We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners Attention to Details Shows”
Review of Hostel Alice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Alice
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Owners Attention to Details Shows”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I am writing this after my 3rd stay at Hostel Alice in the last year. I love this little hostel that is more like a guest house in the Bohemian enclave of Vila Madalena in Sao Paulo for several reasons. Of course it has all the things you would expect from a top hostel. Super clean, organized, friendly and knowledgeable staff that are multilingual, high speed secure internet, great location a block from the metro subway stop, new comfortable mattresses, hot showers, some rooms with air-con if you need it, a beautiful backyard to lounge in and always an interesting mix of world travelers who are globetrotting as well as Brazilians using the hostel for a business trip to Sao Paulo. But I think the most important part of why this hostel is so successful is that it's owner, Alice, is here at the hostel often and her attention to the detail's of running a top hostel is apparent. Of the 200+ hostels I have stayed in over the past 36 months in 96 countries so far, I put this hostel in the top 20 or top 10% of all hostels worldwide. Nice work Alice & Team!

Room Tip: Back rooms have less street noise than the front dorm does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    31
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
10
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Last summer I travelled around South America staying in 7 hostels in 4 countries and I can honestly say Hostel Alice was the best!
Its located near a subway station and a grocery store, with a nice big kitchen and common room.
The dorm rooms are nice and very clean and the staff are all outstanding!
They are an eco friendly hostel too which is nice and they organize really cool activities as well. Its a friendly cool place with a great vibe and I would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjaminap84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at this hostel, it's in a very good, safe area of Sao Paolo - Vila Madalena - and a 5 min walk from the metro so very convenient. Very friendly hostel, choice of 4, 6 or 8 bed dorms. All very clean and quite spacious. Excellent clean bathroom. Great breakfast with so much food including cake! I definitely recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilbao, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

It’s a newly open hostel close to Vila Madalena metro station. The hostel is superclean and nicely decorated, it has a wonderful common space (lounge and the kitchen) and very fast free internet.
The breakfast is included and there are many things to chose from, including the freshly baked banana cake.
The 8-person dorm was a little small but it had air conditioning so it was fairly well ventillated.
There are lockers to be used for free, but if you don’t have a padlock, you’ll be charged 5 reais. Bedding is provided but towels are not – but they rent them out for a couple of reais.
In general, I expected something basic, but I got something very comfortable within my budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed in SP one night and booked this hostel last min based on trip advisor reviews, we were not disappointed.

Very easy to get too from subway.

Lovely area with heaps of fab bars and restaurants around. Very safe area also.

Place has a grt vibe. So welcoming and chilled. You could happily sit around the hostel all the day.

The staff go out of their way to help you. Recommending things to do, places to eat, how to get places etc Denise even very kindly booked bus tickets for us over the phone :)

The hostel is spotless.

Grt bathrooms.

Very nice dorms, bright, airy, spacious.

Loved it, would stay longer if had time.

Only thing I could possibly say bad, and this is really grasping for something, anything to say there was not enough power sockets in bedroom......,

Could not recommend this place more.

Oh and duvets!!!!!!!best night sleep since started travelling!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTaker050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Let me start off by saying that from the airport it takes a bus and 3 trains to get there but a great thing about the commute is the sight seeing. The trip only took about an hr. when I arrived I was greeted, in processed, given a tour and settled all in about 10 min. The rooms are clean which to me is very important. 3 bathrooms. Free wifi and plenty of outlets to charge ur devices. Huge lockers but honestly this place has such an honest vibe u really don't feel u need to use them. U have to be buzzed in so u always know whose in the house. The breakfast is cool, kinda like a Brazilian continental. Lol. Bathrooms are cleaned daily by the housekeeper, HOT WATER and trust me that is greatly appreciated. The neighborhood is kinda upscale so u definitely feel safe. I walked up and down the streets at almost midnight and felt right at home. Easy access to the metro and busses. If you forgot something back home there is a convenient store right up the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahiptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
0.1 mi away
Zen Hostel
Zen Hostel
#31 of 571 in Sao Paulo
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Namoa Hostel
Namoa Hostel
#80 of 571 in Sao Paulo
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
JS Hostel
JS Hostel
#115 of 571 in Sao Paulo
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Viva Hostel Design
Viva Hostel Design
#11 of 571 in Sao Paulo
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe Hostel
Cafe Hostel
#15 of 571 in Sao Paulo
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kera Smart Hostel
Kera Smart Hostel
#79 of 571 in Sao Paulo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Alice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Alice

Property: Hostel Alice
Address: Rua Harmonia 1275 | one block away from Vila Madalena subway station and bus terminal, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05435-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Alice 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Alice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Alice Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing