We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sampa Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sampa Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

What I loved about the hostel was it's location. It's in Villa Madalena which is where I would live if I had to move to São Paulo. Laid back, adorable area. The dorms are standard and clean. The common area is fine. The staff is helpful. I would stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bmarcoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah_Cavalieri, Manager at Sampa Hostel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hope to see you again, thanks for your words! Best regards, Sampa Hostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    76
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
14
82
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baar, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hostel is very cosy and charming. The staff is very friendly and helps you with everything you need. The rooms are simple but clean and they do have lockers. The breakfast is included and very nice. And they still have computers with free Internet access for people who are travelling without smart phone-like me :) The hostel is located in a very nice area, you find a lot of art galleries and shops, shops with handmade things, a big library (they even have English books! ;), as well as restaurants and bars. Some blocks away there are also typical shops for shoes, clothes, ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I love this place, clean, well equipped friendly hostal in the great location of Villa Madalena, the super cool are of Sao Paulo. But whats really special about this hostal is the staff working there. They are all very nice and make you feel really welcome there. They help you with all your little requests and know a lot about the city and what tourists might need. I could feel they are enjoying their job. I hope to be able to come back soon, cheers guys :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed at Sampa Hostel for three nights and was very pleased. The environment was so nice and the staff so helpful and friendly so it felt like we had knew them for a year. Well almost. We got maps and all the advices we needed. The breakfasts was also one of the best on my trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I stayed 12 days at the Sampa Hostel, and I highly recommend it! The location is great -- right in the center of Vila Madalena, a stone's throw from great bars and restaurants. Friendly staff, they took me in as a part of their family and made my time in Brazil very memorable! Thank you Sampa!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PistolaGuitarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We felt good accommodated at the Sampa Hostel. It was clean and nice. Especially the staff of the Hostel should be remaked positivly, Petro and Natalie gave us good advice for sightseeing and helped by booking the next hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GITW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

the staff was very friendly especially pedro the receptionist with his insider-tips was extremely helpful! also the breakfast was very good and the bedrooms also! i was very content with this hostel! all in all i would highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tzehet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Pinheiros
Hostel Brasil Boutique
Hostel Brasil Boutique
#47 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Consolacao
Bee.W Hostel
Bee.W Hostel
#5 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Pinheiros
O de Casa Hostel
O de Casa Hostel
#31 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Viva Hostel Design
#10 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Cafe Hostel
#16 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Villa Hostel
#7 of 546 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampa Hostel

Property: Sampa Hostel
Address: Rua Girassol 519 | Via Madalena, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05433-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Pinheiros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 546 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sampa Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for people with young spirit who look for an environment of integration, with an affordable price and safety as if they were in a hotel.Sampa Hostel is part of Hostelling International and is located in the center of Vila Madalena, a super cool neighborhood full of bars, clubs, restaurants and art galleries.Offering single, double, couple and family rooms and also dorms, Sampa Hostel has a 24 hour reception, personalized service and bilingual staff ready to provide full information on what to do in the city, where to go and how to arrive.Sampa Hostel is certificated as one of the Quality Hostels from HI.We are waiting for you to show the largest city in South America, in a totally different way that you have never seen so far. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Sampa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampa Hostel Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing