We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maria Fumaca”

Passeio de Maria Fumaca Campinas - Jaguariuna
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Campinas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sat 10am-3pm, Sun 10am-4.30pm
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maria Fumaca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

In general is a good experience, the landscapes are amazing, the train is beautiful and well kept. I will just add a better cafeteria (bigger, with more variety, better facilities) in the main station.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    337
    77
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old steam train and station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

A great trip for people that love trains and old history. Operators spent a lot of time explaining the steam engine and how they work. The stations are over 100 years old. Nice way to see the country side.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_Ray_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

It is a "Back to the Past"experience. Fun, well kept, and a family activity. Make sure you have books and some kind of entertainment to your kids as the way back can be a little boring to little ones.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luce3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip for family with children..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great trip for family with children. The round trip ride from Campinas to Jaguariuna on Sunday departures mid morning and return early afternoon, so you can sleep a bit more before the trip and enjoy the afternoon after it. Great views and a bit of the history of the steam engines train in Brazil.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very cool train ride on authentic steam train”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We took the short route, about an hour and a half round trip from Jaguariuna, and really enjoyed it as did our 2-year old boy! We arrived early and had lunch at the train station, which also had a small museum (only worth visiting if you're bored or unusually obsessed with trains), a little fair area with some booths selling toys and crafts, and a steam engine you can explore.

The train itself had the engine, a car behind the engine to hold all of the wood and water (these trains burn wood, not coal), and two passenger cars although on the way back we joined the return trip from Campinas on a much longer train. Our engine was from 1895 and built in Philadelphia, so it was the real deal. The tracks are not well-maintained, so the train rocks back and forth quite a bit which I found more fun. The windows also go down which is nice.

The ride went through the train yard with tons of old engines and cars, where you stop at an unusued stations and can get out for a couple of minutes. You then proceed to another unused station where you get off, and then climb aboard the return from Campinas. Merchants walk the aisles selling ice cream, toys, and music. Our son is still talking about it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joelestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passeio de Maria Fumaca Campinas - Jaguariuna also viewed

 

Been to Passeio de Maria Fumaca Campinas - Jaguariuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing