We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty. Unhelpful staff. Ok location.”
Review of LimeTime Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LimeTime Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dirty. Unhelpful staff. Ok location.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here during the world cup. It's a good location, but the place is very rundown, dirty and the atmosphere nothing special - the 'bar' is just a garage, which was only opened up once in the 5 days we were there. The staff were more concerned with themselves than the guests, messing us around with checkin times (we were told to come back after the guy had finished eating his lunch) and generally being pretty unfriendly - the exception being the owner, who was only there occasionally. I certainly wouldn't go back to this place and wouldn't recommend it - it's got all the bits you have to suck up about hostels (dodgy showers, smelly rooms etc.) but with none of the atmosphere or friendliness that can make staying in them worth it.

Room Tip: All the rooms smell but the one on the ground floor is also very noisy due to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    183
    54
    24
    19
See reviews for
5
26
232
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I just wanna say: Thanks! . I had really good time, knowing new people around the world. The LimeTime Hostel Team is amazing , I have been in Sao Paulo and Rio, the same great experience, 12 days in Brasil... was so fun! , thanks guys! you are the best!!!!
Clean, Save, Friendly, great Caipi! ....!!!!
Regards from Perú!
Kike!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kike_el_Gallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a good experience in general. The only bad thing ( and very bad) was that the bathrooms were totally messed up ( flooded ) and the smell was unbearable. The staff didn't seem to mind much about it.
We had to take showers in the other bathrooms and they were far away in the next building.
The staff was nice.
We wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Nice friendly hostel located in an ideal area of Sao Paulo. About 2 mins from Paulista Avenue and close to Metro. Extremely safe neighbourhood and security was faultless inside the hostel. Also liked that there was a power socket inside the lockers, very practical. Very friendly and helpful staff. The free drink every night was great. Made it so easy to meet people in the bar area. There was a notice board in the dining area with lots of free things to do in the city which was a nice touch. A breakfast option would have been nice and sometimes cleanliness wasn't quite 100% but overall I'd highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tjheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

All the reviews I read only mentioned the good location and the friendly staff, none of them really described the real experience at the hostel.
1) No option for breakfast.
2) No air conditioning in the room, only one ceiling fan for 8 beds.
3) Room I was staying in was next to lobby and by the main road so it was extremely noisy at night because of the street since the tiny tiny so-called window had to be opened for us breathe. Room smelled because everyone was sweating and there was no fresh air.
4) There is NO regulation of guests AT ALL. People walk in your room and walk out LOUDLY and with no respect for others and even leave the door opened while others are sleeping at night or trying not to be awake by 7am. People also turn on the lights, talk loudly as if there is no one in the room. You can't sleep past 8am because the lobby gets crowded with people with loud voices, even music gets put on. The staff should at least make sure the door to the room stay closed and ask people not to shout.
5) The beds are in very bad shape. The mattresses are like a peace of wood.

I believe the high ratings are mainly for its location and friendly staff, nothing else. For all the other factors, I STRONGLY DO NOT recommend this hostel. I have traveled a LOT and my experience at this hostel was really bad. It is cheap, good location and friendly staff, but lacks all other important criteria of a good hostel.

Room Tip: Make sure not to be put in the room by the lobby. But I recommend you do not stay at this hostel at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Habib K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I visited Sao Paulo in October 2013. I chose this hostel based on reviews from another website. This is a great and friendly environment. It is definitely a hostel that has a family feel. As a solo travel, it was great to stay at a place that allowed me to connect with many interesting people from around the world. It is located in a safe part of the city, close to a large mall, next door to a convenient store, and a large supermarket a few blocks down. For those that are looking to enjoy the cities nightlife, limetime is relatively close the infamous Rua Augusta...where one can find a lot of trouble ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

カーニバル滞在の為、約10日間ほど 利用させてもらいました。

駅からも近く、徒歩1分内に身の回り品が買えるスーパーもあり。(更に徒歩5分では、簡単な家電や日用・衣類品等も売っている量販店も!)周辺の道も明るく(オフィスワーカーが歩いています)立地は本当に便利で最高でした。
ホステルの外観やスタッフさん、利用客も皆さんとても良い雰囲気です!

ただ・・・
残念ながら、旅の後半。夜は快眠できませんし部屋に荷物も安心しておけませんでしたので、仕方なく当初の予定を変更し、宿をうつりました。

何故なら、知らない内に同伴者が沢山のBed bug(ダニ・ノミもいたかもしれませんが、症状からするとたぶんBed bugです)の被害にあっており、ちょうど宿泊して7日目から両手、両足、首、見てはいられないぐらい赤い発疹が出て、相当かゆくて辛そうでした。。。。

実は、こちらの口コミで”ダニがいる?”といった書き込みがあったので、

念の為、私は寝袋と日本から水で使えるダニアースを持参しました。2日目にダニアースを宿泊した部屋(プライベートルーム)でやってはみたものの、、、このような被害にあったので、きっと部屋で沢山見たものは、ダニではなくやはり4日~7日後ぐらいにブツブツが出る症状も一致していたので、Bed bugだったんだと思います。(ダニが全くいないとは言い切れませんが、、、)

私は初日から寝袋を持参し、嫌な予感がして用心していたので、帰国3日たった今でも被害にあった気配は出ておりませんが、

姉は相当大変な目にあいました。とてもリーズナブルな宿ですし、自身が選んで宿泊した場所なので中傷するつもりはありませんが、

これ以上、被害者が出て、せっかくの楽しい旅が台無しになるのが可愛そうなので、
真実を参考までに書き込みます。


This is where a good location very close to supermarkets, also from the station.
Staff helpful, I just people guests also good.
However, before the two weeks that you intend to stay initially passed, we no longer need out of here.

Because, My sister that stayed together were victims of a lot of bedpag!!!!
When bitten by a pedpag, rash is out and it's itchy About a week later.
Although we had been using a pillow and bedding without knowing,
I've noticed that there are a lot of bedpag one week after!!

Does not intend to slander because we stayed in this hostel in our intention, but the I do not want victim any more out. So, write the fact.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Bela Vista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
#36 of 321 in Sao Paulo
640 reviews
Bela Vista
Maksoud Plaza
Maksoud Plaza
#41 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,983 reviews
Golden Tulip Paulista Plaza
#33 of 321 in Sao Paulo
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 321 in Sao Paulo
984 reviews
Jardins
The Hostel Paulista
The Hostel Paulista
#10 of 568 in Sao Paulo
557 reviews
Vila Mariana
Brazilodge All Suites Hostels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LimeTime Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LimeTime Hostels

Property: LimeTime Hostels
Address: Rua Treze de Maio 1552, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01327-002, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 568 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LimeTime Sao Paulo is taking a break! If you're looking for a party, LimeTime Hostel could be the place for you. Along with having a bar on the premises and no curfew, the hostel staff goes the extra mile by taking their guests out clubbing and even providing discount admissions. The hostel provides private rooms and dorms, with one dorm designed for women only. Bed linens are included in the price. Other amenities include a guest kitchen, free Internet access and a TV with DVDs in the reception area. Bathroom facilities are shared with one designated for women only. LimeTime is located two blocks from Avenida Paulista. This hostel is lively and fun but if you're not into the party scene, it might not be the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your LimeTime Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LimeTime Hostels Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing