We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Friendly staff, not very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas
Ranked #79 of 328 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Fantastic location and very helpful staff. However they charged over 300£ to my credit card without my knowledge, even though the room had already been paid for. When I called later, they simply ignored me and said I had to talk to hotels.com as it was "their problem". This was the first and only problem I had with staff. Otherwise they were kind and helpful.

Breakfast is not very good and definitely not worth the cost (almost 40 BRL, over 10£ - you can go to any cafe and eat a nice breakfast for 3-4£). Dinner was very good though, good value for price.

During my 6-night stay, my room was properly cleaned once - every other day the covers were pulled over the bed and bins emptied, but not much more. Coffee / tea were never replaced during the 6 night stay, so I had to call reception every day.

There are signs all over the bathroom regarding a "green policy" but even though I left the towels on the rail, they still were replaced every day.

Room Tip: I was advised by locals to choose a lower level, as the thick walls will filter some of the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

As an old fashion hotel. They charge room night at checkin. They don't accept pre auth and then when checking out one invoice with room nights plus extras. This is absurd NORMAL hotels will do this. Reception area small and old fashioned Rooms are ok.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Gustavo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

It's a great option to stay near Avenida Paulista. It has all I need and the staff is usually friendly and helpful. This time especially it was an exception: both air conditioning in the room and wifi in the room were not working properly. I had to insist several times and go under stress to get the staff change me to another room. Other than this special and challenging stay, I have always had a great experience in this hotel. I still do recommend this hotel and believe this was an exception amongst all my stays. Breakfast is wonderful (and so are the restaurant staff people); and breakfast has gotten much better in the past year or so. Rooms far away from the street have weak wifi signal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank yoderosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I feel it would be fair to say I can only judge any hotel by my own experience, I did not see all suites and rooms in the hotel only my own.

We arrived late so had to carry our own bags in, a bad start but that is the only real negative. Check in and reception was kind, friendly and efficient. Takes a few minutes as every person checking in needs to fill out a form not for the hotel I assume for Brazilian tourism?? Nice reception area and small restaurant. The hotel as all reviews agree is well situated near Paulista and the metro.

The room was on the top floor, looks recently renovated, clean comfortable and has a fridge, safe and a view of the area (mainly blocks of flats). The room is not how I would have laid it out, with the big comfortable bed in the middle of the room and a desk and chairs behind just a bit weird.

Bathroom has a walk in shower no bathtub but is fully equipped and fine. The room also had a walk in cupboard and 2 balconies.

Breakfast for which I paid for upfront, is the standard Brazilian affair, basic but good fresh and no problems at all.

Staff were really sweet and helpful and spoke English reasonably well.

I can only say my accommodation was perfect so if you don't want to take a chance book the best category which includes a free newspaper, so cool it was in Portuguese and I could understand nothing:-)).

Room Tip: I am sure it is well documented rooms higher up are renovated and really nice by any standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Biztravel_Den
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Thierry_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This property used to be called Hotel Saint Germain - it was one of a group of flats that were given names of French saints. It is now a Mercure hotel.

The location is hard to beat if you need to be close to Avenida Paulista, the heart of São Paulo business life during the week and the hub of weekend activity during the weekend. You will find lots of restaurants, the city's largest bookstore, movie theaters and a supermarket within one block. This is why I have stayed in the hotel many times.

The renovation improved a number of things, such as the elevators. The rooms are now in the Mercure standard. The flats, which had a small kitchen and a separate bedroom, morphed into a modern room that consists basically of a desk and a bed surrounded by a lot of empty space and two (!) balconies. Very nice, but I must confess I really missed the convenience of the flat - even the microwave was gone.

Nothing wrong there - the hotel made an option, and the rooms look great and the setting is very pleasing to the eye. However, the renovation missed a key point - and this requires a trip back in time so you understand.

Remember I mentioned the hotels with French saint names? They had a lot in common, and seemed to be variations of a single design. And they all had one problem: water from the shower drained very slowly, so even after a short time the water would overflow into the bathroom floor.

Well, while the renovation replaced mirrors, shower head, and lights, it probably did not change the piping underneath. As a consequence, the Alamedas will provide you with a new experience: a Mercure-level room with a wet bathroom floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R_TheReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Jardins Hotel
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#47 of 328 in Sao Paulo
1,990 reviews
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Pamplona
Mercure Sao Paulo Pamplona
#124 of 328 in Sao Paulo
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Fortune Residence & Executive Service
Bela Vista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
Mercure Sao Paulo Paulista
#44 of 328 in Sao Paulo
720 reviews
Jardins
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Jardins
Golden Tulip Sao Paulo Jardins
#114 of 328 in Sao Paulo
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas

Address: Rua Padre Joao Manuel 202 | Cerqueira Cesar, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01411-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £57 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas has 90 rooms and is located in the neighborhood of Jardins, one of the most elegant of Sao Paulo, close to Oscar Freire Street, which houses the main designer shops of the city and one block from Paulista Avenue. The hotel is close to Metro Consolation, and MASP (Sao Paulo Art Musean), which yielded the most important exhibitions in the country, and the Reboucas Convention Centers and other important Convention Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing