We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sampa Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$77
US$69
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prodigy Berrini by GJP(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$72
US$68
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Sao Paulo Morumbi(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bourbon Convention Ibirapuera(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Landmark Residence(Sao Paulo)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
HB Hotels Ninety(Sao Paulo)
US$95
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
154
81
16
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
81
16
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvila madalenanice common areawalking distancelockerssubwayhammocksbackpackersnightlifesupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I really like my staying at Sampa Hostel. The staff and place is great. It's located in one of the best and safe neighboors of Sao Paulo, Vila Madalena.
Staff is very helpfull and speak fluent english.
Gonçalo and Deborah are amazing as the rest of the persons who worked there.
If I come back to SP definitely I'll go to Sampa Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMargaridaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I stayed one night with my girlfriend and Saturday in the mornig wake up was when they began to hit on the roof to fix some water infiltration.
I paid R$ 100 to haave a good rest, and they spoilt it. When I try to explain at the reception that for a 30 minute noisy repairing they could have waited the afternoon it didn't seem to make sense to them.
I wasn't informed the day before about the repair.
Conclusion is that guest here is just not considered as a customer.
Let alone icky breakfast.
Try another hostal if you like restful places with kid staff.
Jean

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jb_sampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Unfortunately, like the entire World, there are some storms in town on some seasons of the year. At that specific night, the one you slept at the hostel, there was a REALLY strong one. We never do repairs or maintenance on weekends or early in the morning, unless is extremely necessary, and that was the case! Because of the storm that night one part of the roof just flew away and we HAD TO ask the guy to fix it right away or the bedrooms on the first floor would be wet because of the rain.
When you came to the reception we tried to explain it to you, but you just didn’t let us do that. Instead of that you just kept screaming at the receptionist.
All our clients are important to us! The maintenance took just half hour and was done to help 30 people that were on the first floor!
We are very sorry that that happened while you were here, but we cannot control the weather and/or the storms.
Hope that you come back one day and enjoy all the other good things that the Hostel can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The staff was great. Breakfast was all right. The place is a bit disappointing. It could have more bathrooms. Common area is outdoors and I went in the winter so it got quite chilly.
I chose this hostel because of its area. My friend said it was one of the most safe and it was true. I was able to walk alone at night and felt ok. It's quite close to the subway (aprox 6 streets) but it's down steep hills. It was tiring after a while. The neighborhood is all about nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat_a1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Vila Madalena is one of the safest neighborhoods in town! There are a lot of bars, restaurants, coffee shops, but also there are lots of shops, art galleries, grocery stores, book shops, etc. So you can enjoy the area at day or night, depends of what you are looking for!
The Hostel has 4 dorms with bathroom inside (suites) and 3 dorms without. But there are 3 bathrooms outside. Maybe at the time that you were trying to use it they were busy, but, in average, they are enough to attend all the guests comfortably.
At our common area (downstairs) there is a TV room with a 42’’ television, cable TV, DVDs (all sort of movies to choose), books and board games. It’s very used when it’s winter because the guest can close the door and the window.
Outside the TV room, there is a space with tables and chairs, where people like to sit and talk to each other and have fun. We can close it with a plastic window! Probably you didn’t tell us that you were feeling cold, so we didn’t close the place.
Hope that you come back! We suggest that next time you try to come at summer time so you can enjoy the really hot days, it’s very pleasant to walk around and have fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriana B, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews