We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Good Location, and a Fair Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leques Brasil Hotel Escola
Ranked #100 of 326 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2012

This hotel is situated within a short walking distance (3 minutes downhill; 5 min if you are slow) from the metro station São Joaquim (Blue Line 1). The staff is very friendly and always open for a quick chat. The area is safe and much cleaner than the city centre, though that is not hard. The best way to reach the hotel from GRU (São Paulo International Airport) is to take a bus outside of Terminal 1+2 to Portuguesa-Tietê. Once you have reached this bus terminal you can just take the Blue Line to São Joaquim.

The WIFI is free and available in all rooms. The breakfast offers a good selection of fruits, cereals, and juices. The coffee is not bad (much better than in Chile) and will do the trick. All in all, the Leques is a nice and clean hotel with good service at a fair price compared to other places in São Paulo.

Room Tip: Use the rooftop pool even if the weather is not that good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dominik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

The Hotel Leques Escola Sao Paulo and the surrounding area:
The hotel is located in Liberdade – the former Japanese and now also Korean and Chinese quarter of Sao Paulo. This is a safe area full of restaurants and great for shopping. The Metro Sao Joaquim is located a five minute walk away and you reach the centre of Sao Paulo in a few minutes. The Hotel Leques Escola is one of the newest three star hotels in Sao Paulo, it is still looking fresh and definitely deserves a fourth star. It offers a nice rooftop pool with a terrace, where you can spend a lazy time after strolling through the streets of Sao Paulo.

The Service:
Professional, quick and friendly check-in. I had to change my reservation before my arrival and the reservation agency did not inform the hotel, but the staff at the reception did their utmost to solve this problem. Service during my whole stay was very good – attentive and courteous. Good recommendations about sights and restaurants from the concierge. The reception staff speaks very good English, important in a city where the most people do not.

The Room:
I stayed in an about 300 square feet spacious room (91, ninth floor) with a view of downtown through floor-to-ceiling windows which you can open. Well equipped with Flat TV, A/C, writing desk, safe, comfortable beds and free Wi-Fi. Generous bathroom with large shower and nice lemon scented amenities. The complete interior looked fresh and tasteful.

The Food:
The buffet-breakfast was included in my rate and offered a comprehensive selection with fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, different cakes (for the sweet tooth..) and more.

All in all:
This is the best place to stay in Sao Paulo if you do not want to pay a fortune. The mixture of friendly and efficient service, convenient location in a safe area and comfortable rooms make this hotel a winner.

Things you have to see and to do:
Sao Paulo is a huge city, but with the (reliable) Metro you reach most of the sights without a problem. The Pinacoteca do Estado and the MASP museum are both very interesting as is the Museo Afro Brasil in the verdant Ibirapuera Parque. The view from one of the skyscrapers (Edificio Italia, Edificio Martinelli or Banespa) is really impressive. The Jardins area is nice for strolling with the Trianon Parque like a little jungle in the city, full of birds and butterflies. I enjoyed a great exhibition about the history of Brazil at the Instituto Cultural Tomie Ohtake (very interesting and changing exhibitions, free entry, situated in Faria Lima). Last but not least, do not miss a stroll through the Mercado Municipal, get free samples of delicious tropical fruits and eat an enormous and tasty mortadella sandwich.

Room Tip: All rooms have the same size. Higher floors have better views and are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank audax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Sao Paulo is actually more expensive than Europe or US. For this fact, the price I paid for this hotel is OK, about 86USD/night. Location is not the best, although the area seems safe. It is located a bit out of the Japanese quarter, close a metro station. A lot of students in the surroundings. Breakfast is OK, but not as many choices as reviewers have written here. Next time, if I could not find better alternative, especially in terms of location, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I made a reservation at this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor, and can safely say the high rating is fully deserved. Reservation via e-mail was quick and efficient, the room is low-key stylish (not too big, but very well organized) and excellent breakfast. Everything works well and the check-in, with Michel and Nacio was easily the friendliest reception ever received. Compliments! The location was very good for my purposes, at the edge of the Japan-town ‘Liberdade’, with excellent restaurants, and 200 metres from the subway station which can shuttle one directly into the city centre or towards Jardins. The price was more than reasonable and Wifi was free.

Check-out with Angelica (and later Tatiana, who didn't seem very friendly) was not on the same professional level as Michel's team, but I guess that just underlines that no hotel can be perfect. Very highly recommended, and I hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Moritz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was my first night in Brazil from the UK so I was hoping to feel welcome and secure, the hotel is in a busy area near local shops and eateries and 300 yards from a tube station. From the airport we paid R$110 to get a taxi which i was advised by my local friend was a fair price, the journey took 35-45 minutes in light late evening traffic.

The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming, my Brazilian friend (I had come for her wedding) had decided to come and meet me at the airport for a suprise but I had sadly missed her, she had contacted the hotel and the hotel made it their mission to reunite us, thanks to the staff on the evening of Tuesday 23rd October doing this my friend found us and took us out for a wonderful night in Sao Paulo, thank you.

The staff spoke perfect English and always with a big smile, the room was lovely and well presented and of course very clean! Again the tube station is 2-300 yards (2 minute walk) from the hotel and that connects you with the whole city.

If I had to say one thing that could be improved it would be that guests get free use of the computers, currently it is R$4 (about 1 Pound 50) for an hour, though not essential for me it would be a wonderful extra. But having said this, if you have your own laptop there is free fast WIFI for all.

Sao Paulo is a fast paced city that has a beating heart, this hotel gave us a lovely peaceful retreate to rest and feel at home.

Room Tip: Go to the top floor and see the roof top pool! Also the higher up tooms were lovely and had great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I have stayed dozens of times in this city in many hotels and can confirm that this is the best cost/benefit deal around. The hotel is brand new. Bathrooms, beds, aircons, TV etc, everything perfect. I could not believe the price I was quoted and was sure it was a mistake. I would not be surprised if the raise prices significantly within long. I have been at hotels that cost 3 times as much and are not half as good. Good pool, free internet, fantastic and helpful attitude by the staff, great breakfast and 100 m to the Metro. I really do not see any reason to stay anywhere else in the future. Impossible to be disappointed with this. Clearly, it is not a 5 star hotel, but pass perfectly well as a good 4 star.

Room Tip: I had a room at the 9th floow with great views and absolutely no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank International999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice hotel very attentive to needs. Good breakfast in morning with lots of options. They also gave breakfast for us to takeaway when we had a really early flight. would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leoniesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Liberdade
Nikkey Palace Hotel
Nikkey Palace Hotel
#185 of 326 in Sao Paulo
207 reviews
Bela Vista
Hotel Mercure Sao Paulo Bela Vista
Bela Vista
Missouri Hotel
Missouri Hotel
#204 of 326 in Sao Paulo
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Mariana
Mercure Sao Paulo Paraiso
Mercure Sao Paulo Paraiso
#81 of 326 in Sao Paulo
676 reviews
Consolacao
Hotel Novotel Sao Paulo Jaragua Convention
Republica
Hotel Boulevard Inn Sao Paulo
Hotel Boulevard Inn Sao Paulo
#88 of 326 in Sao Paulo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leques Brasil Hotel Escola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leques Brasil Hotel Escola

Address: Rua Sao Joaquim 216, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01508-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Liberdade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#23 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £53 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leques Brasil Hotel Escola 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leques Brasil Hotel Escola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leques Brasil Hotel Escola Sao Paulo, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing