We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostel”
Review of Sampa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sampa Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice hostel”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

nice hostel, great breakfast, super friendly guys at the reception in a nice nighborhood, you never thought it will exist in sao paulo!

besos a nataly ;)
the guy who forgot his shorts at this great place

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebb96w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    80
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
15
84
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I don't usually stay in hostels, but with the quality of service here it hardly felt like one at all. Very friendly staff, I was impressed by the little things - our laundry was left outside to dry while we were out visiting and it started raining- the staff took it down and folded it for us. A nice breakfast is included in the price, including a panini press. We received free tickets to a party that normally has a large cover. The hostel is very close to a metro station. And the staff was very helpful with maps and suggestions of what to visit! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ismail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have a nice staying at this hostel. The staff is very helpful and I have noticed they have a good English since the place had many foreign travelers. But the best thing there is the location in the heart VIla Madalena - one of the better neighbors in São Paulo, surrounded by many pubs, restaurants and art galleries. And close to a subway station which takes you to Paulista Avenue in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luistesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I really like my staying at Sampa Hostel. The staff and place is great. It's located in one of the best and safe neighboors of Sao Paulo, Vila Madalena.
Staff is very helpfull and speak fluent english.
Gonçalo and Deborah are amazing as the rest of the persons who worked there.
If I come back to SP definitely I'll go to Sampa Hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMargaridaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I stayed one night with my girlfriend and Saturday in the mornig wake up was when they began to hit on the roof to fix some water infiltration.
I paid R$ 100 to haave a good rest, and they spoilt it. When I try to explain at the reception that for a 30 minute noisy repairing they could have waited the afternoon it didn't seem to make sense to them.
I wasn't informed the day before about the repair.
Conclusion is that guest here is just not considered as a customer.
Let alone icky breakfast.
Try another hostal if you like restful places with kid staff.
Jean

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jb_sampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Unfortunately, like the entire World, there are some storms in town on some seasons of the year. At that specific night, the one you slept at the hostel, there was a REALLY strong one. We never do repairs or maintenance on weekends or early in the morning, unless is extremely necessary, and that was the case! Because of the storm that night one part of the roof just flew away and we HAD TO ask the guy to fix it right away or the bedrooms on the first floor would be wet because of the rain.
When you came to the reception we tried to explain it to you, but you just didn’t let us do that. Instead of that you just kept screaming at the receptionist.
All our clients are important to us! The maintenance took just half hour and was done to help 30 people that were on the first floor!
We are very sorry that that happened while you were here, but we cannot control the weather and/or the storms.
Hope that you come back one day and enjoy all the other good things that the Hostel can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordoba, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The staff was great. Breakfast was all right. The place is a bit disappointing. It could have more bathrooms. Common area is outdoors and I went in the winter so it got quite chilly.
I chose this hostel because of its area. My friend said it was one of the most safe and it was true. I was able to walk alone at night and felt ok. It's quite close to the subway (aprox 6 streets) but it's down steep hills. It was tiring after a while. The neighborhood is all about nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nat_a1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Vila Madalena is one of the safest neighborhoods in town! There are a lot of bars, restaurants, coffee shops, but also there are lots of shops, art galleries, grocery stores, book shops, etc. So you can enjoy the area at day or night, depends of what you are looking for!
The Hostel has 4 dorms with bathroom inside (suites) and 3 dorms without. But there are 3 bathrooms outside. Maybe at the time that you were trying to use it they were busy, but, in average, they are enough to attend all the guests comfortably.
At our common area (downstairs) there is a TV room with a 42’’ television, cable TV, DVDs (all sort of movies to choose), books and board games. It’s very used when it’s winter because the guest can close the door and the window.
Outside the TV room, there is a space with tables and chairs, where people like to sit and talk to each other and have fun. We can close it with a plastic window! Probably you didn’t tell us that you were feeling cold, so we didn’t close the place.
Hope that you come back! We suggest that next time you try to come at summer time so you can enjoy the really hot days, it’s very pleasant to walk around and have fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Pinheiros
Golden Tower Hotel
Golden Tower Hotel
#125 of 325 in Sao Paulo
239 reviews
Pinheiros
Hostel Brasil Boutique
Hostel Brasil Boutique
#35 of 579 in Sao Paulo
75 reviews
Pinheiros
O de Casa Hostel
O de Casa Hostel
#29 of 579 in Sao Paulo
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cafe Hostel
#15 of 579 in Sao Paulo
136 reviews
Viva Hostel Design
#11 of 579 in Sao Paulo
144 reviews
Pinheiros
Garoa Hostel
Garoa Hostel
#22 of 579 in Sao Paulo
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Property: Sampa Hostel
Address: Rua Girassol 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05433-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 579 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing