We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obrigado”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Ranked #6 of 321 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Obrigado”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at Renaissance Sao Paulo last week while on business. Hotel has everything. Great central location. Stayed in a suite with incredible views of the city. Jacuzzi bath was a welcome surprise after night flight from US. Beds extremely comfortable. Nice that the windows open to let some fresh air into room. Daily spread on conceirge level is outstanding. Gym is huge with all necessary equipment. Starbucks right across the street also convenient for morning capuccino. Very friendly staff. Hotel arranged a tour guide to take me around the city for 3-ours by car, guide was extemely knowledgable. Only drawback was I ordered a car to take me to the airport for a midnight flight back to US, but when I arrived for check-out the car hadn't been ordered. Front desk arranged for a taxi at the Hotels expense. Nice recovery! I'll be back next quarter.

Room Tip: Stay in room 1508.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiso99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    549
    111
    29
    22
See reviews for
175
485
115
935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Five nights on business in São Paulo. Renaissance was recommended, and after 24 hrs travel, I was glad to arrive, and get to my room.

I had requested a club level room, but this was not available. The first room I was in was on the 8th floor, faced to the rear with no view, and had very loud a/c. But I was dog-tired. And I did sleep...at least until 3am. Then, I found the a/c noise very disturbing. I could turn it off, but then the room was too hot! So, first thing next morning I requested a change, which was courteously arranged. To the 17th, facing the front. The a/c was slightly quieter, and I slept better for the next four nights.

The hotel services are expensive, and some, such as Internet, can't be avoided. Beware the 1L bottle of water in the bathroom. It will cost you $12 if consumed!

Once on the 17th, I found the lift service very, very slow. Plus, my card key kept becoming inactive/demagnetized, necessitating return visits to reception. A few oddments appeared on my bill, which were removed when I queried them. I also had some laundry done, because I'm a carry on traveller where possible. Again, expensive!

I did feel safe there. Plenty of security staff, and the lift security restricts all guests to their floor. But, if I return, I'll try somewhere else!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank timboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here as part of a group. Everything excellent. Did not try food other than breakfast which could not fault. Even got take away coffees when had to leave in rush for bus. Support from whole staff when crisis arose second to none. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Anne,
Thank you for the kind comments and for choosing the Renaissance Sao Paulo to host you and your group. It is great to learn that our team offered all the support you needed and that they had a positive impact on your trip. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us and recommend our hotel to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Gil Zanchi I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

About 10 days prior, we had the privilege of staying at the Grand Hyatt in Sao Paulo. Lo and behold, I traveled back and was able to stay at the Renaissance. My expectations were low. Low expectations tend to lead to a great stay.
When we arrived from the airport, the hotel staff had our key packets ready for us and we were off and running. We got stuck at the elevators as they are very slow at this property. Probably the biggest problem of the stay. You need to use your room key to access your floor. This is a great safety feature which helps to keep the riff raff out of the room areas. The key reader doesn't work so well and it takes multiple times to get your floor to pop up. Sadly, the reader is in an awkward spot and in order to push your key in, you completely block the whole door. Some people more than others (not the sharpest folks). Obviously first world problems, but stuff that bums you out over time.
Once I got up to my floor (12th), I exited the elevator and had a pretty strong smell of stinky feet in the hallway. This gave me cause for concern. I ended up with a corner room and was very happy once I opened my door.
My room was very large and well laid out. It had a large desk area that was perfect for what I needed to get done. I really liked the layout.
The bathroom was pretty grande and had a perfect bathtub in it. I soaked my weary bones on many occasions. Pretty much perfect. The shower was great as well. My only complaint on the bathroom area was that the toilet seemed to leak water and you could hear it in the bed. I never called down with this complaint (sorry Renaissance, room 1219). I closed the door during sleepy time to cut down on the sound of the drip, drip, drip. The only downside to this is when I wake up in the middle of the night to pee, I occasionally walk right into the door. Once again, first world problems.
The bed was super great. Very comfortable. Large. Nice linens, great pillows.
The blackout curtains worked very well. They knocked out about 95% of the light coming in. Much better than most.
The TV was great as well. Good picture and lots of channels that were good for me (read English speaking).
The internet was completely serviceable. Not the fastest ever, but rarely problematic.
We had breakfast included with our rate and I took advantage of it each morning. I never had a bad experience and was happy with everything that I tried. On our last morning, I ordered 2 eggs over easy, and they were cooked perfectly by the chef. He was extremely nice and spoke perfect English. I also ordered ice up to my room a few times and the room service folks were very efficient and friendly. A+ for the food and beverage department.
Also, the room was littered with completely useful stuff all around. There were power adaptors everywhere you looked which is a great touch. Also, there was a 110V transformer sitting in the closet that I used the whole stay. How awesome is that?
I went down to the pool to enjoy a few hours of relaxation. It was fairly busy and the water was too cold for me.
The location is pretty great. Super middle class. Tons of stuff to walk around and see. Lots of restaurants. Strength in numbers.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Only problems were the slow elevators and my room was never serviced. Not a problem, housekeeping brought me up clean towels. I rose above. Also, there was one lamp in the room sitting all by itself. I couldn't get it to turn on. I went into troubleshooting 101 and found out that it wasn't plugged in. Actually, where it sat in the room, there was no power outlet whatsoever. I guess it was part of the feng shui.
Super great hotel. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissanceSP, Manager at Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for choosing the Renaissance! It was a pleasure to read that our room, facilities, quality of food and beverage and service provided by our team deserved such great comments from you! I apologize for the inconvenience with the lamp in your room, it has been properly fixed. Your comments regarding the key card reader in the elevator will be shared with our engineering department, and we will continue to look for a better solution to that. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again at the Renaissance!
Vanessa Martins I Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Americas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A hotel of this quality (and cost) should not have its "system" down. Check in took 20 minutes because they had to do it manually. I did not get the upgraded room I was entitled to get as a Marriott Rewards Gold Elite Member. I did get access to the Club Lounge (which is the hotel's only redeeming value). The service at the Club Lounge is good as opposed to the service at the lobby. The staff is detached and not friendly at the lobby. The beds are comfortable and the towels are plush. The hotel is well located for shopping and dining. The driveway is too small and the reception rooms are all in the basement but there is no elevator so this is a bit awkward if you are staying at the hotel as you have to take the escalators down. To top things off, upon leaving they did not have the "system" so I have yet to see my final folio. Somehow the "system" was working for them to have my credit card data, but it was not working for them to give me my statement. The walls in the rooms are not soundproof so you hear everything that goes on in the hall and next door rooms.

Room Tip: Pray for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViajeroESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheam, uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Absolutely awful. Allocated a room right next to the lifts and in front of the Housekeeping access door. Arrived at 10:30 am after a night flight and needed a sleep.

Kept awake constantly by housekeeping staff yabbering in the corridor outside, shouting into their radios and the sound of the lifts chiming every 20-30 seconds.

Phoned reception, asked to be moved. Promised a call back. Nothing. Two hours passed. Called again. Told hotel was full and would I like a cup of tea on the house. I kid you not.

Apparently, Hotel full and no chance to be moved. Offered ear plugs and Internet.

10pm tonight, staff (3 of them) holding open lift doors and almost shouting at each other to communicate. Offered another apology as I confronted them to keep the noise down.

I will not be choosing to stay here again. Appalling.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank colinmh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just stayed there for 4 nights Oct 19-23, 2013 on business. I was impressed with the great customer service at this hotel and felt very safe in both the hotel and surrounding neighborhood. There is some great shopping nearby and a big Starbucks right across the street. The price was a little expensive but the room was comfortable, the view terrific and I never heard a sound outside the room at night. I am an elite gold member for Marriott so I did have access to the club. I will say this club has the most amazing view of Sao Paulo of any club I have ever seen. Great hotel and I would recoemmend it to colleagues and friends.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. The views are amazing on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livingintampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
InterContinental Sao Paulo
InterContinental Sao Paulo
#4 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Jardins
Emiliano Hotel
Emiliano Hotel
#1 of 321 in Sao Paulo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
#5 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bela Vista
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
L'Hotel PortoBay Sao Paulo
#8 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Hilton Sao Paulo Morumbi
#11 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#3 of 321 in Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel
Address: Alameda Santos 2233, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419-101, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#12 Green Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 444
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel, we're committed to delivering you with the luxury experience of a lifetime. Our 5-star hotel is situated in downtown Sao Paulo, Brazil, within walking distance of top-quality shopping, dining, entertainment and cultural attractions. Stretch out and relax in your spacious, gracefully designed hotel room or suite; every room boasts a flat-screen TV, luxury bedding, high-speed Wi-Fi access, an ergonomic workspace, a mini-bar and much more. Stay in shape at our fully equipped fitness center, take a refreshing swim in our heated outdoor pool or satisfy your palate with innovative cuisine at one of our on-site restaurants. In addition, no stay at our hotel would be complete without a visit to our renowned signature spa. If you're looking to host a meeting or wedding here in Brazil, you can take advantage of more than 20,000 square feet of modern, flexible venue space and a certified planning team. It's all waiting for you at the 5-star Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Sao Paulo Hotel Brazil
Sao Paulo Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing