianopolis has an excellent location, the breakfast is very good but the service is not. We have used the spa which is a very simple experience, not up to Sofitel standards. We have ordered for a cleanup at our room around 3PM when we were going out…when we came back at 9PM nothing was done. After we complained, the cleaning lady appeared. The check-in and check out moments were very strange, with all front desk people a little impolite and unpleasant. Our room was very nice, with an beautiful view and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GG1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night and we would not stay another if we had to. While the hotel is in a great location and is nicely decorated, the service is poor. In addition, one has to pay extra for things that you would expect to be included when you are paying the fees they charge. There is no free Wi-fi and if you are driving you need to pay for the parking. The most shocking is that breakfast is not included unless you pay extra. In addition, the rooms are noisy given that the windows do not appropriately islotae rhe noise from the main road. We have stayed in other Sofitel hotels before so we were greatly disappointed by the service and how many extras we had to pay if we wanted what we consider basic amenities in a hotel such as as Sofitel

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMsSunshine03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

We are pleased to know your feedback over your experience. It based on your rewies that we work hard to reach the excelence in our services.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Rooms are functional, comfortable, spacious and well equipped, tough not big. Hotel is well located and you have plenty of good restaurants at a walking distance. Hotel restaurant is ok, but there are much better options close to the hotel. Rooms have a good design for business travelers, so you’ll be comfortable if you need to work from your room, though more outlets close to the desk would be welcome (you can always take an outlet strip with you).

Nice view from the pool.

Room Tip: Considering you’re facing the hotel, ask for a room at the right side. There is building at the hote...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermes_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Close to dowtown and in the way of the major beaches , nice suites , fitness room and restaurant ...i came back soom as possible ...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eduardomiyake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Me and a group of friends stayed at this hotel in december 2010, it was very clean, exellent service, very good breakfast, quite big rooms, very good gym!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cestlaviebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina M, Gerente de recepção at Novotel Florianopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Florianópolis and we are pleased to know that you were satisfied with your overall experience.
Kind regards,
Novotel Florianópolis Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
#10 of 97 in Florianopolis
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 97 in Florianopolis
1,205 reviews
City Center
Faial Prime Suites
Faial Prime Suites
#9 of 97 in Florianopolis
472 reviews
Canasvieiras
Palace Praia Hotel
Palace Praia Hotel
#17 of 97 in Florianopolis
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Florianopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Florianopolis

Address: Avenida Jorn. Rubens de Arruda Ramos 2034, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88015-701, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Florianopolis)
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Florianopolis
#3 Spa Hotel in Florianopolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florianopolis
#7 Family Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range: £55 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Florianopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Florianopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Florianopolis Hotel Florianopolis
Florianopolis Sofitel
Novotel Florianopolis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing