We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas
Ranked #80 of 327 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've been in the hotel last Easter, for just one day. The checkin was quick, the room is very good, as is the view of the city of São Paulo, but the dinner was bad, the meatballs were raw. The noodles and soup were not fresh (frozen flavored) and checkout was time consuming due to having only one attendant for all customers.

Room Tip: Avoid the highest rooms due to the noise of helicopters in helipads near, but the noise, fortunately...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danoriga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank AnaFollador
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was not impressed by this hotel. It is well located. There are many good restaurant around but hotel is barely average. Rooms are very impersonal and bathrooms would greatly benefit by better maintenance.
Front desk staff is friendly but not very efficient.
Roof pool is just joke ... it is so tiny.
Hotel is very expensive. I paid 170 USD + taxes for night and rate did not even include the breakfast. WOW!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NayiU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank cmayr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It's a great place to stay in SP - we liked its kitchenette, the balcony, the room was big enough and clean.
We were understood by the stuff speaking English:)
5 min walk to Paulista and the metro, a lot of supermarkets and restaurants nearby -
What we didn't like was the pool - it was tiny! more like a bath:)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

PROS: Great location next to Paulista Ave and Rua Augusta
Safe neighborhood
Near subway stop
Large rooms with mini kitchen
Balconies
Staff spoke English

CONS: Not so nice looking hallways

OVERALL: Many of the hotels in Sao Paulo are small.. very European. Mercure Alamedas use to be an apartment building, so the rooms are larger and have balconies. Great location to get any where in city. Close to Paulista and Augusta ave. 30-45 min cab ride to CGH. 1.5 hour to GRU ( going to GRU could need 4 hours depending on traffic ) NOTE: Rue Augusta toward Oscar Frier has a lot of hip and fancy shops. Paulista Ave is nice place to take pictures of big buildings, but there is not much there but office buildings. The staff spoke English.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubincave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Fantastic location and very helpful staff. However they charged over 300£ to my credit card without my knowledge, even though the room had already been paid for. When I called later, they simply ignored me and said I had to talk to hotels.com as it was "their problem". This was the first and only problem I had with staff. Otherwise they were kind and helpful.

Breakfast is not very good and definitely not worth the cost (almost 40 BRL, over 10£ - you can go to any cafe and eat a nice breakfast for 3-4£). Dinner was very good though, good value for price.

During my 6-night stay, my room was properly cleaned once - every other day the covers were pulled over the bed and bins emptied, but not much more. Coffee / tea were never replaced during the 6 night stay, so I had to call reception every day.

There are signs all over the bathroom regarding a "green policy" but even though I left the towels on the rail, they still were replaced every day.

Room Tip: I was advised by locals to choose a lower level, as the thick walls will filter some of the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Paulo hotels
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Jardins Hotel
Jardins
Melia Paulista
Melia Paulista
#44 of 327 in Sao Paulo
1,931 reviews
Jardins
Mercure Sao Paulo Pamplona
Mercure Sao Paulo Pamplona
#123 of 327 in Sao Paulo
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardins
Royal Jardins Hotel
Royal Jardins Hotel
#18 of 327 in Sao Paulo
1,858 reviews
Jardins
Ibis Paulista
Ibis Paulista
#46 of 327 in Sao Paulo
2,942 reviews
Jardins
Hotel Trianon Paulista
Hotel Trianon Paulista
#96 of 327 in Sao Paulo
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas

Address: Rua Padre Joao Manuel 202 | Cerqueira Cesar, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01411-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#48 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas has 90 rooms and is located in the neighborhood of Jardins, one of the most elegant of Sao Paulo, close to Oscar Freire Street, which houses the main designer shops of the city and one block from Paulista Avenue. The hotel is close to Metro Consolation, and MASP (Sao Paulo Art Musean), which yielded the most important exhibitions in the country, and the Reboucas Convention Centers and other important Convention Centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sao Paulo Alamedas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing