We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muito bom.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Intercity The Universe Paulista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Intercity The Universe Paulista
Ranked #43 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Muito bom.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel muito bom, com quartos grandes e confortáveis. Ótima cama, ótimo chuveiro, piscina, sauna, internet wifi grátis. Em geral, um bom negócio!
Very good hotel, with large and comfortable rooms. Great bed, great shower, swimming pool, sauna, and free wifi. Good value!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brunospba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Google Translation
Olá Bruno,
Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário.
Ficamos felizes em perceber a sua satisfação.
Estamos a disposição para recebê-lo sempre que precisar.
Grande abraço!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    288
    72
    10
    12
See reviews for
100
147
27
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a great hotel. Although you will not find all the posh of a 5 or 4 star hotel, the premises of Universe Flat has everything: a good pool with a quiet nice terrace, a good restaurant, 24/7 room service, cleaning/towel renewal every day, laundry service, a fitness room with some good equipment (dumbbells lack however), sauna and friendly staff. The renovated room where I stayed in was very nice with a extraordinary view from the 15th floor over the city. Bathroom: small but big enough and clean. Kitchen: good; you can even cook here if you'd like. Refrigerator: good (not minibar like). Bed: very comfortable. Location: great, just 2 blocks from Avenida Paulista. If you leave the hotel and turn right you will find Markant restaurant just around the corner which offers a great kilo priced lunch buffet and good meat. This place is frequently used to house cabin staff of Delta Airlines. Be in time for breakfast (is till 10.00 but be there at 9.15 or earlier) or it may run out on busy days.

Room Tip: take room 2507 or alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene_Zaandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hello Rene,
Thanks for your comment.
We are happy to know you prefer our hotel.
We will be glad to receive you back in our hotel.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Universe Flat hotel is located on a quiet side street 2-3 blocks away al the action on the Paulista avenue. Very close to the MASP Trianon subway station. There are no stores or shops directly around the hotel. The hotel is a former apartment building, and if you set your mindset to "This is my personal apartment building on a quiet residential side street of Sao Paulo", instead of wishing for a luxury hotel, then you will enjoy your stay. They have a very nice breakfast buffet, and the building and rooms (apartments!) are nicely decorated and clean. I don't like the room numbering system (ex: room #1207 is located on the 2nd floor, but you must take the elevator to the right of the front desk to your room. If you take the elevator to the left of the front desk to the 2nd floor, you won't have access to room #1207 which is on the 2nd floor!) Why aren't rooms (for example) on the 6th floor, numbered 601, 602, 603, etc? It can be confusing. The pool and workout room are small, but nice. Yesterday, I was kicked out of the "business center" (just a desk with a computer and internet) while I was actually doing business, because the hotel staff member said some meetings were going on in nearby meeting rooms. And?? Anyway, the employees at the hotel are very nice although some front desk agents' English is limited. I've stayed twice and enjoyed my rooms, and the large equipped kitchenette's that come in the rooms are nice. Plastic water glasses should be replaced with glass, though. And my TV had cable, but no English stations. Everything was in Portuguese. The location of the hotel, is really great. You are in short walking distance to stores, restaurants, museums, clubs, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the recently renovated rooms, with flat screen TV's
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisDTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hello Chris,
Thanks for your comment.
We would like you to know that your suggestions were sent to the Manager of the hotel.
We will be glad to receive you back in our hotel.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed here for 10 weeks during the time we were looking for an apartment in Sao Paulo. You will find no service at all in this hotel. Only 1 person speaks English at the reception and she is not there very often. We got an invoice everytime our bill exceeded 500 Reais and even they blocked our keycard until we paid the amount. The internet in the room has problems almost every day, the WIFI in the lobby as well. They charged us unspecified "frigobar" with 12 Reais twice, which we never consumed. There is no parking included, but you can get a parking space for 10 Reais per day in the garage BUT you have to go to the reception every day and get the confirmation that you are staying in the hotel or the unfriendly guys in the garage won´t give you this "special price" - to present them your keycard is not enough. Breakfast is included but it is exactly the same every day. There is no security at all at the entrance. When we came home late at night they always let us in without asking. Nobody at the reception desk would ever greet one single guest. The carpet in our room was at least 10 years old and very dirty - you cannot walk on it barefoot. I cannot recommend this hotel at all!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicki2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hello Nicki,
Thanks for your comment.
We are sorry for any inconveniences you may have had in our hotel.
We would like you to know that your suggestions about english speakers, breakfast, security and carpet were sent to the Manager of the hotel, but we would like you to know we are making improvements in our hotel. We would be very happy to have the chance to receive you again.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days for her MBA classes and some sight seeing and although the hotel was OK, it is not in a great area. Not many of the front staff speak English and we actually had our laptop bag with her books stolen on the last day before we left in the lobby dining area in front of staff and other guests! A group of men in suits took our bag in a mere 15 seconds and walked out without incident! They managed to waltz to the back of the lobby and the security cameras were no deterrent. Afterwards, the hotel GM was not very helpful and thank god we had a coodinator with us to help translate. She managed to have the hotel pay for our taxi to the police station, but whn we checked out, they charged us fees for the cabs! They do not have any security in the lobby at all and they were not reactive at all! The WiFi internet stopped working after a few days and was a hotel wide problem and although there was free breakfast every morning as is the norm, it was not worth the price for the hotel. This incident turned what was an average stay into a very poor experience. You have to keep going down to pay after every 500 reals (every 2-3 days) and the lunch takes FOREVER... the staff is not service oriented or attentive at all. We will never come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcsnotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hello.
We would like to thank you for your comment. We apologize for the inconveniences, the Hotel Manager will soon hear about your suggestions regarding safety, wi-fi and service.
We would like you to give us another chance to reverse the situation so you can have a new opinion on the hotel.
Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Universe flat for ten or so days between last February and March. Although we enjoyed its location, we were really disappointed with the poor service quality and careless personnel, especially those two or three young women working at the reception desk. Rather shallow attitude towards their clients and lack of concerning when it came to follow their complaints. Besides, the flats have mainly dirty carpets which need a urgent change!!! We won't return to the Universe Flat in the future and advice anyone to reconsider his choice before making a final reservation. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GE69267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hello GE69267,
Thanks for your review.
We would like you to know that your comments were sent to the Manager of the hotel.
We would be very happy to have the chance to receive you again.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

I agree with everything the previous reviewer said. However, some of the extras are very expensive. I just spent 100 dollars to wash seven shirts and a pair of pants using their laundry service, and the guys at reception charged me 10 dollars for 20 blank pieces of letter paper from their laser printer.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterCity_hotels, Manager at Intercity The Universe Paulista, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Hello cpherzog,
Thanks for your review.
We would like you to know that your suggestions were sent to the Manager of the hotel.
You can always count on us to support you.
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Bela Vista
Paulista Wall Street Suites
Paulista Wall Street Suites
#78 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Bela Vista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
#35 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Bela Vista
H3 Hotel Paulista
H3 Hotel Paulista
#49 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#18 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Consolacao
Quality Suites Long Stay Bela Cintra
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#29 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intercity The Universe Paulista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intercity The Universe Paulista

Property: Intercity The Universe Paulista
Address: Rua Pamplona 83, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01405-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#51 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#59 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Intercity The Universe Paulista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From this January 2013 on, this hotel is 100% tobacco free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Intercity The Universe Paulista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Universe Flat - Intercity Hoteis Hotel Sao Paulo
Intercity The Universe Paulista Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing