We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Losing the charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Guaruja
Certificate of Excellence
Founex, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Losing the charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Excellent location, in front of the beach, good place to be with the family, but the hotel is losing in the service and starting to have some structural problems and cleanning is a bit under pattern. Need to improve.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf_Syrdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelJequitimar, Gerente at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Google Translation
Apreciamos imensamente que tenha avaliado sua hospedagem no Sofitel Guarujá Jequitimar.

Compartilharei os resultados de sua avaliação com nossas equipes. Tenho certeza de que seu feedback será um encorajamento para continuarmos a melhorar a qualidade de nossos serviços.

Agradecemos novamente por nos informar sobre sua experiência e esperamos que sua próxima visita seja extremamente agradável.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    521
    159
    52
    41
See reviews for
720
307
26
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel had an odd mix of families with young kids and business people attending conferences. As a business hotel, I found it odd that there was no paper or pens in the rooms and there were limited plug ins for electronics. I also found the service to be marginal - I had 2 lights that didn't work and in the 4 days that I was there, they never fixed them after multiple requests. The staff in the restaurant seemed unhappy to be there.

The food was not bad for buffet food and as an all-inclusive, all food is buffet. I'm not sure if the security is for the weathly families that visit (I'm told that this hotel is owned by a TV star and is popular with famous Brazilians) or if the area is unsafe. Security personnel in suits were always present.

Having said that, the beach is beautiful and the view wonderful - I can't really complain too much about being on a beautiful ocean-front hotel for work.

Room Tip: Ocean facing room so that you can sleep to the sound of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelJequitimar, Gerente at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests.
I will share your comments with our team. One of the main goals of this area is the constant development. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here with my parents in two rooms for one night before my parents were to catch a cruise to Portugal the next day. There are so many positives about this resort, and we really enjoyed it. The architecture was impressively modern in the public areas, and the rooms were large, clean, and nicely furnished. The bed was really comfortable. The rooms had a color scheme of whites and light grays and purple that was soothing. We had rooms on the upper floor with a mountain view--very nice overlooking Guaruja towards Santos.

The concierge who checked us in, Alejandra, was super helpful, friendly, and professional, and she helped me book a bus ticket from Santos to Rio and got us an excellent driver to take me to the bus station and my parents to the cruise ship the next day. The food at the Sofitel was very good, and the grounds were lush and well landscaped. The breakfast was excellent. The beach is very attractive. All in all, a great place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcneill817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelJequitimar, Gerente at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests.
I will share your comments with our team. One of the main goals of this area is the constant development. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

this is a really nice hotel.
Well, if you need to be far away from any thing and take a real break off everything.
You will get a small town, and a huge beach only for you... But , if you need something to do, you will have to travel a little bit

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edis0n3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelJequitimar, Gerente at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Amazing beach location with wonderful pools too. Rooms very comfortable and modern . Service ok for such a big hotel but suspect may get a bit stretched at high season if conference there.

Brilliant for kids- facilities excellent inc play areas and a dedicated mini restaurant. Even if you haven't got kids with you ask to have a look at the restaurant at lunchtime and try and pinch a smiley potato off the buffet - you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaslek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelJequitimar, Gerente at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in this resort-hotel for a few days in early February, when it was luckily a very quiet season. There were not a lot of guests around (except some convention group), so the almost private stretch of beach in front of the hotel was for ourselves; on the beach the hotel provides for chairs/parasols and refreshments can be ordered; very convenient. The temperature was very hot outside, resulting in very hot water in the large swimming pool, even in the mornings. And even the water in the sea was very warm! (this is not a complaint, we liked it). Our (superior) room in the main building was fine, overlooking the beach. Be aware that "half-board" does NOT mean "breakfast and dinner", but "breakfast and lunch" (from 12.30 - 16.00 h), inside or on the 1st floor terrasse, in both cases it consisted of an excellent buffet. We had a rental car, but if you don't have your own transportation, it's a long way to the town of Guaruja (not much to see there anyway, it's not worth the trip, except if you wish to have dinner outside of the resort (for a change); there are a few reasonably good restaurants for dinner along the city-boulevard, some 6 km away). Parking at the resort is not for free (valet-system); also, if you order a cappuccino at breakfast (rather than taking the aweful regular coffee), they will charge you for it. We had read in the reviews on here some complaints about lengthy check-in/check-out, but in our case it was all quite fast (because we were in a quiet period). If you need a few days of beach, only some 75 km from Sao Paulo, we recommend this place, but in busy (holiday)periods, we can imagine that everything will be different here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank eelco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelJequitimar, Gerente at Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We very much appreciate the response of our survey regarding your stay at the Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be extremely pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guaruja hotels
3.7 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Guaruja
Grand Hotel Guaruja
#1 of 24 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Transamerica Prime Guaruja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
#6 of 24 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
#2 of 24 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ferraretto Hotel
Ferraretto Hotel
#7 of 24 in Guaruja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar

Property: Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Address: Avenida Marjory da Silva Prado, No 1100 | 1100 Lote A - Praia de Pernambuco, Guaruja, State of Sao Paulo 11444-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guaruja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Guaruja
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guaruja
#3 Family Hotel in Guaruja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja is a 5 star hotel in Guaruja, located 130 km from Sao Paulo International Airport and 90 km from Congonhas Airport. Surrounded by the Atlantic Forest, in the Pernambuco Beach, the most charming Guaruja Beach in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The hotel offers 301 rooms and a Spa. A dream holiday location for couples and families, this hotel in Guaruja also features a major convention centre for events of up to 1,600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja Hotel Guaruja
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar Brazil - Sao Paulo
Guaruja Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing