We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No parking, no wi-fi, not possible to check-in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo
Ranked #118 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Serra Negra, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No parking, no wi-fi, not possible to check-in”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I knew that this classic old downtown hotel had been renovated completely about 18 months ago so when I needed a place to stay in the city centre I booked it. I used booking.com to make my booking and specified that I wanted wi-fi internet, car parking, and I noted that the room would be available from noon. When I arrived to check-in at 3pm they said the room is not ready yet, but I could leave my bag and come back later. Not good enough. When I insisted on checking in they eventually found a room, then when I asked for the wi-fi password they said that there is no wi-fi. There is also no car parking at the hotel - they let workers from a local car park come and fetch the cars. I was very disappointed. A city centre hotel that has recently been renovated should certainly have internet - this is not 1998. And to tell online hotel booking sites that wifi and parking is available is quite naughty when it is not. I would certainly not bother returning now as there are many city centre options with free parking and wifi!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhillary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    128
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
35
19
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

If you want to experience the historical centre of Sao Paulo, the Maraba hotel was certainly a nice choice. I thought the area around the hotel was very safe. Dont worry!
The rooms are very small, but functional. We stayed there for two nights and then flew to Rio.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbraunsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
244 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Staff here are very friendly and correct. We also managed to get a price of 260 Rais per night, which was below internet price (around 300) and way below standard price (420 rais). The hotel is great for a walk around the old town, which today is more of a dystopia (read Gotham city), but which used to be one of the finest cities in South America only a few generations ago. The plendid architectyure is still there for all to see, but the houses have to a large extent been abandoned, occupied by criminals and drug addicts. The place is not safe to walk in after dark, even though there is a police on every street now, for Brasil to show they are doing something about crime before the Olympics.

The only problem with the hotel is that there are few good places to eat in this part of town. You mostly have to go to Jardins area, south of Ave. Paulista.

We also ecountered a curiopus problem; there were only warm water one night and the following morning, making a shower impossible. We addressed the problem and it was fixed duing the second day, it appeared, but hotel management never acknowledged the problem after it was fixed. Instead we saw a sticker in the shower, hinting that this could be a reoccuring problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. The staff were extremely warm and friendly upon our arrival. Check in was a breeze even though neither of us speaks Portuguese. The room was very contemporary and modern. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTravel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Finding comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation with a decent level of service in Sao Paulo is becoming a challenge. This place is relatively new (a renovation of a near derelict property), and if it continues in the way it is being run it could be well worth considering.

Rooms, well, OK, my room! - was a decent size, well set out and decorated in cheerful colours, had a comfortable bed and a functional bathroom. And (hurrah!) free wifi. Breakfast was fine for me - not lavish but a good start to the day: more importantly, it was included in the room rate. I'm told there's a gym, but sadly that's not really my thing, so I have no idea how well equipped it is.

I note some reviewers weren't happy with their rooms. I had no problem at all - but it's probably wise to ask to see a couple of rooms before you commit to one.

Reception was staffed by friendly, helpful folk.

That rate was comfortably over $100, discounted from the "rack rate" of BRL270. It's a big hotel, so probably worth asking for a discount if you are booking directly with them. The rate included taxes, which avoids one of the nasty surprises you can get at check out.

The compromise you make for the not-so-bad rate at a nice hotel is the area. Centro had a lousy reputation, and parts of it can feel threatening as it gets dark and the busy sreets empty. But the area is recovering as smart cafes and restaurants open, and hotels open: there's a Novotel nearby, a couple of smarter, pricier, establishments and one (the Bourbon) which is very similar to the Maraba, and possibly better situated.

The Maraba is on the principal avenue of Centro, a busy commercial zone, next to one of the most famous music bar/cafes in the city, the Brahma bar. This is located by the road junction thought of as the very heart of the city.

In tourism terms, the bonus of the hotel is the closeness of the airport bus terminus and Republica metro station, and Republica Park itself (handicraft market and Sunday art market). The municipal theatre (opera, concerts), cathedral and Sao Bento monastery are all within an easy walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

we pulled up and nobody came to the car to open the doors and they looked at us funny when we asked where to park the car, nobody spoke English, They don't have irons in the room and it cost over $20 to iron two shirts!! The room was tiny with the bed not even 2 feet from the door. As far as location is concerned there is only ONE bar/restaurant to go to within a 3 block vicinity called Bar Brahma...absolutely nothing else around other than sex shops and seedy stores. The only reason why I didn't gave this is a 'terrible' rating is because the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgrassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ituporanga
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have stayed there one night during a business trip. We have a very pleasant stay in a very confortable room. Good service and a very good breakfast also. I would recomend this hotel for all businees travellers in Sao Paulo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiano_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Republica
Hotel Excelsior Sao Paulo
Hotel Excelsior Sao Paulo
#105 of 321 in Sao Paulo
364 reviews
Cinelandia Hotel
#146 of 321 in Sao Paulo
208 reviews
Republica
Bourbon Sao Paulo Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Republica
San Juan Business Sao Paulo
San Juan Business Sao Paulo
#119 of 321 in Sao Paulo
214 reviews
Republica
Timbiras Hotel
Timbiras Hotel
#188 of 321 in Sao Paulo
98 reviews
Republica
Nobile Hotel Downtown
Nobile Hotel Downtown
#62 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo

Property: Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo
Address: Avenida Ipiranga 757 | Centro, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01039-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Republica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maraba Hotel Sao Paulo Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing