We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive ... but the service reflects that”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Ranked #6 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expensive ... but the service reflects that”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Sao Paulo, over the course of the last couple of years, has become one of the most expensive cities in the world. It is even more expensive now than it was right after the Real Plan was introduced back in the mid nineties. So, be prepared to pay ludicrous prices for everything.

Even with my company's discounted company rate, we ended up paying a good deal for our room. The hotel is ideal for us, as it is walking distance to the office we were visiting, so that was nice. The service was good, the lounge on the top floor had good amenities, and we felt safe during our whole visit.

Lot's of good places to eat within walking (or a short taxi ride) distance.

Be warned that this hotel has probably one of the slowest elevators of any 25-story hotel I have even stayed at, and at any given time, one or two of the elevators were out of order.

They were very accommodating with an early check-in, which was nice. Also, since our flight left in the evening, they extended for us our lounge privileges, and offered us a shower before leaving for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surreyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our Club Lounge and the service provided there. Our pricing is in line with similar Hotels in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and facilities. Regarding the elevators, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced – and would like to inform that the elevators are again operating normally. We will certainly consider your feedback about the speed of the elevators on our next renovation. We look forward to welcoming you back at our Hotel during your next visit to Sao Paulo!

Julio Morassi | Director of Engineering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    549
    110
    29
    22
See reviews for
175
484
115
935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The hotel boasts good facilities and is located at the heart of Jardins, a trendy neighbourhood full of shops and great restaurants. The hotel staff is committed to delivery excellent service and are extremely friendly too! It is pricy though, but anyone would find hard to find a good hotel with affordable rates in SP.

Room Tip: Whether possible stay in a floor with access to the Executive Lounge, probably among the best I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avaotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are very fortunate to be located in Jardins, such a great neighborhood for our guests, where they can not only do important business, but also experience the best of Sao Paulo. I will share your kind words with our entire staff. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit!

Gil Zanchi | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It's hard to be objective about a hotel that costs so much - you have to separate that from the hotel and just accept Sao Paulo for the unbelievably expensive city it is.

Having said that, this is a perfectly nice hotel along the lines of an upscale mainstream Marriott or Sheraton in any major American city. Is it worth $500/night for the room alone? No, of course not. But it's fine and clean and absolutely nice enough.

But the one thing that is worth spending on - especially if you are traveling for business - is the club level. The business lounge is excellent, with great views, good food for breakfast, snacks all day, appetizers and a full bar for dinner, and free wifi. All in all, if you're coming to Brazil to work as I was, this lounge proved invaluable and made the hotel more than worth it.

Room Tip: Get a club room on a high floor - great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dansac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great luxury hotel experience! I stayed here for work twice and enjoyed it. Swanky entry with lots of space, lounge, bar....very sexy and great place to enjoy a drink.

Small rooms, but nice. Excellent service. Very nice and modern banquet rooms to host business events. The catered food for my event was excellent....better event than I envisioned.

Smallish pool that gets sun at the right time of day. Nothing exceptional about it, but nice to have. I actually lost my voice during one of my stays and the front desk kept sending complimentary tea. Very thoughtful and helpful staff all around.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo,Brazil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed at the Renaissance Sao Paulo for only 01 night as part of a Christmas gift for my girlfriend.
When I arrived at the hotel by car, I was already concerned about the cost for parking, so I asked how much it was before doing it....R$ 35, the valet said...R$ 40, that's how much I really paid. (very expensive!!!)
As you enter the hotel, you will notice that the lobby's ceiling is really high and entire lobby is amazing, with a beautiful bar in the middle and dark furniture all over. Real classy and good-taste!
Our room was amazing...high floor, extra towels and feather-free, just like I requested while making the reservation on-line.
We also ordered an assortment of cheese for dinner. It was really well-served and a good option for its price (R$ 32 + R$ 14 mandatory room service gratuity).
We enjoyed their jacuzzi and sauna on the 1st floor as well (fre for guests)..really nice, too!
Hotel is very well-located. Cloase to Avenida Augusta and Avenida Paulista, with lots ofrestaurants and all kinds of stores nearby...you can find clothes, pharmacies, little malls and so on.
Overall it was a very good stay and I would recommed it for leisure and business.

Room Tip: high floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I traveled to Sao Paulo in Dec with a group for business. We didn't pick this hotel but were very happy with the stay. It is safe, modern, in a great location, rooms are nice, spa and workout area were great, and the lobby bar is a fun place to have a glass of wine. We enjoyed the complementary breakfast buffet and appreciated the glass of water at check in.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieIdaho_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland,
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The service in this hotel was amazing. We were so spoiled and loved it. It is beautiful and very clean. The food was very good as well. The staff were very helpful.
I would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbottlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 321 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,582 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#3 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Address: Alameda Santos 2233, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-101, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#12 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, we're committed to delivering you with the luxury experience of a lifetime. Our 5-star hotel is situated in downtown Sao Paulo, Brazil, within walking distance of top-quality shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural attractions. Stretch out and relax in your spacious, gracefully designed hotel room or suite; every room boasts a flat-screen TV, luxury bedding, high-speed Wi-Fi access, an ergonomic workspace, a mini-bar and much more. Stay in shape at our fully equipped fitness center, take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool or satisfy your palate with innovative cuisine at one of our on-site restaurants. In addition, no stay at our hotel would be complete without a visit to our renowned signature spa. If you're looking to host a meeting or wedding here in Brazil, you can take advantage of more than 20,000 square feet of modern, flexible venue space and a certified planning team. It's all waiting for you at the 5-star Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel Brazil
Sao Paulo Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing