We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING time in Vila Madelana”
Review of Sampa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sampa Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A great place to stay, and an even nicer staff to help you get settled while enjoying time or work in Sao Paulo, Brazil. As an American traveling to Brazil for the first time it was nice to have the small details handled by the Sampa hostel, such as a transfer to and from the airport upon arrival. Also, having staff who could speak English, and also who can teach you a few words in Portuguese really went a long way with me. I recently stayed at Sampa and was greeted with a smile every morning, and some of the best bread I've ever had to go along with my fresh fruit and coffee in the morning. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and I felt safe walking around the neighborhood at night. If it's your first time in SP, make sure to taste at least "um" Guaraná [Antarctica]

-JD

Room Tip: If you get the private room you may never want to leave!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JD_chopcertified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

nice hostel, great breakfast, super friendly guys at the reception in a nice nighborhood, you never thought it will exist in sao paulo!

besos a nataly ;)
the guy who forgot his shorts at this great place

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebb96w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I don't usually stay in hostels, but with the quality of service here it hardly felt like one at all. Very friendly staff, I was impressed by the little things - our laundry was left outside to dry while we were out visiting and it started raining- the staff took it down and folded it for us. A nice breakfast is included in the price, including a panini press. We received free tickets to a party that normally has a large cover. The hostel is very close to a metro station. And the staff was very helpful with maps and suggestions of what to visit! I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ismail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have a nice staying at this hostel. The staff is very helpful and I have noticed they have a good English since the place had many foreign travelers. But the best thing there is the location in the heart VIla Madalena - one of the better neighbors in São Paulo, surrounded by many pubs, restaurants and art galleries. And close to a subway station which takes you to Paulista Avenue in just a few minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luistesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I really like my staying at Sampa Hostel. The staff and place is great. It's located in one of the best and safe neighboors of Sao Paulo, Vila Madalena.
Staff is very helpfull and speak fluent english.
Gonçalo and Deborah are amazing as the rest of the persons who worked there.
If I come back to SP definitely I'll go to Sampa Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMargaridaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I stayed one night with my girlfriend and Saturday in the mornig wake up was when they began to hit on the roof to fix some water infiltration.
I paid R$ 100 to haave a good rest, and they spoilt it. When I try to explain at the reception that for a 30 minute noisy repairing they could have waited the afternoon it didn't seem to make sense to them.
I wasn't informed the day before about the repair.
Conclusion is that guest here is just not considered as a customer.
Let alone icky breakfast.
Try another hostal if you like restful places with kid staff.
Jean

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jb_sampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Unfortunately, like the entire World, there are some storms in town on some seasons of the year. At that specific night, the one you slept at the hostel, there was a REALLY strong one. We never do repairs or maintenance on weekends or early in the morning, unless is extremely necessary, and that was the case! Because of the storm that night one part of the roof just flew away and we HAD TO ask the guy to fix it right away or the bedrooms on the first floor would be wet because of the rain.
When you came to the reception we tried to explain it to you, but you just didn’t let us do that. Instead of that you just kept screaming at the receptionist.
All our clients are important to us! The maintenance took just half hour and was done to help 30 people that were on the first floor!
We are very sorry that that happened while you were here, but we cannot control the weather and/or the storms.
Hope that you come back one day and enjoy all the other good things that the Hostel can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The staff was great. Breakfast was all right. The place is a bit disappointing. It could have more bathrooms. Common area is outdoors and I went in the winter so it got quite chilly.
I chose this hostel because of its area. My friend said it was one of the most safe and it was true. I was able to walk alone at night and felt ok. It's quite close to the subway (aprox 6 streets) but it's down steep hills. It was tiring after a while. The neighborhood is all about nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nat_a1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Gerente at Sampa Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Vila Madalena is one of the safest neighborhoods in town! There are a lot of bars, restaurants, coffee shops, but also there are lots of shops, art galleries, grocery stores, book shops, etc. So you can enjoy the area at day or night, depends of what you are looking for!
The Hostel has 4 dorms with bathroom inside (suites) and 3 dorms without. But there are 3 bathrooms outside. Maybe at the time that you were trying to use it they were busy, but, in average, they are enough to attend all the guests comfortably.
At our common area (downstairs) there is a TV room with a 42’’ television, cable TV, DVDs (all sort of movies to choose), books and board games. It’s very used when it’s winter because the guest can close the door and the window.
Outside the TV room, there is a space with tables and chairs, where people like to sit and talk to each other and have fun. We can close it with a plastic window! Probably you didn’t tell us that you were feeling cold, so we didn’t close the place.
Hope that you come back! We suggest that next time you try to come at summer time so you can enjoy the really hot days, it’s very pleasant to walk around and have fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Pinheiros
Garoa Hostel
Garoa Hostel
#25 of 601 in Sao Paulo
169 reviews
Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
The Hostel Vila Mariana
#5 of 601 in Sao Paulo
324 reviews
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#8 of 601 in Sao Paulo
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
Mama Brasil Hostel
Mama Brasil Hostel
#10 of 601 in Sao Paulo
249 reviews
Viva Hostel Design
#12 of 601 in Sao Paulo
150 reviews
Cafe Hostel
#16 of 601 in Sao Paulo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Address: Rua Girassol 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05433-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 601 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £8 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing