We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Sao Paulo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Ranked #6 of 322 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Sao Paulo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was my 5th trip to Sao Paulo in 3 months but my first stay here. Previously I had stayed at the Hilton. That was good but the Renaissance is great! When I arrived (early in the morning) I was put into a room that had just been renovated. When I came back to the room that evening I realised how much the room smelt of paint. I talked to the staff and they immediately moved me to another room that was fine.

The hotel is very well equipped - fast wireless throughout and great public areas. The main highlight is the Executive Lounge. The staff there are just superb and cannot do enough for you, especially Lais who made me feel like I was at home every time I went to the lounge. This culture runs throughout the hotel - every staff member from the bellboys to the gym staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location is excellent, just one block from Avenida Paulista.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Livingston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Mr. Livingston,
Thank you for your review and comments about your recent stay. Your words have been transmitted to the entire team, and especially to Lais at the Club Lounge. If business keeps bringing you back to Sao Paulo, our location in the neighborhood of Jardins is very convenient to explore a little more about the city, its wonderful restaurants and stores just around the block! Knowing that you enjoyed our Executive Lounge as if it was home, makes us very proud and happy. We hope to be able to continue to welcome you again soon!
Gil Zanchi | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    537
    109
    28
    20
See reviews for
164
468
112
916
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Great vibe in lobby. Rooms are clean, well done, and rather spacious. Plenty of plugs. AC worked great even on higher floor. Internet connectivity was reliable and fast. Had dinner at lobby bar which was very good, as was the breakfast buffet in the restaurant. Convenient location to government sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for another great review about the Renaissance São Paulo Hotel, it makes us very proud to know you keep returning and approving our services and facilities! Since you made a comment about our "great vibe lobby", I want to take this opportunity to share with you that our Living Lounge Bar has just released a new calendar of "R Life" events - featuring local DJs, live jazz bands, sports events, happy hours and much more. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Gil Zanchi | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I share the previous contributors experience of the ongoing renovations which is certainly something to be aware of at present if staying at this hotel. That said, the newly refurbished rooms are very comfortable and user friendly. A big plus is the electric window blind which completely blocks out the outside world, its like having eye shades on without the discomfort of the elastic!

The health club/gym is one of the best of any hotel I have stayed in. Attached to the gym is 'Bytes' cafe where for the health conscience you can indulge in an array of fresh smoothies, or, reintroduce some calories back with a tempting cake or six!
Service from trainee staff here very attentive, always smiling and very helpful.

Room service menu is not so good! Very limited choice and the worst french fries I have ever had! Needs a serious re vamp here!

In room internet charges are a rip off! Totally ridiculous for hotels to be charging such a premium for what can now be classed as a very basic low cost facility to provide to guests!

Location is good with many local restaurants and shops. Just be careful out there! Good street cred needed as opportunistic crime is always a concern!

Room Tip: Lower floor as possible for refurbished room away from noise of mid level rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just returned from another visit to this hotel. The good news is after improving the hotel lobby and surrounding public areas they have now started on the bedrooms. These are now bright and modern however due to many of them having just been done some still smell of paint. There is noise from 8am until 4pm with banging and drilling going on. Most rooms are effected by the noise. They started from the lower floors and are working their way up so I was informed. They are currently on the 10th and 11th floor (15/09/12). You could tell the staff are fed up with guests complaining and requesting room changes so if your looking for a restful stay I suggest to stay at the top of the hotel or look for an alternative until the work is complete. There are over 20th floors so the work will be going on for sometime I feel. I was on the 3rd floor and was woken each morning between 8 and 8.15am.

Room Tip: Avoid until the work on the bedrooms has been completed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horshamsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are very happy to know that you found our new rooms to be bright and modern! Our renovation will be complete in 4 weeks (by the end of October), and we are very excited about the new furniture and amenities that each room is receiving.
We have been preparing carefully for this event and we are committed to making it seamless and with no disturbance to our guests. I truly apologize for the inconvenience that happened during your last stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel!
Vanessa Martins / Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
326 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Hotels in Sao Paulo are no bargain - they are expensive by any global measure.I went looking for something that would provide value for money, particularly given the premium pricing in this city.

The Renaissance offered that little bit more. For not that more than the standard room rate I was able to book a room (with a AAA rate) on the Executive Floor.

My only criticism of the hotel was a painfully slow and tedious check in. Despite what appeared to be an abundance of staff, only one was dedicated to check in and after waiting almost 10 minutes it was my turn. The proceedure ought to be relatively straight forward - it was not. By the time I had my room key and was one my way - but it was 20 minutes after arrival - in my view not good enough for a hotel of this calibre. I must admit that this didn't create the best of "first impressions".

My room however was large, well equipped and very comfortable with a pleasing view out over the skyline of the city.

Having paid for lounge access I was pleased with its size, the friendliness of the staff and the availability and quality of the food available. It also afforded some wonderful places to work quietly or to sit and relax. A well designed and efficiently staffed centre and well worth the extra dollars paid for the priviledge.

The location is very good. I am a very poor shopper, but on the occasions that I do head out I hope that I will find an abundance of shops within easy walking distance that will enable me to get what I want quickly and efficiently. The Renaissance met that test well with many quality shops within a handful of blocks. i was impressed by the quality and the service of the shops that I entered - and too my pleasant surprise I bought the 2 items I wanted.

The only thing to point out is this part of Sao Paulo has gently rolling hills and whilst it is an easy walk down, some may find, in heat and humidity the walk back up a little uncomfortable.

Overall, once I looked past the inefficiency of the check in procedure I was well pleased with what the hotel had to deliver and would be pleased to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is one of the best Hotels in Sao Paulo. The impressive lobby is a friendly meeting place. The beds and the linen are good quality and the bathrooms modern with shower and bath. I liked the bidet in the bathroom. The Hotel is situated near the Ave. Paulista. It have a cambio (money exchange) in the basement. Staff are friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Good Hotel but refurbishment happening at the moment. Very noisy with drilling and hammering. Get a room above 14th floor.
Not cheap but it is a 5* Hotel in the heart of Sao Paulo.
Breakfast buffet is fab. Staff fab.
Tea and coffee in room flatscreen tv. Lovely bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COYMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 322 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#10 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#3 of 322 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Address: Alameda Santos 2233, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-101, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#12 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, we're committed to delivering you with the luxury experience of a lifetime. Our 5-star hotel is situated in downtown Sao Paulo, Brazil, within walking distance of top-quality shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural attractions. Stretch out and relax in your spacious, gracefully designed hotel room or suite; every room boasts a flat-screen TV, luxury bedding, high-speed Wi-Fi access, an ergonomic workspace, a mini-bar and much more. Stay in shape at our fully equipped fitness center, take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool or satisfy your palate with innovative cuisine at one of our on-site restaurants. In addition, no stay at our hotel would be complete without a visit to our renowned signature spa. If you're looking to host a meeting or wedding here in Brazil, you can take advantage of more than 20,000 square feet of modern, flexible venue space and a certified planning team. It's all waiting for you at the 5-star Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel Brazil
Sao Paulo Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing