We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good breakfast buffet, little English spoken”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Florianopolis
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Florianopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Livonia, MI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good breakfast buffet, little English spoken”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel itself was very clean and our room was clean and large enough and included a digital programmable safe which was convenient. The view out the window was facing from the side of the hotel so we could only get a partial view of the hotel. My wife and I both got sick at the end of our stay with a stomach virus and the hotel front desk was able to call a medical service which came to our room which included a physician and two other persons. He wrote prescriptions for us and the hotel staff got them filled and brought them to our room. There was no charge for the medical service. We had to extend our stay for a few days to recover and the hotel accommodated our needs. Mainly the front desk staff speak English.

The hotel dining area staff speak little if any English. We were rushed to finish our breakfasts before the dining room closed so they could clear away the buffet which we have never experienced in a hotel before. We were asked by the staff to finish our selections from the buffet as they would be starting to remove the food.

We did not feel this Sofitel hotel was up to the standard of an upscale hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    462
    191
    62
    36
See reviews for
222
416
105
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is a good hotel. I stayed here after having been visiting my fiancee in hospital which is spitting distance. The breakfast was excellent, the view was amazing especially from the rooftop where a pool and jacuzzi are located. My only gripes which made this an average Sofitel were that we ordered a deluxe room and it was quite small. Also, the walls were thin, we heard a couple arguing for an hour next to us. However it was worth the money and I would stay again.

Beira mar mall is just up the road (walking) which is great for shopping and has a nice cinema there too.

Room Tip: I have only seen one room but ask for one without neighbours if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulyAid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

we booked the 3 most expensive rooms in hotel, with sea views but noisy traffic below, one colleague had a football team having an all-night party in his neighbouring room, I was woken at 5am by loud tv from my neighbouring room, ""magnifico breakfast"" should have been included in our rate so very surprised that we had to pay for an omelette and espresso coffee, disappointed that there was no complimentary drinking water in the room and none of the usual amenities you might expect, TV was accompanied by complicated instructions for 3 accompanying remote controls which I couldn't get to work (instructions didn't match descriptions of remote controls). upon check-out asked the bell-boy to order us a taxi to the airport, he walked outside and then disappeared (on his lunch break ?) and the taxi took 30 minutes to arrive, as an Accor silver member and having paid the top dollar rate very disappointed overall with this level of experience

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We spent a long weekend there, location is great, However, the breakfast was the same quality and variety as a Mercure and I am being quite accurate ( fruit, cereal, dairy products, etc, basic nothing elaborate or 5-star fancy). Rooms are not sound proof at all, we could hear the neighbors speaking. The was only one bathrobe in the room, and only one glass in the minibar, no sandals, and no extra towels, again these small details but unaceptable at a 5 star hotel. Could not compare with Sofitel in Rio or Buenos Aires. Overall, unless there a significant investment it should rated down to Novotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here in a business trip only for a night. But, it was enough to understand the quality of sofitel. I've stayed in other hotels in the city, but this is the best. Had a very, very good rate. Good spacious rooms, super clean and noiseless. The breakfast was ok, could be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuilhermeML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresopolis, RJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed for free on my wife's points but I did notice the prices were a bit high for Brasil. I've been living in Brasil with my wife for 17 years now and we've stayed in numerous hotels along the coast from the North to the South. The Sofitel in Florianopolis is a wonderful experience. The staff go out of their way to help and make sure you have everything you need. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Make sure you get something with a view of the beach! The big draw of this hotel is the Infinity pool with jacuzzi at the top. The view will blow you away guaranteed! Simply breathtaking. Make sure you go up for the sunsets :-)

The other huge plus is that the location is perfect. Everything is right here from the best restaurants to the mall and all kinds of small shops and pharmacies to satisfy all your needs. It's also right on the beach in the best part of town so plan on some beautiful walks along the shore.

If I had to lodge one small complaint? The towels were a bit stiff. New towels or good fabric softener would fix this easily.

Overall an excellent experience. Loved it. Will gladly come back here any time!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, mi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Florianopolis recently. The hotel was ok, but it was very dark in the hallways and the rooms, and the staff was unhelpful to the extreme. They were pleasant enough to us, but couldn't give us any recommendation as far as restaurants nearby, etc. We had some friends meet us there for Sat/Sun, and their reservation was lost. They had the confirmation number, but were told by the less than helpful front desk personnel the the number was useless as they had just changed computer systems (which was down for most of our stay) They had vacant rooms, and our friends were able to get them, but not before being treated rudely by the employees. The location is nice, and the view from the rooftop pool area is great. Also the bathroom was modern with a good shower. But the carpet was very stained, which made the rooms seem unclean.

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the front, you will have a better view, and some natural light in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florianopolis hotels
City Center
Hotel Porto da Ilha
Hotel Porto da Ilha
#2 of 94 in Florianopolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
City Center
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
Blue Tree Towers Florianopolis
#10 of 94 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Faial Prime Suites
Faial Prime Suites
#9 of 94 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
City Center
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
Hotel Ibis Florianopolis
#21 of 94 in Florianopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Florianopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Florianopolis

Property: Novotel Florianopolis
Address: Avenida Jorn. Rubens de Arruda Ramos 2034, Florianopolis, State of Santa Catarina 88015-701, Brazil (Formerly Sofitel Florianopolis)
Region: Brazil > State of Santa Catarina > Florianopolis > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Florianopolis
#3 Business Hotel in Florianopolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Florianopolis
#7 Family Hotel in Florianopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Florianopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Florianopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Florianopolis Hotel Florianopolis
Florianopolis Sofitel
Novotel Florianopolis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing