We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, with some improvements it can be super good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Guaruja
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel, with some improvements it can be super good”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Half a year and at least 5 stays in this Sofitel later, I believe it’s time for an update (see my previous review from May 2009). The plastic bracelets are still there and very annoying to wear, especially after 3 or 4 days.

Reception: at all our stays, the staff at the reception is great; extremely friendly and more efficient every time. The kids club has improved. The fences outside have been replaced and children cannot open them by themselves. Inside, the button to call for the elevator is placed higher up and only adults or the older children can reach it. There seems to be more staff (including more nannies who personally can take care of the smaller children and there are more cleaning ladies too).

The restaurants: when the hotel is fully booked, the service in the restaurants can be very poor, they simply cannot handle these situations. On the other hand, when it’s quiet in the hotel, the service is great. Turn down service at night: I am still not sure what exactly to expect, yes: clean towels and chocolate, but (complimentary) drinking water? One night we got 2 bottles of drinking water in our room, the other 3 nights: no water. The same with a newspaper in the morning; one morning we received one, the other mornings: no newspaper.

My overall impression is that it’s a great hotel to spend a weekend when you want to escape from busy São Paulo and although they really do their best (most staff), this Sofitel still hasn’t reached the high standards you normally would expect at a Sofitel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Nathalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    529
    165
    53
    42
See reviews for
740
313
27
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Brazil with its long coast does not have enough high quality properties for weekenders especially in the Sao Paulo-Rio stretch. Sofitel Jequitimar begins to fill this void. The property is located at the end of a nice but not spectacular beach called Pernambuco which is about an hour drive from Sao Paulo in normal traffic conditions.

Rooms are well appointed with plasma TVs, decent cable selection, very comfortable bed, bathroom and accompanying amenities are good. Food is very good, excellent baguette as to be expected. Service is good but not yet seasoned. There is a good Kid's Club but clearly there is the need to have someone supervising it more closely. It is not that the stuff is not good but rather that there is not enough management. There is nobody really in charge. Pool service is very good, towels, toys etc however beach service leaves a lot to be desired. Well below the property's service standards, totally unacceptable. Internet access is just ridiculous: you have to buy a card. They do bring it to your room if you ask but come on, technology has evolved considerably...

There is a small mall next door with a good supermarket, pharmacy, a few fast food outlets, newstand, ATMs. Useful.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefoureyedpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This is an excellent resort near Sao Paulo. The service is outstanding. The pool was never crowded, the food was abundant and very good. The hotel is right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Hmmm, where to start.
Lets just say I expected more from a Sofitel Hotel.
The two hour car ride to get there was very pleasant, the roads were in excellent condition and the view was beautiful.
Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the valet... and there it began...
If you ever visited Cancun or a popular Spring Break destination, you will understand what I mean.... The front desk was packed. There were at least 6 clerks checking people in but the process was extremely slow and painful. Check in should be: check dates, rate, credit card swipe, sign, keys and out you go.... I hesitate everytime I have to fill in personal information in registration cards, if I do want the hotel to email/ contact me I usually give them this info in advance...
After waiting and signing, and getting that infamous plastic bracelet snapped on our wrist, we were ready to go to our room, which was not ready...
We were travelling w/ friends and the hotel made a mistake w/ the reservation. We had the reservation confirmation printout where it very clearly stated: 2 rooms for 1 night . But the hotel pre-charged our friend 3 rooms for one night. I understand if guests do not show up that their credit cards chould be charged, but the hotel HAD a credit card, and we DID show up.
When our friend noticed there was an extra room by mistake which was charged to his credit card and pointed this out, the clerk insisted that it was 3 rooms.... So much for the guest is always right...
Upon check-out, the hotel was unable to instantly refund the additional room they had charged by mistake. Lets hope he gets his refund sometime this year....
The room was nice and comfortable, although the A/C was extremely noisy. We even had to crank the volume up on our TV. The batroom was good, and their amenities were delicious.
We were taking a nap in the afternoon and suddenly, with out knocking, a housekeeper comes into our room and of course races our when they realized we were in there, sleeping. When I ran to the door to see who it was, they simply said they would come back later to turn our 2 twin beds into 1 king bed..... needless to say, they never came back.
The next morning we went for breakfast at 10:34 am. It closed at 10:30am (which, for a resort makes no sense to me that breakfast ends at this time) after some begging, the lady very kindly let us in. I wish she hadn't and we would have returned to our room and enjoyed delicious room service. Breakfast was buffet style and the restaurant was half full. Not one single waiter offered us water, coffee, juice... anything. As soon as we put something on our plate, the item was removed from the table, giving us a feeling of being rushed.
Check out was at noon and when our friend called to extend the time to 1 pm, the front desk said no... because an arriving guest was going to stay there... hmmm, I remember having to wait for my room, how peculiar.Aditionally how about giving the arriving guest another room and keeping another guest happy for one more hour? And when we did go to check at around 12:30 there was a LINE. Like one of those infamous Spring Break lines... Needless to say, we all checked out at around 1:15. And still they could not fix the mistake.
Long story short: hotel is nice, service is very poor

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.P.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I stayed in this hotel for a couple of days during the month of July. Although it is a very nice hotel with good facilities, I found mold growing near the sink and inside the shower. Added to that, a picture frame that was supposed to be hanging on the wall was just standing on the side and the hotel is still going under some remodeling, so you might find yourself trying to relax by the pool hearing hammering noises.

In spite of its great location, this hotel is overpriced and charges (R$ 30.00) per 24h of internet access (cabled or wi-fi).

  • Liked — Location: Just by one of the best beaches of Guarujá
  • Disliked — Noise, Mold in the bathroom and internet cost
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank C_Toyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We have now stayed for 2 weekends at this new Sofitel with our 2 kids aged 5 & 3. We all stayed in one deluxe seaview room with an additional bed & a conversion of the chaise-longe for the 3 year old. It is just a breath of fresh air to have a modern, stylish beach hotel (that accepts kids) so close to Sao Paulo. The location is good - Pernambuco beach is much nicer than Eseada beach. The hotel is also directly onto the beach. The buffet breakfast and lunch are well managed - never seeming busy when it was. The choice is great with International & Brazilian dishes. The quality excellent. We ate in the French restaurant in the evening and it was as good as any restaurant we've eaten in in Sao Paulo. The service was relaxed but attentive. Downsides - we have yet to stay at the hotel in the summer months but the cold pool was a turn-off, even on one of those 28 degree winter days, and the Spa wasn't finished yet. It is now. We had problems booking the hotel because we didn't have access to a fax to confirm our c/c signature. Crazy. Finally - the kids did not want to leave kids club - the highest recommendation from them! The evening 'kids movie & pop-corn' was great for grown-ups wanting a dinner alone.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja for 1 night over the weekend. The hotel was busy with conventions and people at the reception desk was somewhat lost. We were given a room key which didn't open, and had to return to the front desk to fix it. Next, nobody informed us that we had to insert the key somewhere next to the door to activate the lights in the room, and we had to ask a floor attendant about it. Then we waited in the room for nearly 20 minutes for our luggage, and had to return to the front desk to pick it, after 3 unsuccessful phone calls. That was the worst part.
The room, however, is lovely, large, well decorated, with a nice balcony, a very large bathroom and a wonderful shower. Very quiet. Wonderful super-king bed. The food is ok (we had feijoada for lunch), good quality but nothing out of the ordinary. The hotel is beautiful, right on the beach, beautifully landscaped, but it will be inaugurated by the end of the month. Therefore, it still lacks some finishing touches on the walls and floors. All in all, it was a good stay.

  • Liked — the room and the pool
  • Disliked — the gym at the pool - loud sound, too much noise
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARIA CRISTINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guaruja hotels
3.7 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Guaruja
Grand Hotel Guaruja
#1 of 25 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Transamerica Prime Guaruja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
Hotel Ilhas da Grecia
#6 of 25 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
Hotel Ilhas do Caribe
#2 of 25 in Guaruja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ferraretto Hotel
Ferraretto Hotel
#8 of 25 in Guaruja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar

Property: Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar
Address: Avenida Marjory da Silva Prado, No 1100 | 1100 Lote A - Praia de Pernambuco, Guaruja, State of Sao Paulo 11444-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Guaruja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Guaruja
#2 Spa Hotel in Guaruja
#3 Family Hotel in Guaruja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja is a 5 star hotel in Guaruja, located 130 km from Sao Paulo International Airport and 90 km from Congonhas Airport. Surrounded by the Atlantic Forest, in the Pernambuco Beach, the most charming Guaruja Beach in Sao Paulo, Brazil. The hotel offers 301 rooms and a Spa. A dream holiday location for couples and families, this hotel in Guaruja also features a major convention centre for events of up to 1,600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Jequitimar Guaruja Hotel Guaruja
Sofitel Guaruja Jequitimar Brazil - Sao Paulo
Guaruja Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing